The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri Nov 15, 2002, 11:32am
Official Forum Member

Also from Spysoftball...

If, in the umpireÂ’s judgment, an injured player requires immediate attention, the umpire shall declare Dead Ball, and allow to seek aid. The umpire will also award bases that would have been reached.

How do you guys think you will deal with this rule?

Call a dead ball on all "injuries?" Actually try to "judge" the ones that require "immediate attention?" How? I'm no doctor!

"...would have been reached..." ?? In what event? No injury? Minor injury with no dead ball? F7 actually makes the catch instead of colliding with F8?

OK - I'm overreacting, but it seems like a can-o-worms to me.

Hopefully when ASA publishes their new book, things will be clarified.
Old Fri Nov 15, 2002, 11:59am
Official Forum Member

I think this is one of those "you know it when you see it" type situations.

If I have a collision between two outfielders that causes them to knock heads and go down out cold, I'm more concerned at that point with getting the players taken care of than where to place runners.

I think that most people can tell the difference between a serious and minor injury without being a doctor. If in doubt, I have always erred on the side of caution and stopped play. If the oppposing coach gripes, I tell him that I will do the same for his/her players, end of conversation.

Most coaches that I have come across in youth SB in injury situations were more concerned with getting the kid taken care of no matter which team she was on.

Tom, I certainly see your point about the can-o-worms, but this is one of those situations that requires guidelines more that hard and fast rules.
Old Fri Nov 15, 2002, 12:30pm
Official Forum Member