![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
According to the NCAA rules which I just downloaded, it might not have mattered whether the guy touched the ball and it's too bad the on-air talent didn't discuss the question:
FR-124 RULE 9.2 / CONDUCT OF PLAYERS AND OTHERS SUBJECT TO RULES be disqualified [S47]. If a player or an identified squad member in uniform commits two unsportsmanlike fouls in the same game, he shall be disqualified. b. Other prohibited acts include: 1. During the game, coaches, substitutes and authorized attendants in the team area shall not be on the field of play or outside the 25-yard lines without permission from the referee unless legally entering or leaving the field (Exceptions: Rules 1-2-4-g and 3-3-8-c). Team area personnel who are outside the team area and who have involvement or impact on live-ball play are subject to penalty under Rule 9-1-4- a....[omitted stuff] PENALTY—Dead-ball foul. 15 yards [S7, S27] from the succeeding spot. Flagrant offenders, if players or substitutes, shall be disqualified [S47]. To me this doesn't make it clear which team would have had possession after enforcement of the penalty. |
|
|||
|
Let's not forget that not long before this Texas was given a sideline warning for having coaches and personnel out on the field at other times also. So the kid and Texas deserved that penalty...didn't seem to help ASU out in the long run.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Totally off topic, but funny | Mark Padgett | Basketball | 1 | Sat Oct 21, 2006 04:57pm |
| Totally Off Topic...I need help from the vocabulary police | Barry C. Morris | Basketball | 18 | Fri May 30, 2003 10:41am |
| More totally off-topic poll questions | ChuckElias | Basketball | 0 | Wed Mar 12, 2003 01:34pm |
| Totally off-topic poll questions | ChuckElias | Basketball | 0 | Wed Mar 12, 2003 01:26pm |
| Totally off-topic, football question | ChuckElias | Basketball | 12 | Fri Oct 04, 2002 03:36pm |