The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 08, 2008, 01:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 394
Send a message via Yahoo to yankeesfan
count the basket?

this really happened. with .08 of second left, there was an inbounds pass from around half court that deflected off a players hand and then hit another player in the head and went in the basket just after the horn sounds. does the basket count? it was amazing how this happened.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 08, 2008, 01:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 109
no basket. it was not a try or tap for a goal so once the horn sounds play is dead.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 08, 2008, 01:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 394
Send a message via Yahoo to yankeesfan
Quote:
Originally Posted by stosh
no basket. it was not a try or tap for a goal so once the horn sounds play is dead.
what if the ball went in the hoop before the horn sounds?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 08, 2008, 01:39pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by yankeesfan
what if the ball went in the hoop before the horn sounds?
2 pts.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 08, 2008, 01:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 109
two points regardless of where the "head" was on the court (no three point "head-in")
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 08, 2008, 01:41pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
8 one-hundredths of a second?

Since the act was not a try for goal, the basket does not count.

Edit: ball in before the horn = 2 points, regardless of where the touches were from, as it was not a try for goal.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 08, 2008, 01:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 282
Send a message via AIM to IUgrad92
With .08 seconds left, the period would be over after the hand deflection. The rest of what happened is irrelevant.
__________________
When the horn sounds, we're outta here.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 08, 2008, 02:14pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,398
Send a message via AIM to Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Send a message via MSN to Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Send a message via Yahoo to Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Quote:
Originally Posted by IUgrad92
With .08 seconds left, the period would be over after the hand deflection. The rest of what happened is irrelevant.

IUgard92:

On what basis do you make this statement?

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 08, 2008, 02:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,247
I am with MTD on this one (he beat me to the punch)
with .8 you can catch and shoot.... check the rules out again .3 or less must be a tap, anything more than that can be most anything
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 08, 2008, 02:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
The difference is .08 vs. .8. I'd guess the OP meant .8, but maybe not...
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 08, 2008, 02:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 412
Send a message via MSN to crazy voyager
Goal does not count
The only time the ball doesn't become dead after a scorer's signal for the end of a period is if a shot for a field goal is in the air. This is just a ball wich went astray, not an attempt
__________________
All posts I do refers to FIBA rules
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 08, 2008, 10:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 394
Send a message via Yahoo to yankeesfan
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018
The difference is .08 vs. .8. I'd guess the OP meant .8, but maybe not...
i have to clarify the time on the clock, it was .8 not .08. in other words there was 8 tenths of a second. i am very sorry, does that change anything at all? basket is still no good, correct?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 08, 2008, 10:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
If the ball passes through the basket before the horn sounds it counts as two...if the horn goes before the ball goes through no score.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would basket count? dknick78 Basketball 12 Sun Jan 27, 2008 12:36am
Should This Basket Count? drothamel Basketball 9 Thu Nov 17, 2005 03:53pm
count the basket? Dave Birch Basketball 7 Mon Dec 04, 2000 11:31pm
count the basket or not? Ralph Stubenthal Basketball 9 Sat Nov 04, 2000 05:34pm
count basket or not Bart Tyson Basketball 3 Sat Feb 12, 2000 12:37pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1