The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 22, 2008, 10:18am
Raida357
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Proper Administration Procedure?

Boys JV. A1 attempts a 3-point field goal. A2 is setting a legal screen. After A1 returns to the ground, but while the ball is still in the air, B2 plows though A2 and the foul is called. The shot goes in. Team A is not in the bonus. We count the goal and award Team A the ball for a throw-in nearest the point of the foul. Did we handle this correctly? What would the procedure be if A1 was still in the act of shooting?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 22, 2008, 10:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,094
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raida357
Boys JV. A1 attempts a 3-point field goal. A2 is setting a legal screen. After A1 returns to the ground, but while the ball is still in the air, B2 plows though A2 and the foul is called. The shot goes in. Team A is not in the bonus. We count the goal and award Team A the ball for a throw-in nearest the point of the foul. Did we handle this correctly? What would the procedure be if A1 was still in the act of shooting?
Yes, you handled it correctly.

Same result if A1 was still in the act of shooting.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 22, 2008, 10:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: TX
Posts: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raida357
Boys JV. A1 attempts a 3-point field goal. A2 is setting a legal screen. After A1 returns to the ground, but while the ball is still in the air, B2 plows though A2 and the foul is called. The shot goes in. Team A is not in the bonus. We count the goal and award Team A the ball for a throw-in nearest the point of the foul. Did we handle this correctly? What would the procedure be if A1 was still in the act of shooting?
Situation was handled correctly!

If A1 "was still in the act of shooting" and A2 was fouled, same result, count the basket and award Team A the ball for a throw-in nearest the point of the foul.
__________________
Da Official
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 22, 2008, 05:42pm
Raida357
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 22, 2008, 07:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,965
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raida357
Boys JV. A1 attempts a 3-point field goal. A2 is setting a legal screen. After A1 returns to the ground, but while the ball is still in the air, B2 plows though A2 and the foul is called. The shot goes in. Team A is not in the bonus. We count the goal and award Team A the ball for a throw-in nearest the point of the foul. Did we handle this correctly? What would the procedure be if A1 was still in the act of shooting?
If A1 was still in the act of shooting but had not released the ball prior to the foul, I don't believe you would count the basket.
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 22, 2008, 07:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes
If A1 was still in the act of shooting but had not released the ball prior to the foul, I don't believe you would count the basket.
Really?

NCAA 6-2-2: A live ball shall not become dead when a foul is committed by an opponent of a player who starts a try for goal before a foul occurs, provided that time does not expire before the ball is in flight.

I believe it is the same for NFHS. It is for FIBA.

Ciao
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 22, 2008, 08:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes
If A1 was still in the act of shooting but had not released the ball prior to the foul, I don't believe you would count the basket.
Incorrect.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 22, 2008, 08:42pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes
If A1 was still in the act of shooting but had not released the ball prior to the foul, I don't believe you would count the basket.
See NFHS rule 6-7EXCEPTION(c).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Proper Procedure PA Official Basketball 20 Mon Feb 12, 2007 02:47am
What's the proper administration? bcooley66 Basketball 25 Tue Dec 30, 2003 05:49pm
Proper Procedure... cmckenna Baseball 1 Mon Apr 22, 2002 09:50am
Proper Procedure bard Basketball 5 Mon Jan 14, 2002 09:37am
Proper Administration MOFFICIAL Basketball 3 Mon Dec 11, 2000 08:46am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1