The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 02, 2008, 12:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
If the official was touching OOB when the ball contacted his hand/arm, then the thrown ball has contacted someone OOB other than a player and is a throw-in violation on A1 at that point. So per the strict rules, the answer is C.
I think it would be "D". The ball hit the official while the official was on the end-line. So, the ball hit the end-line. This boceomes the same as a bounce-pass inbounds that hits OOB first.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 02, 2008, 01:21pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
I think it would be "D". The ball hit the official while the official was on the end-line. So, the ball hit the end-line. This boceomes the same as a bounce-pass inbounds that hits OOB first.
Not for me.
The way I see the original Post, player tried to pass to teammate.
In-thrower didn't attempt to bounce the pass off the floor or off the ref.
Swinging hand got in the way. Don't penalize either team.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 02, 2008, 01:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by mick
Not for me.
The way I see the original Post, player tried to pass to teammate.
In-thrower didn't attempt to bounce the pass off the floor or off the ref.
Swinging hand got in the way. Don't penalize either team.
By rule I think Bob is right. If the ball touching the ref is the same as the ball touching the spot where the ref was standing, then this would be the same as the throw-in pass touching the ground oob before going into the court. Ergo, violation D.

But I also think the right way to handle it is to not penalize A for this fluke. Blow it dead, and do it again.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 02, 2008, 02:58pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle
By rule I think Bob is right. If the ball touching the ref is the same as the ball touching the spot where the ref was standing, then this would be the same as the throw-in pass touching the ground oob before going into the court. Ergo, violation D.

But I also think the right way to handle it is to not penalize A for this fluke. Blow it dead, and do it again.
Is Bob ever incorrect ?
By rule [Referee's Authority], I would not feel incorrect.

Of course, no player will ever hit my swinging hand, cuz, though I may countin', I ain't swingin' until I am away.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 02, 2008, 03:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by mick
Is Bob ever incorrect ?
By rule [Referee's Authority], I would not feel incorrect.

Of course, no player will ever hit my swinging hand, cuz, though I may countin', I ain't swingin' until I am away.
I'm wrong approximately 682 times a day -- I have a wife and a teen dughter, you know.

And, I was givign the "rules" answer, not the "do what's right" answer.

And, if an official swings with the arm closest to the inbounder / towards OOB, the play won't happen.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 02, 2008, 06:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle
By rule I think Bob is right. If the ball touching the ref is the same as the ball touching the spot where the ref was standing, then this would be the same as the throw-in pass touching the ground oob before going into the court. Ergo, violation D.

But I also think the right way to handle it is to not penalize A for this fluke. Blow it dead, and do it again.
Of course, that assumes the ball went inbounds. If it bounced back to the thrower or otherwise stayed OOB, it would be the same as the thrower dribbling the ball during the throwin...no violation!
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 02, 2008, 08:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
Of course, that assumes the ball went inbounds. If it bounced back to the thrower or otherwise stayed OOB, it would be the same as the thrower dribbling the ball during the throwin...no violation!
Hmmm, hadn't thought about that one.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 02, 2008, 08:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
Of course, that assumes the ball went inbounds. If it bounced back to the thrower or otherwise stayed OOB, it would be the same as the thrower dribbling the ball during the throwin...no violation!
Actually, it doesn't matter where the ball went. What is important is if the official judges that the player was indeed making a throw-in pass. If that was the case, then a violation occurred.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 02, 2008, 11:49pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Actually, it doesn't matter where the ball went. What is important is if the official judges that the player was indeed making a throw-in pass. If that was the case, then a violation occurred.
You wanna cite the rule and explain this a little further, please?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 03, 2008, 04:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Actually, it doesn't matter where the ball went. What is important is if the official judges that the player was indeed making a throw-in pass. If that was the case, then a violation occurred.
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
You wanna cite the rule and explain this a little further, please?
Sure. The provisions that govern the throw-in which are listed in 9-2 place that restriction upon the THROW-IN PASS, not on any other action of the thrower such as bouncing the ball OOB at his side or making a pass to another OOB teammate. It would be incorrect to apply the rules governing the THROW-IN PASS to action which does not constitute such.
For example, we know that a player may throw a bounce pass to another OOB teammate following a made goal. That pass is not subject to the same restrictions as the THROW-IN PASS, which cannot bounce OOB before going to the teammate.

Therefore, it is imperative that the official first make a determination as to whether or not a player is attempting to make a throw-in pass or is just doing something else with the ball while OOB before he makes a decision upon the legality of the action.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hand Ball drh898 Soccer 14 Thu Feb 28, 2008 07:43pm
Hand part of the ball mplagrow Basketball 4 Sun May 01, 2005 07:46pm
When is the hand part of the ball? Honest Bill Basketball 13 Tue Jan 14, 2003 01:18pm
Hand in contact with ball gsilvest Basketball 4 Wed Nov 28, 2001 07:55pm
Lacrosse Referee Hand Signals Tom Lacrosse 3 Fri Apr 20, 2001 07:13am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1