The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 13, 2008, 06:54pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Another Myth Bites The Dust ...

During a fumble the player is not in control of the ball, and therefore, cannot be called for a traveling violation. A fumble is the accidental loss of player control when the ball is unintentionally dropped or slips from a player’s grasp. After a player has ended a dribble and fumbled the ball, that player may recover the ball without violating. Any steps taken during the recovery of a fumble are not traveling, regardless of how far the ball goes and the amount of advantage that is gained. It is always legal to recover a fumble, even at the end of a dribble, however that player cannot begin a new dribble, which would be a illegal dribble violation. A player who fumbles the ball when receiving a pass may legally start a dribble.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 14, 2008, 07:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Oregon, OH
Posts: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
During a fumble the player is not in control of the ball, and therefore, cannot be called for a traveling violation. A fumble is the accidental loss of player control when the ball is unintentionally dropped or slips from a player’s grasp. After a player has ended a dribble and fumbled the ball, that player may recover the ball without violating. Any steps taken during the recovery of a fumble are not traveling, regardless of how far the ball goes and the amount of advantage that is gained. It is always legal to recover a fumble, even at the end of a dribble, however that player cannot begin a new dribble, which would be a illegal dribble violation. A player who fumbles the ball when receiving a pass may legally start a dribble.
OK just to spice this up a bit suppose A1 dribbles ball fumbles it and during fumble B1 legally touches the ball but A1 recovers. Is it legal for A1 to dribble again?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 14, 2008, 07:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by MOFFICIAL
OK just to spice this up a bit suppose A1 dribbles ball fumbles it and during fumble B1 legally touches the ball but A1 recovers. Is it legal for A1 to dribble again?
Yes.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interrupted Dribble vs Fumble Carl Cramer Basketball 9 Tue Nov 14, 2006 08:34am
dribble/fumble/dribble scat03 Basketball 6 Wed Oct 25, 2006 06:41pm
Fumble, but also double dribble? Back In The Saddle Basketball 15 Thu Feb 17, 2005 06:42pm
Dribble/Fumble JLC Basketball 5 Fri Dec 20, 2002 05:15am
Fumble-Dribble-Fumble doghead Basketball 5 Sat Oct 14, 2000 02:24pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1