The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 11, 2007, 12:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Indianola, Ia
Posts: 319
Question from a FB Official-Inbounds Play

Was watching an NCAA game yesterday and after a made basket late in the game. Team A scores and puts on a frantic press Team B taking the ball out of bounds.

B22 running baseline can not get ball in bounds.

B44 steps out of bounds on the baseline.

B22 passes the ball to B44 who has established himself out of bounds

B44 then passes in bounds to B12 who is fouled.

This play is legal i know.

MYQUESTION IS

B22's pass to B44 was a bounce pass.

Is it legal to throw a bounce pass or does it have to be a chest pass???

Guess my question is the pass touching the ground.



Secondly is there any difference between Fed and NCAA on this

Thanks
__________________
"Call what you see and see what you call!"
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 11, 2007, 12:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 16
Talking

Legal play
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 11, 2007, 12:42pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoBo
Secondly is there any difference between Fed and NCAA on this

Thanks
Nope, same rule.

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 11, 2007, 03:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,644
One may NOT throw a bounce pass to a player who is inbounds, but throwing one to a teammate who is out of bounds is allowed. The reason is that the first is the throw-in pass, while the second is not.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 11, 2007, 03:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
One may NOT throw a bounce pass to a player who is inbounds, but throwing one to a teammate who is out of bounds is allowed. The reason is that the first is the throw-in pass, while the second is not.
Huh?? That's news to me.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 11, 2007, 03:30pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,396
You can't throw a bounce pass (which touches out of bounds) to an inbound player.

If the bounce pass is bounced only inbounds, then it's legal. Nevadaref knew that, but was responding to the original context where the bounce occured out of bounds.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 11, 2007, 06:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,644
Scrapper clarified what I meant.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question #2: Official error during play ljudge Football 15 Fri Dec 10, 2004 07:50am
Question about foul on inbounds play Damian Basketball 19 Thu Feb 19, 2004 11:37pm
? on inbounds play Maxman7 Basketball 2 Fri Jan 31, 2003 10:50pm
tricky inbounds play BigDave Basketball 8 Sun Feb 10, 2002 08:35am
Interesting inbounds play Mark Dexter Basketball 14 Tue Mar 06, 2001 11:42pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1