![]() |
|
![]() |
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
10.4.5 SITUATION E: A1 and B1 begin fighting and play is stopped. Substitute A6 leaves the bench area and enters the court to observe. B6 also enters the court at the same time, but B6 actually participates in the fight. RULING: A1, B1, A6 and B6 are all disqualified. No free throws result from the double flagrant foul by A1 and B1 or from the simultaneous technical fouls by A6 and B6. Each head coach is charged with one indirect technical foul. Play resumes at the point of interruption. (4-36; 10-3-9) |
|
|||
You are right.
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
I don't agree, but that's what the more seasoned officials have all agreed on around here. I'm with you that the NFHS issuing a clear ruling would be handy. |
|
|||
I used to hold that same opinion myself, but have recently changed. If the bench reaction is clearly after the players on the court start going at it, I have no problem handling it that way, but if all of the mess happens more or less at the same time or the spark incident isn't observed then how does one know what took place first?
What if a team member on the bench starts it by saying something to an opposing player and then there are people running all over the place? My current advice is to keep it as simple as possible and shoot as few FTs as necessary. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
First T of the New Year | 26 Year Gap | Basketball | 12 | Tue Jan 08, 2008 12:28am |
New POE for next year? | jeffpea | Basketball | 34 | Fri Mar 31, 2006 08:25am |
The first year of the NBA | Mark Padgett | Basketball | 14 | Thu Jun 09, 2005 02:37am |
A year later... | ref18 | Basketball | 1 | Sun Jan 30, 2005 12:34am |
first year ref an first year coach | blarson | Basketball | 4 | Thu Dec 19, 2002 04:26pm |