The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 06:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally Posted by ca_rumperee
So, from the previous discussion about illegal dribble I'm still wondering...

Player A1 initiates dribble by 'pushing the ball to the floor'. After the ball leaves A1's hand, but before the ball hits the floor, A1 contacts the ball a 2nd time (with either hand) and again pushes the ball to the floor.

Is this a violation, and why?

Is the language from 4.15.4 Sit. D RULING: "Violation in (a), because the ball was touched twice by A1's hand(s) during a dribble, before it touched the floor." the only source for a violation in this instance?
The key words are DURING A DRIBBLE.

If you used that ruling, pushing the ball to the floor with both hands to start a dribble would be a violation.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throw-in violation or OOB violation? Nevadaref Basketball 47 Fri Nov 02, 2007 07:15pm
10 Second Violation All_Heart Basketball 16 Sun Dec 03, 2006 03:50pm
Violation or not Dennis Nicely Basketball 1 Tue Dec 20, 2005 01:03am
Clever? or a violation ,trying 2 avoid a violation hardwdref Basketball 3 Sat Nov 13, 2004 04:17pm
FT Violation jshock Basketball 13 Sun Nov 18, 2001 10:20pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1