The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2008, 07:43am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie
I would have told him the following: There is no team control on a throw-in Feds. So, since there was a double foul while the ball was NOT in either team control (still in the air). There is no choice but go to the arrow. Rules 6-3g; 4-36-2c will support.
Completely wrong. Rule 4-36-2(b) is the applicable rule. The double foul happened DURING a throw-in. Rule 4-36-2(c) says that no "infraction" is involved. A double foul is a rules infraction.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2008, 10:01am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,686
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Rule 4-36-2(b) is the applicable rule. The double foul happened DURING a throw-in. Rule 4-36-2(c) says that no "infraction" is involved. A double foul is a rules infraction.
Jurassic is correct. Seems like many of us aren't really understanding the POI rule yet. That's not intended to be a slam on anybody on this forum, it just means that it isn't being taught well.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2008, 10:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Completely wrong. Rule 4-36-2(b) is the applicable rule. The double foul happened DURING a throw-in. Rule 4-36-2(c) says that no "infraction" is involved. A double foul is a rules infraction.

6-3g is applicable too!
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2008, 10:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 153
It is my interpretation that the double foul was the interruption to the play. I would give the ball back to Team A for a subsequent throw-in.

I had this situation in a game last year; unfortunately, I cannot remember exactly how we handled it. I remember discussing with my partners, but do not recall the conclusion.
__________________
Call what you see; See what you call.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2008, 10:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie
6-3g is applicable too!
That's twice you've referenced "6-3g" and I can't find it in the book.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2008, 10:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
That's twice you've referenced "6-3g" and I can't find it in the book.
Metric equivalent?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2008, 10:29am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie
6-3g is applicable too!
If you are referencing rule 6-4-3(g), please note that the term "infraction" is stated in that rule also. Again, a double foul is an infraction of the rules. That is why neither 6-4-3(g) or 4-38-2(c) are applicable.

Wrong interpretation, rook.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2008, 10:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
If you are referencing rule 6-4-3(g), please note that the term "infraction" is stated in that rule also. Again, a double foul is an infraction of the rules. That is why neither 6-4-3(g) or 4-38-2(c) are applicable.

Wrong interpretation, rook.
Wrong interpretation or wrong rule referenced? I believe I referenced the wrong rule for the situation. I'm really trying to give rule support with my answers. If along the way, I make mistakes I can live with that. I'm only going to get better.
__________________
truerookie

Last edited by truerookie; Mon Jan 07, 2008 at 10:36am.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2008, 10:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie
Wrong interpretation or wrong rule referenced? I believe I referenced the wrong rule for the situation.
6-4-3(g) is the rule rule you're referencing, and the rule you're mis-interpreting. It indeed does reference using the AP for all double foul situations where there is no team control, however, as JR has pointed out, you left out the important part of that rule: "when no infraction is involved". If you read the definition of POI, in 4-36-2(b) it states POI is "A free throw or throw-in if the stoppage occured during this activity".

So, yes, there is no team control during a throw-in, but the POI goes back to the throw-in after the double foul, since the throw-in was not yet completed. Follow?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2008, 11:01am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie
Wrong interpretation or wrong rule referenced?
If you're referencing rule 6-4-3(g), then your interpretation is wrong. It's wrong for the exact same reason that 4-36-2(c) isn't applicable. Iow, what M&M said.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2008, 11:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy
6-4-3(g) is the rule rule you're referencing, and the rule you're mis-interpreting. It indeed does reference using the AP for all double foul situations where there is no team control, however, as JR has pointed out, you left out the important part of that rule: "when no infraction is involved". If you read the definition of POI, in 4-36-2(b) it states POI is "A free throw or throw-in if the stoppage occured during this activity".

So, yes, there is no team control during a throw-in, but the POI goes back to the throw-in after the double foul, since the throw-in was not yet completed. Follow?
Ok, I understand since the throw-in was not completed and no team control and there was an infraction(s) the double fouls. POI will be the throw-in again entitled to Team A. Makes sense thanks.
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The "Nutty Buddy" TwoBits Baseball 5 Wed Mar 07, 2007 12:09pm
Forgot my pre-game buddy tonight 26 Year Gap Basketball 1 Thu Feb 08, 2007 11:15pm
Buddy gets me good with remark Mark Padgett Basketball 7 Sat Feb 26, 2005 11:58am
Buddy ref cracked me up Mark Padgett Basketball 13 Tue Jan 11, 2005 03:22pm
My buddy on second base and TV. mick Baseball 16 Tue Aug 19, 2003 08:33pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1