The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 06, 2008, 08:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 98
Send a message via Yahoo to PSidbury
So, let me get this straight: If the thrower in-bounding the ball fumbles and the ball falls and touches floor the in-bounds, the thrower is allowed to quickly reach over line (feet staying out of bounds) and recover the ball to continue with a pass in-bounds.

Because, it was a fumble.

1) What if the thrower had stepped in-bounds to retrieve the fumble, but then steps back to intial out-of-bounds spot to make the pass?

or;

2) What if, after the thrower fumbles and the ball falls to the floor in-bounds, a defender standing there picks up the ball and dribbles away...?
And the thrower screams, "But, I fumbled it, I didn't pass it!"

Thanks,
Paul
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 06, 2008, 09:23pm
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,642
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
Quote:
Originally Posted by PSidbury
So, let me get this straight: If the thrower in-bounding the ball fumbles and the ball falls and touches floor the in-bounds, the thrower is allowed to quickly reach over line (feet staying out of bounds) and recover the ball to continue with a pass in-bounds.

Because, it was a fumble.

1) What if the thrower had stepped in-bounds to retrieve the fumble, but then steps back to intial out-of-bounds spot to make the pass?

or;

2) What if, after the thrower fumbles and the ball falls to the floor in-bounds, a defender standing there picks up the ball and dribbles away...?
And the thrower screams, "But, I fumbled it, I didn't pass it!"

Thanks,
Paul
I'm probably not explaining this well, but, don't overcomplicate this by confusing the ball legally entering the court vs the ball being fumbled by a thrower and remaining out of bounds.

If A1 is out of bounds and fumbles it out of bounds, he can recover it and legally pass it in. If its a spot foul, and the ref may have mishanded the ball, I believe the ref can blow it dead and re-hand or re-bounce A1 the ball. If A1 mishandles the ball out of bounds after a basket while running the endline, he can pick it up and pass it in w/in 5 seconds.

In 1, If A1 is out of bounds and fumbles the ball onto the court and steps on the court to recover it as you suggest, and then steps out of bounds. Tweet. Violation.

In 2, again, if A fumbles onto the court and B1 recovers it and dribbles away....oh well, lesson learned for A1. No violation. IMO.
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did.

Last edited by grunewar; Wed Feb 06, 2008 at 09:25pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 06, 2008, 10:27pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by grunewar
In 1, If A1 is out of bounds and fumbles the ball onto the court and steps on the court to recover it as you suggest, and then steps out of bounds. Tweet. Violation.
Just to add a little bit. This is a violation even before A1 steps back out of bounds. It's a violation as soon as A1 is the first to touch the ball in bounds.
Quote:
Originally Posted by grunewar
In 2, again, if A fumbles onto the court and B1 recovers it and dribbles away....oh well, lesson learned for A1. No violation. IMO.
This could be a violation as well. If A1 fumbles the ball so that it bounces first out of bounds and then bounces in bounds, it's a violation as soon as it bounces in bounds.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 07, 2008, 12:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by grunewar
In 2, again, if A fumbles onto the court and B1 recovers it and dribbles away....oh well, lesson learned for A1. No violation. IMO.
Same sitch, A2 or A3 can also recover the ball inbounds, as long as it didn't bounce ooob before it touched the court ib.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inbound bounce pass question kblehman Basketball 33 Sat Feb 02, 2008 08:37pm
Question from a FB Official-Inbounds Play BoBo Basketball 6 Sun Mar 11, 2007 06:52pm
Question about an inbounds pass BBallinRick Basketball 14 Sat Jul 12, 2003 05:45am
Inbounds (Backcourt Question) WindyCityRef Basketball 30 Fri Feb 28, 2003 10:33am
Inbounds Question (FIBA rules) SeanWorrall Basketball 6 Sat Mar 23, 2002 08:54pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1