![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
We went with Point of Interuption for resuming play last night...putting the players around the lane during the free throw...
The part that threw us was I remember point of interuption but I couldn't shake the thought that we hadn't lined up yet and my partners kepting throwing that at me. Luckily we seemed to have handled it correctly.
__________________
You can do what you want to do and be what you want to be but you can't be afraid to pay the price! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
NFHS R4-S36-A1: "Method of resuming play due to an official's accidental whistle, an interrupted game, as in 5-4-3, a correctable error, as in 2-10-6, a double personal, double technical or simultaneous foul, as in 4-19-8 and 4-19-10." NFHS R4-S36-A2: "Play shall be resumed by one of the following: a. A throw-in to the team that was in control at a spot nearest to where the ball was located when the stoppage occurred. b. A free throw or a throw-in when the stoppage occurred during this activity or if a team is entitled to such. c. An alternating-possession throw-in when the point of interruption is such that neither team is in control and no goal, infraction, nor end of quarter/extra period is involved." NFHS R10, Penalty 7: "In the case of a false double foul or false multiple foul, each foul carries its own penalty." We have a false double foul in the situation. The first foul that occured was the personal foul by B1 against A1. The second foul that occured was the double technical foul by A1 and B1. R10, Penalty 7 tells us that when we have a false double foul, each foul carries its own penalty; that means the fouls are penalized in the order that they occurred and that the ball is put back into play as if the only foul that occured was the last foul in the sequence. The last foul in this sequence was the double technical foul by A1 and B1. I agree, that the double technical foul by A1 and B1, by definition, is a Point of Interruption. But it is the last foul in a false double foul and because it occured when neither team was in control of the ball when it occured, R4-S36-A2c tells us that the AP Arrow is the method used to put the ball back into play. R4-S36-A2b is not the applicable rule because the double technical foul occured while B1's personal foul was being reported. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio Last edited by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.; Wed Feb 13, 2008 at 08:38am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
A double technical foul is an infraction of the rules, Mark. Seriously. I wouldn't lie to you. The double technical foul occurred DURING the free throw activity. Not that it matters anyway, because 4-36-2(b) also states "if a team is entitled to such.". Well, team A is entitled to 2 FT's ,aren't they? 'Splain that one away. Rule 4-36-2(b) couldn't be more explicit. And you couldn't be more wrong. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
But, it seems as though you're just mistaken. See 4.19.8D for a case that's pretty darn close to the OP. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Bob: In the Casebook Play you reference, A1 already has player control of the ball, hence there is team control of the ball, but in the OP, the official is still reporting B1's personal foul when the double technical foul by A1 and B1 occurs. The game had not yet progressed to free throw activity of B1's personal foul when the double technical foul occurred. NFHS R10, Penalty 7: "In the case of a false double foul or false multiple foul, each foul carries its own penalty." NCAA R10-S1, Penalty g: "In the case of a false double foul or a false multiple foul, each foul shall carry its own penalty. When one of the fouls is a technical foul, the ball shall be put back in play at the point of interruption." The NFHS Rules Committee may have wanted its Penalty 7 to be the same as the NCAA's Penalty g, but Penalty 7's wording stops short of saying the same thing that Penalty g's wording says. JR has referenced NFHS R4-S36-A2b, and that is one of the two rules that are referenced in Bob's NFHS Casebook Play 4.19.8 Situation D. The other rule referenced in the Casebook Play is R7S5-A3b; both of the rules referenced in the Casebook Play are the applicable rules for that play. I would concede JR, et al's point if A1's free throw activity had started: that being anytime after the players had lined up for the free throws. But in the OP that activity had not been reached, and NFHS R10, Penalty 7 is not the same as NCAA R10-S1, Penalty g. Maybe this is a play that needs to be addressed by the NFHS Rules Committee. I think that we call all agree the Point of Interruption rule in both the NFHS and NCAA does cause more problems than it solves. Five years ago we would not be having this discussion because it would have been so easy to administer in both NFHS and NCAA. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
|
Mark, how do you interpret the following in 4-36-2:
b. A free throw or a throw-in when the stoppage occurred during this activity or if a team is entitled to such. It seems to me that A is entitled to its free throw, so we go there. I also see no reason why the fact that this is a false double foul changes anything. Each foul carries its own penalty. The penlaty for the double technical portion of the foul is a technical foul to each player and then resumption at the POI which is the entitled free throw. I also disagree that the POI causes more problems than it solves. Perhaps the rule needs to be more clearly worded, but if you simply look at POI as the point of interruption, any double foul becomes extremely easy to administer. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Something that I have found is usually (but not always, I admit) helpful in figuring out the POI is to ask "What would we do now if the double foul had never happened?"
In the situation in the original post, the answer is to line up and shoot the free throws. That's the correct POI. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Scraper1: That is a good point, and it is a question I always ask in an NCAA game, but it is my humble opinion that the NFHS rules are slightly ambiguous with regard to the play we are discussing because NFHS R10, Penalty 7 is so direct in is implicatioin that false double fouls are penalized in the order that they occur. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Q#34 Resumption of Play | KSRef07 | Basketball | 64 | Wed Oct 17, 2007 03:01pm |
| resumption of play | palmettoref | Basketball | 28 | Fri Oct 20, 2006 11:26am |
| Resumption of play | Mendy Trent | Basketball | 6 | Wed Oct 11, 2006 08:34am |
| Resumption of Play Advice | golfdesigner | Basketball | 7 | Mon Jan 10, 2005 02:27pm |
| Resumption of play?? | ref4e | Basketball | 7 | Tue Jan 22, 2002 11:14pm |