The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 03, 2008, 09:57pm
I drank what?
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 1,085
Send a message via MSN to w_sohl
Now Wait A Min.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
You failed to quickly blow the whistle and make the ball dead BEFORE the rebounder scored a basket. (Note the language of the case book play--"whistled dead immediately".) Since the basket was scored with a live ball, you cannot cancel it. You have no rules support to do so. You tried to do the right thing once you realized that you and your partner had made a mistake in the FT administration, but unfortunately, you committed another mistake in trying to fix the first one.

You needed to accept that a mistake occurred and move on.
I said just this about this sitch about 1 month ago and someone told me I was wrong to count the basket. That it was correctable and the basket is to be removed. I wish I could find that thread....
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 03, 2008, 11:07pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Why can't the guy who gave the bad info wave the basket off and say the ball was dead by rule 6-7-2-a?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 04, 2008, 07:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
Why can't the guy who gave the bad info wave the basket off and say the ball was dead by rule 6-7-2-a?
As Nevada said, the official(s) should have blown their whistle immediately. Rule 6-7-2a is not applicable. This was a 1 and 1. Free throw was not to be followed by another free throw (missed first free throw) or followed by a throw-in.
You can only wipe off the basket as in R 2-10-4 . . . If the error is a free throw by the wrong player or at the wrong basket, or the awarding of an unmerited free throw, the free throw and the activity during it, other than unsporting, flagrant, intentional or technical fouls, shall be canceled... in the appropriate time frame.
In Ch1 case the correct shooter was at the line.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 04, 2008, 01:21pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref
As Nevada said, the official(s) should have blown their whistle immediately. Rule 6-7-2a is not applicable. This was a 1 and 1. Free throw was not to be followed by another free throw (missed first free throw) or followed by a throw-in.

If the administering official announces 2 shots, then, even if it's wrong, the free throw is to be followed by another free throw. Therefore, when it is apparent that the first free throw is no good, the ball is dead.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 04, 2008, 01:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
If the administering official announces 2 shots, then, even if it's wrong, the free throw is to be followed by another free throw. Therefore, when it is apparent that the first free throw is no good, the ball is dead.
Sorry, but that is simply not true.

If a player is fouled while attempting an unsuccessful lay-up, do think that he is entitled to three FTs if the administering official erroneously announces, "Three shots"?

The number of FTs does not change based upon what an official says, they are properly determined by game action.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 04, 2008, 02:02pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
The correctable error here would be awarding the 2nd shot. Yes, bad info can cause problems, and the whistle should have blown. But there's no correctable error here to allow you to discount the shot.
And even if there was a "correctable error," you still can't discount any activity that occurred prior to discovery.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 04, 2008, 02:42pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
I see the error as awarding 2 shots instead of 1 & 1. Both shots were awarded by the announcement, even though the second one is yet to be shot.
You mean to tell me that if the lead official steps in and starts to pick up the ball after the first shot and A1 takes it out of his hand and scores, you would count the basket since there was no whistle?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
erroneous double bonus MPLAHE Basketball 1 Mon Jul 17, 2006 03:23pm
Erroneous Infield Fly Call whistleone Softball 5 Wed Apr 12, 2006 11:10pm
Need Info Ump34 Baseball 2 Tue Feb 07, 2006 12:49pm
need info stick Basketball 3 Wed Jan 26, 2005 08:53pm
thanks for all the info on becoming a PA ref fern2340 Basketball 2 Thu Apr 19, 2001 08:12pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1