The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 20, 2008, 01:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 719
Part of the problem lied with the carefully structured argument for the ruling that A1 committed the foul, as MTD noted in his original email. Plays A-C clearly left the reader with a foul on A1. Play D needed to be worded more obviously so as to ensure that the ruling Peter was asked to give was based on a player that had already gone airborne prior to the defender moving into position to draw a foul. A quick glance at the play might lead people to making the improper ruling.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 25, 2008, 10:03pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,144
I have been busy with family things the last week or so, so to review lets look at two plays, Play 1.x (deals with an offensive player that is NOT airborne) and Play 2.x (deals with an offensive player that is airborne) and all of my rules references will be 2007-08 NFHS but they will be equally applicable to NCAA and FIBA. A1 has control of the ball and B1 has obtained (NFHS)/established (NCAA/FIBA) a legal guarding position.


Play 1.0: A1 dribbles toward B1. B1 is standing in front of A1. A1 makes contact with the front of B1’s torso. RULING 1.0: Charging foul by A1.


Play 1.1: A1 dribbles toward B1. B1 moves backward from A1 along the same path as A1. A1 makes contact the front of B1’s torso while B1 is moving backward from A1. RULING 1.1: Charging foul by A1.


Play 1.2: A1 dribbles toward B1. B1 moves toward A1 along the same path as A1. A1 makes contact the front of B1’s torso while B1 is moving toward A1. RULING 1.2: Blocking/pushing foul by B1.


Play 1.3: A1 dribbles toward B1, but changes direction so as to go around B1. B1 moves to maintain his legal guarding position against A1. B1 is moving when A1 makes contact with B1's torso. B1 is moving toward A1 when the contact occurs. RULING 1.3: Blocking/pushing foul by B1.


Play 1.4: A1 dribbles toward B1 but changes direction so as to go around B1. B1 moves to maintain his legal guarding position against A1. B1 is moving when A1 makes contact with B1's torso. B1 is not moving toward A1 when the contact occurs. RULING 1.4: Charging foul by A1.



Play 2.0: A1 dribbles toward B1. B1 is standing in front of A1. A1 jumps toward B1 and makes contact with the front of B1’s torso. RULING 2.0: Charging foul by A1.


Play 2.1: A1 dribbles toward B1. B1 moves backward from A1 along the same path as A1. A1 jumps toward B1 and makes contact the front of B1’s torso while B1 is moving backward from A1. RULING 2.1: Charging foul by A1.


Play 2.2: A1 dribbles toward B1. B1 moves toward A1 along the same path as A1. A1 jumps toward B1 and makes contact the front of B1’s torso while B1 is moving toward A1. RULING 2.2: Blocking/pushing foul by B1.

Play 2.3: A1 dribbles toward B1. A1 then stops his dribble and jumps toward B1, but at an angle that will enable him to go past B1 if B1 either does not move or moves directly backward along A1’s original path before A1 went airborne. B1 moves to maintain his legal guarding position against A1. B1 is moving when A1, while airborne, makes contact with B1's torso. B1 is moving toward A1 when the contact occurs. RULING 2.3: Blocking/pushing foul by B1.


Play 2.4: A1 dribbles toward B1. A1 then stops his dribble and jumps toward B1, but at an angle that will enable him to go past B1 if B1 either does not move or moves directly backward along A1’s original path before A1 went airborne. B1 moves to maintain his legal guarding position against A1. B1 is moving when A1, while airborne, makes contact with B1's torso. B1 is not moving toward A1 when the contact occurs. RULING 2.4: Charging foul by A1.


I have written the plays in a logical progression to show that Play 2.4 is not different from Play 1.4 and that their respective rulings are the same.

NFHS R4-S23-A2 (NCAA R4-S35-A4) defines how a legal guarding position is obtained (established), NFHS R4-S23-A3 (NCAA R4-S35-A6) defines how a defender may maintain a legal guarding position, and NFHS R4-S23-A3c (NCAA R4-S35-A6e) states that a defender “may move laterally or obliquely to maintain position, provided it is not toward the opponent when contact occurs.” NFHS R4-S23-A3c (NCAA R4-S35-A6e) makes no distinction between Play 1.4 and Play 2.4. There is no exception for Play 2.4 in NFHS R4-S23-A3c (NCAA R4-S35-A6e).

I also know that many of my antagonists will quote NFHS R4-S23-A4b (NCAA R4-S35-A4d) to defend a blocking foul by B1 in Play 2.4. But this rule applies to B1 who is attempting to obtain (establish) a legal guarding position against A1 who is already airborne. In Play 2.4, B1 has already obtained (established) a legal guarding position (legal position on the court) relative to A1 prior to A1 going airborne and is moving to maintain his legal guarding position (legal position on the court) relative to A1.

NFHS Casebook Play 10.6.1 Situation C (2006-07 NCAA A.R. 72-Men) has been quoted to defend a ruling of a blocking foul by B1 in Play 2.4, but there is one problem with using CP 10.6.1 Sit. C (2006-07 A.R. 72-Men): No where does it say that B1 as obtained (established) a legal guarding position against A1. Based upon the description of the play the only conclusion that one can make is that B1 had a legal position on the court, one cannot state that B1 had a legal guarding position against A1. A defensive player with a legal position on the court does not necessarily have a legal guarding position on the court, nor does it mean that a defensive player with a legal guarding position on the court have a legal position on the court. If one is having trouble understanding this concept, just look at the following examples.

Example 1: B1 has a legal guarding position against A1 and is moving per rule to maintain a legal guarding position against A1 when A2 sets a legal screen. B1 makes contact with A2 that results in a pushing foul against B1. This example shows that B1 can have a legal guarding position (legal position on the court) relative to A1 while not having a legal position on the court relative A2 (has a legal position on the court relative to B1).

Example 2: B1 has a legal guarding position against A1 and is moving per rule to maintain a legal guarding position against A1 when A2 sets an illegal screen. B1 makes contact with A2 that results in a blocking foul against A2. This example shows that B1 can have a legal guarding position relative (legal position on the court) to A1 while having a legal position on the court relative to A2 (does not have a legal position on the court relative to B1).

Therefore, in the final analysis, the only logical conclusion that can be made is that A1 has committed a charging foul in Play 2.4 because NFHS R4-S23-A3c (NCAA R4-S35-A6e) is the rule that governs in this play.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 25, 2008, 10:21pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.

Play 2.4: A1 dribbles toward B1. A1 then stops his dribble and jumps toward B1, but at an angle that will enable him to go past B1 if B1 either does not move or moves directly backward along A1’s original path before A1 went airborne. B1 moves to maintain his legal guarding position against A1. B1 is moving when A1, while airborne, makes contact with B1's torso. B1 is not moving toward A1 when the contact occurs. RULING 2.4: Charging foul by A1.

Review it. Rethink it. Retype it. This is still wrong. Legal guarding position, in my opinion, is the most overrated term in the book. Some think a player must have lgp in order for a pc foul to occur. Not true. In this case, the assertion is that once a player has established lgp, the foul can only be a pc foul. Also not true. LGP can be established, lost, and reestablished at the drop of a hat. If A1 is airborne and his path is such that there would be no contact, B1 no longer has lgp. If B1 moves and causes contact, his movement was toward A1. The above scenario is not totally possible. Bottom line: blocking foul.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 25, 2008, 10:32pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,144
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
Review it. Rethink it. Retype it. This is still wrong. Legal guarding position, in my opinion, is the most overrated term in the book. Some think a player must have lgp in order for a pc foul to occur. Not true. In this case, the assertion is that once a player has established lgp, the foul can only be a pc foul. Also not true. LGP can be established, lost, and reestablished at the drop of a hat. If A1 is airborne and his path is such that there would be no contact, B1 no longer has lgp. If B1 moves and causes contact, his movement was toward A1. The above scenario is not totally possible. Bottom line: blocking foul.

JAR:

By your illogic thought process, then B1 is also guilty of a blocking foul in Play 1.4.

Take the time to read the rules and apply them correctly.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 25, 2008, 10:45pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
JAR:

By your illogic thought process, then B1 is also guilty of a blocking foul in Play 1.4.


MTD, Sr.

Not if "B1 is not moving toward A1 when the contact occurs." is true.

You still have not explained how there can be contact if neither player is moving toward the other.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 25, 2008, 11:06pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,144
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
Not if "B1 is not moving toward A1 when the contact occurs." is true.

You still have not explained how there can be contact if neither player is moving toward the other.

JAR stated: "Not if B1 is not moving toward A1 when the contact occurs is true." And I say you are quoting Plays 1.3 amd 2.3.


JAR stated: "You still have not explained how there can be contact if neither player is moving toward the other." And I say see Plays 1.1, 1.2, 1.3, 2.1, 2.2, and 2.3.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 25, 2008, 11:19pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
JAR stated: "Not if B1 is not moving toward A1 when the contact occurs is true." And I say you are quoting Plays 1.3 and 2.3.



MTD, Sr.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. Denucci, Sr.
Play 1.4: A1 dribbles toward B1 but changes direction so as to go around B1. B1 moves to maintain his legal guarding position against A1. B1 is moving when A1 makes contact with B1's torso. B1 is not moving toward A1 when the contact occurs. RULING 1.4: Charging foul by A1.

I've about run out of arrows here. My reinforcements should arrive eventually.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 26, 2008, 03:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
I have been busy with family things the last week or so, so to review lets look at two plays, Play 1.x (deals with an offensive player that is NOT airborne) and Play 2.x (deals with an offensive player that is airborne) and all of my rules references will be 2007-08 NFHS but they will be equally applicable to NCAA and FIBA. A1 has control of the ball and B1 has obtained (NFHS)/established (NCAA/FIBA) a legal guarding position.

...

Play 1.4: A1 dribbles toward B1 but changes direction so as to go around B1. B1 moves to maintain his legal guarding position against A1. B1 is moving when A1 makes contact with B1's torso. B1 is not moving toward A1 when the contact occurs. RULING 1.4: Charging foul by A1.

...

Play 2.4: A1 dribbles toward B1. A1 then stops his dribble and jumps toward B1, but at an angle that will enable him to go past B1 if B1 either does not move or moves directly backward along A1’s original path before A1 went airborne. B1 moves to maintain his legal guarding position against A1. B1 is moving when A1, while airborne, makes contact with B1's torso. B1 is not moving toward A1 when the contact occurs. RULING 2.4: Charging foul by A1.


I have written the plays in a logical progression to show that Play 2.4 is not different from Play 1.4 and that their respective rulings are the same.

...
I hate to repeat myself, but since you insist to say that this is also FIBA interpretation, I have to reply that this is false.

There is a fundamental difference between plays 1.4 and 2.4: in the second one A1 is airborne so B1 cannot move into A1's path to "maintain their LGP". I've already posted the relevant rule reference. No player can ever move into the path of an airborne player, who only has to take care that the path is clear before the jump. And I continue to think that this is the same under every rule set.

Ciao
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 26, 2008, 05:57am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by eg-italy
No player can ever move into the path of an airborne player, who only has to take care that the path is clear before the jump. And I continue to think that this is the same under every rule set.
You think correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 26, 2008, 04:56am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.

Play 2.4: A1 dribbles toward B1. A1 then stops his dribble and jumps toward B1, but at an angle that will enable him to go past B1 if B1 either does not move or moves directly backward along A1’s original path before A1 went airborne. B1 moves to maintain his legal guarding position against A1. B1 is moving when A1, while airborne, makes contact with B1's torso. B1 is not moving toward A1 when the contact occurs. RULING 2.4: Charging foul by AI.

Therefore, in the final analysis, the only logical conclusion that can be made is that A1 has committed a charging foul in Play 2.4 because NFHS R4-S23-A3c (NCAA R4-S35-A6e) is the rule that governs in this play.

MTD, Sr.
Cutting out everything that's irrelevant leaves the above.

You e-mailed that exact play to Peter Webb, the IAABO head rules interpreter. His response to you, which was also copied to me stated:

"I have received a couple of notes....stating that a defender can obtain a legal guarding position AFTER an opponent has become airborne. OBVIOUSLY THE RULES DO NOT PERMIT THAT!"

Peter Webb told you that the correct call in play 2.4 is a BLOCK by B1, Mark.

Now you're trying to spin things further. You asked Peter Webb for a definitive ruling. You got a definitive ruling from him. You're now ignoring completely the definitive ruling that YOU asked for.

Why won't you now accept Mr. Webb's definitive ruling as sent to you?

Lah me.......
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 26, 2008, 05:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Time for my favorite gif.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 26, 2008, 05:54am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Time for my favorite gif.
Very appropriate too imo......
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 26, 2008, 07:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
That's not what Mark is saying

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Cutting out everything that's irrelevant leaves the above.

You e-mailed that exact play to Peter Webb, the IAABO head rules interpreter. His response to you, which was also copied to me stated:

"I have received a couple of notes....stating that a defender can obtain a legal guarding position AFTER an opponent has become airborne. OBVIOUSLY THE RULES DO NOT PERMIT THAT!"

Peter Webb told you that the correct call in play 2.4 is a BLOCK by B1, Mark.

Now you're trying to spin things further. You asked Peter Webb for a definitive ruling. You got a definitive ruling from him. You're now ignoring completely the definitive ruling that YOU asked for.

Why won't you now accept Mr. Webb's definitive ruling as sent to you?

Lah me.......
I don't agree with the Mark's ruling that this is a foul on A1, but I have to say that the above quote is not what Mark is talking about. B1 had obtained LGP before the player was airborne. He moved to maintain LGP. There is a big difference. Someone needs to ask Peter the following: Can a player who has already obtained LGP before an offensive player became airborne, can said player move into the airborne players path? Everyone agrees, including Mark, that a defender can not obtain LGP AFTER the offensive player has gone airborne.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 26, 2008, 08:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
rwest, see post #61.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 26, 2008, 08:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest
I don't agree with the Mark's ruling that this is a foul on A1, but I have to say that the above quote is not what Mark is talking about. B1 had obtained LGP before the player was airborne. He moved to maintain LGP. There is a big difference. Someone needs to ask Peter the following: Can a player who has already obtained LGP before an offensive player became airborne, can said player move into the airborne players path? Everyone agrees, including Mark, that a defender can not obtain LGP AFTER the offensive player has gone airborne.
It's very simple: in order to have a legal position against an airborne player you have to be there before that player became airborne. It's illegal to move into the path of an airborne player (and this does not distinguish between offense and defense). "Moving to maintain LGP" refers to guarding a player who is not airborne.

Are there other ways to express the concept? Again, I know FIBA, but Fed or NCAA should be the same.

I learnt (or should I say "learned"?) this motivation: the player with the ball must expect to be guarded, when not airborne, so there are no time and space restrictions for the defender; but for an airborne player it's impossible to stop or change direction, so ...

Ciao
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Non-airborne shooter? Mark Padgett Basketball 7 Sat Dec 08, 2007 12:40pm
no airborne shooter Junker Basketball 24 Sun Jan 14, 2007 06:34pm
Airborne Passer vs Airborne Shooter SDREGIIBB Basketball 8 Mon Apr 11, 2005 04:33pm
Airborne shooter RookieDude Basketball 18 Sun Dec 28, 2003 12:31am
Airborne Shooter JoeT Basketball 1 Mon Apr 03, 2000 09:56am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1