The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 15, 2008, 05:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Well, I know in NCAA that "e" is not a violation but in NFHS it is.
According to the ruling below that is correct, but I happen to disagree with the provided reasoning.

Correct Answer: A Reference: 9-6; A.R.'s 100; 103; 181; 182
Total responses: 341 % Correct: 77
COMMENTARY: Answer A is actually a double-dribble violation and not a travel since her dribble ended and she started another dribble when she voluntarily threw the ball to the floor. Although answer A is not a travel, it is the only violation in the list of options. This play was taken from A.R. 182 which is erroneously located under traveling. These two facts may be why 77% of test takers answered it correctly. Option E is not a travel since a pivot foot had never been established.
================================================== =
According to 4-68-4b the action also qualifies as a traveling violation. For the writers of the above to unequivocally state that it is not is simply foolish. The answer should be that the player has violated both the traveling and dribbling rules and that either violation could be called.

And that is exactly what the A.R. in the casebook says.
A.R. 182.
A1, after:
(1) Receiving a pass; or
(2) Ending his dribble, jumps into the air on a try for goal. A1 is
contested by B1 and since he could not get his try for goal off, he
voluntarily throws the ball to the playing court.
In both (1) and (2), A1 is the first to touch the ball.

RULING: (1) A1 has committed a violation because he did not release the
ball before picking up his pivot foot.
(2) A1’s release of the ball, after being airborne, was the start of a second
dribble. When A1 touched the ball, he committed a violation.
(Rule 9-6, 4-68.4.b and 9-7)

Does the NCAAM's game have a similar interpretation to the NCAAW on landing on one's back after grabbing the ball while airborne?







Last edited by Nevadaref; Tue Jul 15, 2008 at 05:45pm.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NCAA Quiz #2 question Durham Baseball 9 Fri Mar 23, 2007 12:11pm
Quiz question Raymond Basketball 1 Fri Dec 22, 2006 12:00pm
Quiz update for Question #8 Uncle Ernie Football 0 Wed Jan 07, 2004 09:00pm
Maybe a new question for the Back Court Violation Quiz Ref in PA Basketball 9 Sun Nov 16, 2003 06:23pm
Women's rules quiz, question #3 Bart Tyson Basketball 1 Thu Oct 31, 2002 03:42pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1