The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 06, 2006, 05:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 24
Backcourt violation?

Another one I am not sure on but should be and appreciate getting straight:

A1 is in his backcourt and passes the ball to A2 in the front court who is covered by B1 . A2 cannot control the pass off his hands and it goes back in the backcourt where he retrieves it? Is this a backcourt violation? My uncertainty comes from the lack of team control by A in the frontcourt. However team control exists during passes so I think it would be a violation. Is this right??? Thanks for the feedback.

PS - How about if the pass hit off B1 and then A2 before going into the backcourt. I assume ruling would be the same.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 06, 2006, 05:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,748
It is a violation. There is TEAM control during the entire play. What confused you is that A2 never had PLAYER control. However, that is not a requirement for a backcourt violation.

If the ball was first deflected by B1 and then went off A2's hands, it would still be a violation. The important thing to remember is which team is the last to touch the ball before it goes into the backcourt.

Therefore, the reverse would not be a violation. (Off A2's hands then deflected away and into the backcourt by B1.)

PS There is a case book play for your situation:
9.9.1 SITUATION C: A1 is dribbling in his/her backcourt and throws a pass to the frontcourt. While standing in A's frontcourt: (a) A2 or (b) B3 touches the ball and deflects it back to A's backcourt. A2 recovers in the backcourt. RULING: In (a), it is a violation. The ball was in control of Team A, and a player from A was the last to touch the ball in frontcourt and a player of A was the first to touch it after it returned to the back court. In (b), legal play. A Team A player was not the last to touch the ball in the frontcourt. Team A is entitled to a new 10-second count.

Last edited by Nevadaref; Mon Nov 06, 2006 at 07:02pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 06, 2006, 05:18pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by vawils
Another one I am not sure on but should be and appreciate getting straight:

A1 is in his backcourt and passes the ball to A2 in the front court who is covered by B1 . A2 cannot control the pass off his hands and it goes back in the backcourt where he retrieves it? Is this a backcourt violation? My uncertainty comes from the lack of team control by A in the frontcourt. However team control exists during passes so I think it would be a violation. Is this right??? Thanks for the feedback.

PS - How about if the pass hit off B1 and then A2 before going into the backcourt. I assume ruling would be the same.
Team control was never lost by team A. Player control was lost, but that isn't really a relevant factor. What you have to ascertain is if the ball ever gained frontcourt status. If it hit A2 in the frontcourt, it did.

Rule 9-9-1 says "A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went into the backcourt".
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 06, 2006, 06:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 329
Send a message via Yahoo to drinkeii
But doesn't the ball not obtain frontcourt status until both feet of a player and the ball have moved it into the front court?
__________________
David A. Rinke II
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 06, 2006, 06:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,748
Quote:
Originally Posted by drinkeii
But doesn't the ball not obtain frontcourt status until both feet of a player and the ball have moved it into the front court?
That only applies to a player who is DRIBBLING the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 06, 2006, 06:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by drinkeii
But doesn't the ball not obtain frontcourt status until both feet of a player and the ball have moved it into the front court?
That's only on when there's a dribbler bringing the ball across the division line, David.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 06, 2006, 06:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,748
................
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 06, 2006, 06:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 329
Send a message via Yahoo to drinkeii
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
That's only on when there's a dribbler bringing the ball across the division line, David.
As I recall, the rule doesn't say dribbling - it says for the player to be considered to be in the frontcourt, they must have both feet and the ball in the frontcourt - I'll look it up when I get home, but I'm pretty sure it doesn't day "when dribbling the ball".
__________________
David A. Rinke II
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 06, 2006, 06:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
David, how long have you and I been posting on this board? Do you really think I'd be wrong about something like this?

4-4-6
During a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt, the ball is in the frontcourt when the ball and both feet of the dribbler touch the court entirely in the frontcourt.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith

Last edited by BktBallRef; Mon Nov 06, 2006 at 07:02pm.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 06, 2006, 06:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 329
Send a message via Yahoo to drinkeii
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
David, how long have you and I been posting on this board? Do you really think I'd be wrong about something like this?
Well, I'm asking - that's all - I don't remember anything in there that says "When dribbling" - and you can't presume something like that is in there - I'll look when I get home, which is in about 15 minutes...

BTW, can you email me a copy of that handheld rule book? That would come in great handy, me having a Treo 650 and all... Thanks in advance!
__________________
David A. Rinke II
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 06, 2006, 06:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,748
Quote:
Originally Posted by drinkeii
As I recall, the rule doesn't say dribbling - it says for the player to be considered to be in the frontcourt, they must have both feet and the ball in the frontcourt - I'll look it up when I get home, but I'm pretty sure it doesn't day "when dribbling the ball".
RULE 4, SECTION 4 BALL LOCATION, AT DISPOSAL

ART. 6 . . . During a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt, the ball is in the frontcourt when the ball and both feet of the dribbler touch the court entirely in the frontcourt.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 06, 2006, 06:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
NV, dammit!!! Now cut that out!!!
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 06, 2006, 07:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,748
Hey Tony,
Twice in one thread!!! ... ... ...
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 06, 2006, 07:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
I'll fix your a$$!
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 06, 2006, 07:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,748
Am I being a pain in the a$$?

LMAO!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt violation?? joencali Basketball 9 Sat Mar 11, 2006 08:26pm
Is this a Backcourt Violation? normrefct Basketball 7 Fri Jan 27, 2006 11:32pm
Backcourt violation??? jshock Basketball 10 Wed Nov 27, 2002 01:31pm
Backcourt Violation Bchill24 Basketball 3 Fri Nov 08, 2002 10:56am
Backcourt violation. Dennis Nicely Basketball 7 Mon Jan 15, 2001 11:52pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1