The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 03, 2008, 07:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
Most of the replies keep talking about an interrupted dribble ... when I first read the OP I first though of this being a pass and ended up being a pass to herself ... right?

That would make it a violation, forget the over and back.

The way the OP read was it was an intentional act ... an interrupted dribble is not done on purpose.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 03, 2008, 07:57pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,393
Refresher Exam Question 57

2007 IAABO Refresher Exam, Question 57: While dribbling in the frontcourt, near the division line, A1 steps on the division line. Official rules this a backcourt violation even though he/she is not touching the ball. Is the official correct? Yes (Rule9-9-1)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 03, 2008, 08:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fishers, IN
Posts: 486
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
2007 IAABO Refresher Exam, Question 57: While dribbling in the frontcourt, near the division line, A1 steps on the division line. Official rules this a backcourt violation even though he/she is not touching the ball. Is the official correct? Yes (Rule9-9-1)
Could the time lapsed between dribbles have anything to do with this OP scenario?

This is a really good debate we have going...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 03, 2008, 08:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coltdoggs
Could the time lapsed between dribbles have anything to do with this OP scenario?

This is a really good debate we have going...

how is this a good debate? we are arguing whether its a violation because the ball is *not* touching the offensive player.....
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 03, 2008, 09:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fishers, IN
Posts: 486
Look how many people we have stirred up on this one! Why does it have to be arguing....I gave that up for 2008...this is a debate!

I'm sorry, but I don't think I have a violation if it's not a continious dribble....

Can anyone YOUTUBE this play so we can see the damn thing!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 03, 2008, 11:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
Most of the replies keep talking about an interrupted dribble ... when I first read the OP I first though of this being a pass and ended up being a pass to herself ... right?

That would make it a violation, forget the over and back.

The way the OP read was it was an intentional act ... an interrupted dribble is not done on purpose.
Please show me in the rule book where it says an interrupted dribble in an unintentional act.

BTW, for the newbies, you would be wise to ignore most anything deecee writes.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith

Last edited by BktBallRef; Fri Jan 04, 2008 at 08:40am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Partners "stepping in" to your discussion... rei Baseball 43 Tue Feb 27, 2007 06:33pm
Time back on clock? I said "No." bgtg19 Basketball 3 Wed Dec 06, 2006 06:05pm
Illegal Blocks "in the back" Rich Football 14 Mon Oct 09, 2006 01:56pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1