The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 29, 2007, 03:49pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,406
Clear Up Another Myth

A player may slide on the floor while trying to secure a loose ball until that player’s momentum stops. At that point that player cannot attempt to get up or rollover. A player securing a ball while on the floor cannot attempt to stand up unless that player starts a dribble. A player in this situation may also pass, shoot, or call a timeout. If the player is flat on his or her back, that player may sit up without violating.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 29, 2007, 07:05pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
A player in this situation may also ...........call a timeout.
Is that anything like requesting a timeout?

Ah, the battle goes on.

BillyMac, please notice all the smiley faces. Don't go Bobby Knight on me.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 29, 2007, 07:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
4.44.5 SITUATION B: A1 dives for a loose ball and slides after gaining control. A1 is in a position either on his/her back or stomach. What can A1 do without violating?
RULING: A1 may pass, shoot, start a dribble or call a time-out. Once A1 has the ball and is no longer sliding, he/she may not roll over. If flat on his/her back, A1 may sit up without violating. Any attempt to get to the feet is traveling unless A1 is dribbling. It is also traveling if A1 puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is first to touch the ball. (4-44-5b)
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 29, 2007, 07:57pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,406
Call, Request, Grant

Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
4.44.5 SITUATION B: A1 dives for a loose ball and slides after gaining control. A1 is in a position either on his/her back or stomach. What can A1 do without violating?
RULING: A1 may pass, shoot, start a dribble or call a time-out. Once A1 has the ball and is no longer sliding, he/she may not roll over. If flat on his/her back, A1 may sit up without violating. Any attempt to get to the feet is traveling unless A1 is dribbling. It is also traveling if A1 puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is first to touch the ball. (4-44-5b)
Call: Definition: to talk loudly

Mark Padgett: You are correct to "call" me out on this, but note that the NFHS uses the term "call".

Rookie officials: Mark Padgett makes an important point that officials and coaches must know, requesting a timeout, is not the same as being granted a timeout.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
legal tip? cdhfsh Volleyball 2 Thu Oct 13, 2005 10:40am
Legal hit? zanzibar Volleyball 2 Tue Oct 04, 2005 10:34am
Is this legal? BoBo Football 6 Tue Dec 09, 2003 11:39am
Is this legal? FBFAN Football 4 Mon Oct 14, 2002 01:27pm
legal or not ericdenn Basketball 12 Sun Apr 07, 2002 06:08pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1