Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
As Tommy said, the NCAA definitions state that there is team control during a throw-in. Personally, I hate that definition. I think it's stupid, frankly. Because now you have to make exceptions for backcourt violations and a couple other things. I would rather leave the basic definition of team control alone and simply add the throw-in situation to the definition of team control fouls.
I sincerely hope that the NFHS doesn't change this basketball fundamental.
|
Team control on a throw-in for NCAA doesn't always mean the same as team control on the floor.
Scapper brings up a very good example in the B/C plays on a throw-in. Since the NCAA changed the ending of the throw-in to a touch it makes the backcourt/frontcourt a little confusing along with the throw-in exceptions.
Art. 3. A live ball is in the front court or back court of the team in control as follows:
a. A ball that is in contact with a player or with the playing court shall
be in the back court when either the ball or the player (either player
when the ball is touching more than one) is touching the back court.
It shall be in the front court when neither the ball nor the player is
touching the back court.
So here is a screwing example of where this is confusing. A1 has a S/L throw-in F/C. A1 passes to A2 in the F/C who fumbles the ball once then twice from the F/C to the B/C, goes back and recovers the ball in the B/C without it being a violation.
Throw-in ended on the touch. (Throw-in provisions should be over) By the above mentioned rule A2 established F/C T/C status since the team had control during a throw-in.
However we are still waiting for player control in the F/C before we establish F/C status on a throw-in. Even though we had team control on the throw-in we didn't have P/C in the F/C before the ball was fumbled into the B/C.