The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 03, 2008, 06:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbilla
Sideline YES. Division line, how can you have a BC violation if the ball never went to the BC? I don't have my rulebook with me, but does the section covering BC even reference "dribbler"? I suspect it doesn't....
The ball doesn't have to go into the BC to have a BC violation. If the ball has FC status and the player in player control of the ball steps into the BC, it's a violation.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kbilla
"An interrupted dribble occurs when the ball is loose after deflecting off the dribbler or after it momentarily gets away from the dribbler. There is no player control during an interrupted dribble." 4.15.5

In the OP I would argue that it didn't "get away" from the dribbler, she intentionally left it there, therefore her dribble continues...
It makes no difference whether an interrupted dribble is intentional or accidental. It's simply a loss of player control.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith

Last edited by BktBallRef; Thu Jan 03, 2008 at 06:54pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 03, 2008, 12:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
I'm confused -- where's the violation?
Bpb,
THis is why I posted this situation, I didn't think it was a violation in regards to backcourt or anything else but I wanted to put it to the acid test of this forum. I had a similar thing happen 2 weeks ago, team blue has front court status and then an interrupted dribble results in the ball rolling towards the half court line, a blue player runs up and reaches down and rolls the ball back into frontcourt, as he is making this "saving" roll he jumps across the halfcourt line but is clearly not touching the ball when he crosses the line, I did not call backcourt even though some of the fans were screaming overandback.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 03, 2008, 01:00pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loudwhistle
Bpb,
THis is why I posted this situation, I didn't think it was a violation in regards to backcourt or anything else but I wanted to put it to the acid test of this forum. I had a similar thing happen 2 weeks ago, team blue has front court status and then an interrupted dribble results in the ball rolling towards the half court line, a blue player runs up and reaches down and rolls the ball back into frontcourt, as he is making this "saving" roll he jumps across the halfcourt line but is clearly not touching the ball when he crosses the line, I did not call backcourt even though some of the fans were screaming overandback.
Are you sure they weren't saying "over the back"
Besides 3 seconds (on a throw-in mind you) that's one of their favorites.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 04, 2008, 12:22am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,150
My advice is this play is not a violation BECAUSE if you cannot explain it do NOT call it.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 04, 2008, 08:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fishers, IN
Posts: 486
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
My advice is this play is not a violation BECAUSE if you cannot explain it do NOT call it.

MTD, Sr.
Thank you Mark....We are all scratching our heads and I think this is the most logical thing said of any of us!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 04, 2008, 09:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,212
1) I'm NOT sure the ruling depends on whether this is an interrupted dribble. Without the note in 9-3-1, it wouldn't be an OOB situation -- and there's no similar note in 9-9.

If you don't buy that, then:

2) I seem to recall a case play (or interp) to the effect that "A1 chases a loose ball (yeah -- I know that's not a term) near the sideline. A1 grabs the ball and tosses it back on the court. A1's momentum carries him/her OOB. A1 returns inbounds and grabs the ball, then begins a dribble. Ruling: Double Dribble (yeah ...). A1's first toss to the court was the start of a dribble."

So, if the toss was intentional and the start of a dribble, why wasn't it an OOB violation on A1 (under 9-3-1 NOTE)? Because it was an interrupted dribble. So, an interrupted dribble can be "intentional".

(Edit to add: Found the case play. See 7.1.1.D)

(Edit to add: Damn. NevadaRef found it before I could.)

If you don't buy that, then:

3) See MTD's comment.

Last edited by bob jenkins; Fri Jan 04, 2008 at 09:10am.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 04, 2008, 11:36am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,445
I Can Explain That In One Rule

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
My advice is this play is not a violation BECAUSE if you cannot explain it do NOT call it. MTD, Sr.
I can explain it, if it's a normal, "controlled" dribble:
NFHS Rule 3-1-Note: The dribbler has committed a violation if he/she steps on or outside a boundary, even though he/she is not touching the ball while he/she is out of bounds.

I can explain it if it's an interrupted dribble:
NFHS Rule 4-15-6-d: During an interrupted dribble out of bounds violation does not apply on the player involved in the iinterrupted dribble.

Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Jan 04, 2008 at 11:39am.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 03, 2008, 12:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loudwhistle
Last night Varsity Girls game, I'm watching from the stands, A1 is dribbling in her front court and gets too close to the halfcourt line, she realizes that her momentum is going to carry her across the halfcourt line thus commiting a backcourt violation so before she leaves her front court she pushes the ball with one hand, basically still dribbling, so that the ball stays in front court yet she takes 2 steps in the back court and then catches up to the ball in front court and continues to dribble, ref calls over and back. Reminded me of picture in one of the case books where a guy is dribbling along the boundary line and he steps out of bounds yet the ball stays in bounds, and then he comes back in bounds still dribbling the ball, viloation! For me as a ref, it sometimes helps me to think of back court as out of bounds for the team that has established the ball in their front court. (I know there are times when players can legally enter the backcourt) A question I have from what I saw last night though is, can team players that have established front court move across the half court line trying to shake a defender? I'm talking about trying to get open to receive a pass. Of course they have to get back onto front court to get the ball.
It's one of the myths of basketball that the backcourt rule is just the same as the out-of-bounds rule (maybe adding that there is a delayed violation if the ball hits the backcourt coming from the FC).

It's not. It's perfectly legal to play in the backcourt. Players have to pay attention not to carry the ball in the BC after it has gained FC status (in FIBA the rule is slightly different, but the principle is the same): which is not the same as the ball going out of bounds.

And I believe that in NF the described play would be classified as an interrupted dribble, hence it would have been legal also to go out of bounds and reestablishing in-bounds status before touching the ball again, if I'm not mistaken.

Ciao
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 03, 2008, 12:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by eg-italy
It's one of the myths of basketball that the backcourt rule is just the same as the out-of-bounds rule (maybe adding that there is a delayed violation if the ball hits the backcourt coming from the FC).

It's not. It's perfectly legal to play in the backcourt. Players have to pay attention not to carry the ball in the BC after it has gained FC status (in FIBA the rule is slightly different, but the principle is the same): which is not the same as the ball going out of bounds.

And I believe that in NF the described play would be classified as an interrupted dribble, hence it would have been legal also to go out of bounds and reestablishing in-bounds status before touching the ball again, if I'm not mistaken.

Ciao
Would this be an interuppted dribble though if she just decided to not dribble the ball as she went out of bounds and then re-established? What is the difference between this and just running along the sideline, stepping out of bounds each time you push the ball to the floor, but back inbounds each time you are in contact with the ball? I would have a violation in the case described in the OP if it was on the sideline...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Partners "stepping in" to your discussion... rei Baseball 43 Tue Feb 27, 2007 06:33pm
Time back on clock? I said "No." bgtg19 Basketball 3 Wed Dec 06, 2006 06:05pm
Illegal Blocks "in the back" Rich Football 14 Mon Oct 09, 2006 01:56pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1