The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 02:12pm
Official Forum Member

Question about hand activity during shot.

I’m still pretty new to officiating and still trying to identify the proper way to judge contact in different situations.

There are times when a shooter will be going up and toward the basket on a shot and a defender will block the shot by getting a hand on the ball and knocking it away but then make contact with the shooters arms after the block. There are times when I call this and I get protests from coaches and even comments from other observing refs that “that was all ball”. But I am 100% positive about the arm contact after the block and I’m sure it was obvious. Sometime you can even hear the “smack”. It’s true that the well executed defense of the block on the ball stopped the shot from scoring, but there is some contact after the block. Is this a foul? Does it depend on the severity of the contact? Most times, I don’t believe there was any real disadvantage place on the shooter in this case.
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 02:29pm
We don't rent pigs

Translation: If a player makes any contact with the ball, he is allowed to decapitate the shooter and it shouldn't be a foul. "ALL BALL, REF!"

Conversely, if the defender lightly grazes the shirt of the shooter, prepare for shouts of, "AND ONE!"

Lonesome Dove
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 02:37pm
Official Forum Member

If the block came first the contact probably did not hinder the shot...now the question becomes does the contact hinder the landing?

So unless the contact is pretty bad, there may not be a foul.

Had a veteran D1 official tell me once:

Ball then body/hit nothing.

Body/hit then ball foul.
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 02:37pm
Official Forum Member

This is something you need to judge on your own.