The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 03:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 893
Double Multiple foul...?

I was doing a game the other night and had a strange one happen.

As A1 is driving to the basket, my partner blows for a foul, I didn't hear his whistle when I blew my whistle on a foul, I had an intentional foul, he had a shooting foul. It happened so fast, that's why I missed his whistle.

A1 driving to the basket, partner calls foul on B1 at the same time I have a push from behind on B2. We come together to sort out the call, he says, "I got a foul on white 22", I say "22? I got a push from behind while A1 is in the air shooting on white 34."

I know it could have been a "T", but I came up with the intentional signal.

Thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 03:58pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Did they foul the same player? Which happened first? It's not a double, but it could either be a multiple or a false-multiple.
If they happened at the same time, go with them both.
If one happened first, go with that and ignore the other. If the 2nd can't be ignored, then it's a T.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 04:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2
If you clearly came out with the "Intentional" signal then you would have to go with the shooting foul then a "T" on the push.
Rule 10-3-8 states it is a "T" if the contact is "intentional or flagrant" when the ball is dead.
The ball became dead on the shooting foul.
Shoot 2 for the first foul then shoot 2 for the "T" and ball at the division line.
Coach is not going to like it but, it is what happened and you just call it as you see it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 04:22pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by RockinRef
If you clearly came out with the "Intentional" signal then you would have to go with the shooting foul then a "T" on the push.
Rule 10-3-8 states it is a "T" if the contact is "intentional or flagrant" when the ball is dead.
The ball became dead on the shooting foul.
Shoot 2 for the first foul then shoot 2 for the "T" and ball at the division line.
Coach is not going to like it but, it is what happened and you just call it as you see it.
Ah. I missed something. This wouldn't be a dead ball foul. The ball doesn't become dead on a shot until the try is over, even if there is a foul before that. The push from behind can be an intentional personal foul, or nothing. Hard to ignore it, though, if you've already given the X.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 04:28pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by RockinRef
If you clearly came out with the "Intentional" signal then you would have to go with the shooting foul then a "T" on the push.
Rule 10-3-8 states it is a "T" if the contact is "intentional or flagrant" when the ball is dead.
The ball became dead on the shooting foul.
Shoot 2 for the first foul then shoot 2 for the "T" and ball at the division line.
Coach is not going to like it but, it is what happened and you just call it as you see it.

oh?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 09:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 893
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Did they foul the same player? Which happened first? It's not a double, but it could either be a multiple or a false-multiple.
If they happened at the same time, go with them both.
If one happened first, go with that and ignore the other. If the 2nd can't be ignored, then it's a T.
Yes, they fouled the same player. I did not see my partners foul, but clearly B2's foul was intentional. If I were going to guess, I would say my partner called his foul about 1/2 a sec. or so before mine.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 09:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 893
Quote:
Originally Posted by RockinRef
If you clearly came out with the "Intentional" signal then you would have to go with the shooting foul then a "T" on the push.
Rule 10-3-8 states it is a "T" if the contact is "intentional or flagrant" when the ball is dead.
The ball became dead on the shooting foul.
Shoot 2 for the first foul then shoot 2 for the "T" and ball at the division line.
Coach is not going to like it but, it is what happened and you just call it as you see it.
This is very close to what we did. We put the ball in play at the base line for the intentional. I didn't think about it being an intentional "T". Good point.

Yeah, it was a close ball game, 2 or 3 points. A1 made all 4 FTs and they scored on the in bounds. Game pretty much over. It was about 2 or 3 minutes left in the 4th Q. It was a play off game.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 09:38pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
When intentional fouls are concerned, I got no problem with going with a multiple foul. Call 'em both.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 09:51pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terrapins Fan
This is very close to what we did. We put the ball in play at the base line for the intentional. I didn't think about it being an intentional "T". Good point.

Yeah, it was a close ball game, 2 or 3 points. A1 made all 4 FTs and they scored on the in bounds. Game pretty much over. It was about 2 or 3 minutes left in the 4th Q. It was a play off game.
I'm gonna have to check my rule book, but I'm not sure he should have received 4 shots on a multiple foul.

What you have here is a regular multiple foul, complicated by the fact that one was inentional.

BTW, you were right by rule not to rule it a intentional technical foul. The ball wasn't dead yet regardless of the first foul due to the shot, therefore intentional personal was the correct call.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 29, 2008, 12:42am
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,024
Three free throws should have been awarded.

10 Penalty 6

Multiple Foul

a. One free throw for each foul:
(1) No try involved
(2)Successful or unsuccessful two-point try or tap
(3)Successful three-point try or tap

b. Two free throws for each foul:
(1) Intentional or flagrant foul
(2) Unsuccessful three-point try or tap
Plus ball for throw-in if intentional or flagrant
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 29, 2008, 11:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,277
I have never seen a multiple foul called....

I will tell you this the only way I have a multiple foul in any game is we have two defenders that both just level the offfensive player at the same time...

Even in the play in the OP... one whistle was 1/2 second behind, but who truly fouled first... Just based on the facts of the OP if I were on the floor it would be one or the other but not both...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple Foul? Nu1 Basketball 7 Mon Mar 08, 2004 11:44am
Multiple/Double Foul BigGref Basketball 2 Mon Feb 23, 2004 10:00am
Multiple foul Back In The Saddle Basketball 3 Tue Jan 13, 2004 01:46am
False Multiple Foul/ False Double/etc.??? sleebo Basketball 10 Tue Jan 06, 2004 02:21am
False Double Simultaneous Multiple Player-Control Foul rainmaker Basketball 11 Mon Dec 10, 2001 09:54pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1