The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2008, 08:56pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by FeetBallRef
Yes by all means. Many officials (including numerous Rules Interpretors) believe it is D.
1) Rule 9-8 says that a player or team cannot be in continuous control of a ball in their backcourt for ten seconds.
2) In the original post, Dribbler A1 had player and thus team control in the frontcourt. Rule 4-12-1.
3) When B1 knocked the ball loose, dribbler A1 lost player control but Team A did NOT lose team control.Rule 4-12-4.
4) The loose ball gained backcourt status as soon as it touched the backcourt. Rule 4-4-1.

Put 'em together and waddaya got? Bippity boppity boo....

You have a team that now has team control of the ball in the backcourt as soon as the ball touched in the backcourt. That's why the count begins at that time.

Jdw nailed it.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Wed Jan 23, 2008 at 08:59pm.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When do you start? refnrev Soccer 11 Fri Aug 24, 2007 04:31pm
Woo-Hoo...it's a start LarryS Basketball 13 Wed Feb 14, 2007 04:19pm
10 second count, when does it start? mjbofficial Basketball 25 Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:03am
Right from the start tomegun Basketball 6 Mon Nov 06, 2006 10:09am
Want to start Officiating racerx Basketball 10 Mon Sep 17, 2001 10:27am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1