The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 15, 2002, 03:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 223
If I'm reading 4-3 correctly, AP is set to Team A when the ball is placed at the disposal of the thrower from Team B after "the free throws for a noncommon foul."

I've scoured 6-2, 6-3, and 10-3-5 and can find no justification for giving Team B both the ball and the AP.

The note on 6-2 says, "Any rules statement is made on the assumption that no infraction is involved unless mentioned or implied. If such infraction occurs, the rule governing it is followed. For example, a game or extra period will not start with a jump ball if a foul occurs before the ball becomes live."

The governing rule in this situation appears to be 10-3-5. However, 10-3-5 does not give us any indication of what should happen to the AP arrow. 6-3 also does not appear to answer this question. Therefore, it appears to me that 4-3 wins, and 10-3-5 ought to be written more clearly next year!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1