![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
NFHS rule 5-8-2NOTE: When a player is injured in Art. 2(a), the official may suspend play after the ball is dead or is in control of the injured player's team or when the opponents complete a play. A play is completed when a team loses control (including throwing for goal) or withholds the ball from play by ceasing to attempt to score or advance the ball to a scoring position. When necessary to protect an injured player, the official may immediately suspend play. Billy's advice was to follow the existing rules, as cited above. Your advice is to make up your own rules. Methinks the wise thing to do is to go with Billy. Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Sun Jul 27, 2008 at 07:58pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
If it's 2 on none, he shouldn't miss the layup, should he?
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
|
Along the lines of "fair solution, but not by the book" I have seen the opposing coach ask for a timeout in this situation which is granted by the official, but then reported as an official timeout. I suppose the timeout request could be considered to be the completion of the play, which makes it all good.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
If your personal "common sense" happens to go directly against a plainly written rule, how then am I, say as your supervisor, going to be able to explain away your "common sense" when I get one of those irate post-game phone calls or e-mails? Do you really think that a league is going to accept an explanation that it was OK for an official to ignore that plainly written rule because he didn't think it was "fair"? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
I think the rule could stand without that tripe. If the ball is in flight [with 5-on-4] and with the injured player out of harm's way, I would like to see play continue until it changes direction or until the ball backs away from the basket. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Unfortunately, what rules I personally like or dislike means diddly-squat when I put a whistle in my mouth. That was my point, Mick. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
With the citation of the NFHS rule by Jurrasic, I will have to agree with BiilyMac (even though it seems unfair).
Just for everyone's information, the NCAA Men's rule does read differently: Rule 5 Section 10 Art. 7: Suspends play after the ball is dead or controlled by the injured player's team or when the opponents complete a play after a player is injured. a. A play shall be completed when a team withholds the ball from play by ceasing to attempt to score or advance the ball to a scoring position. Based on this citation, as long as the team continues to try to score, play is not suspended for injury. (Seems much more fair). |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Rule 4 - Section 35 Player Location | RefLarry | Basketball | 4 | Sun Apr 06, 2008 03:06pm |
| Mish-mash of ASA illegal player rule(s) | Dakota | Softball | 0 | Wed Aug 16, 2006 12:59pm |
| rule interp: injured player & alternating poss. | blewthat | Basketball | 6 | Fri Dec 23, 2005 12:03am |
| Showing a player a rule......... | dsimp8 | Softball | 7 | Tue May 10, 2005 06:32pm |
| ASA rule change - injured player | Dakota | Softball | 12 | Sun Nov 17, 2002 12:25am |