The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 18, 2008, 02:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 71
Basket Interference?

Had a co-worker just quiz me on a play and I think I gave him the correct answer, but just wanted to double check...
Post player goes up to catch a lob and dunk it, but loses the ball which goes straight up. The player follows through and grasps the rim momentarily. After he lets go of the rim, the ball comes down and goes through the net. The rim did not hit the ball. From reading the definition of BI, I don't think that it was. Any thoughts are appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 18, 2008, 02:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
No basket interference. However, if the player clearly loses control of the basketball and then grabs the rim with no risk of injury, you have a technical foul for grasping the ring...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basket Interference MPLAHE Basketball 14 Wed Dec 28, 2005 04:49pm
Basket Interference? devdog69 Basketball 13 Mon Jul 04, 2005 01:53am
Basket Interference??? FrankHtown Basketball 7 Mon Feb 14, 2005 04:23pm
Basket interference caref Basketball 12 Thu Jan 08, 2004 01:19pm
basket interference Ralph Stubenthal Basketball 17 Thu May 29, 2003 11:23am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1