The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2008, 07:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 843
If I only had a BRAIN!

The only thing that was missing was the coach's brain.
Did he look like a scarecrow?
Was he from Kansas?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2008, 07:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
You made the right call, but for the wrong reason.
Once the player picks up the ball and ceases to be a dribbler, the three points principle no longer applies. That rule is only for a player who is dribbling the ball. BTW it has not changed.

The relevant rules for this play are the ones governing ball and player location. The player location rule is 4-35. Articles 1 and 2 state that if the player is touching the floor in the backcourt, then that player is in the backcourt. When this is combined with 4-4-1, the appropriate ball location rule, it becomes clear that the ball and player remained in the backcourt during the entire play. Therefore, no violation of 9-9, the backcourt rule, could have taken place.

PS The 10-second count should continue.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2008, 08:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Tidewater Virginia
Posts: 252
If the player jump-stopped by picking up her dribble, jumping off one foot and landing on two, and then pivots - I have a travel.
__________________
Failure is fertile ground on which to plant new seeds.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2008, 08:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 13
Backcourt violation

Quote:
Originally Posted by ranjo
If the player jump-stopped by picking up her dribble, jumping off one foot and landing on two, and then pivots - I have a travel.
Thanks for responding. The jump stop was fine, though, and the pivot was fine. The only issue at hand is the backcourt situation.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2008, 08:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Battle Creek, MI
Posts: 383
Quote:
Originally Posted by HL Clippenchain
Thanks for responding. The jump stop was fine, though, and the pivot was fine. The only issue at hand is the backcourt situation.
No, if she jump stopped and pivoted it is a travel. It is not fine.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2008, 08:52am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scooby
No, if she jump stopped and pivoted it is a travel. It is not fine.
As always, your statement depends on the definition of "jump stop". If she jumped, caught the ball (ending her dribble) and landed on two feet -- one type of jump stop -- and then pivoted, that's perfectly legal.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2008, 09:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Battle Creek, MI
Posts: 383
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
As always, your statement depends on the definition of "jump stop". If she jumped, caught the ball (ending her dribble) and landed on two feet -- one type of jump stop -- and then pivoted, that's perfectly legal.
A jump stop is defined by the rule book, it is not my definition or yours. If you mean something else, other than a jump stop, use another term. That is like says it depends on what you mean by a dribble.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2008, 09:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Tidewater Virginia
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scooby
No, if she jump stopped and pivoted it is a travel. It is not fine.
See casebook play 4.44.2 SITUATION A
__________________
Failure is fertile ground on which to plant new seeds.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2008, 09:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scooby
No, if she jump stopped and pivoted it is a travel. It is not fine.
And where do I find this "jump stop" definition in the rule book?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2008, 08:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by ranjo
If the player jump-stopped by picking up her dribble, jumping off one foot and landing on two, and then pivots - I have a travel.

That's what i have if I understand this correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2008, 10:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 208
zoiks!! in a girls game?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
PS The 10-second count should continue.
Maybe we start a closely guarded count...
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2008, 10:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by ca_rumperee
zoiks!! in a girls game?
Maybe we start a closely guarded count...
You are a new official, so perhaps you are just making a joke or perhaps you aren't aware that CA is one of the very few states that employs a shot clock at the HS level and hence doesn't have a bc 10-sec count in girls games, but does have a closely guarded count there. Most of the rest of the states in the nation don't do it the way that CA does.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2008, 10:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 208
you know which one it is...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
You are a new official, so perhaps you are just making a joke or perhaps you aren't aware that CA is one of the very few states that employs a shot clock at the HS level and hence doesn't have a bc 10-sec count in girls games, but does have a closely guarded count there. Most of the rest of the states in the nation don't do it the way that CA does.
...ignorance on my part.

wurd!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2008, 10:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by ca_rumperee
...ignorance on my part.
Amazingly, I find this to be the case with a large number of officials from CA. Since all the games that they work and see on TV (NCAA and NBA) employ a shot clock, the concept of conducting a basketball game without one is hard for them to comprehend.

They are flat-out shocked to learn that 43 of the 50 states do NOT use a shot clock for HS games!

Hopefully, these last two posts blew your mind this morning. It's always fun to have one of those eye-opening moments.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2008, 10:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
I remember how shocked I was to learn that there were states that do use the shot clock in HS basketball. It was just a foreign concept to me!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt violation? vawils Basketball 23 Tue Nov 07, 2006 12:52am
Backcourt Violation Derrick Basketball 3 Thu Oct 19, 2006 03:39pm
Backcourt violation? ChuckElias Basketball 63 Tue Oct 10, 2006 01:36pm
Backcourt violation or not stmaryrams Basketball 8 Wed Dec 21, 2005 07:32pm
Backcourt Violation SteveF Basketball 11 Wed Jan 14, 2004 01:00pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1