The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 24, 2007, 11:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by ditttoo
So then, if the player were to pick up one foot and leave the pivot foot in the front court, then touch the raised foot into the back court - you're not going to call back court?
Not while the player's backside is firmly planted on the floor in the backcourt.

What does the action which you describe have to do with the play under discussion?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 24, 2007, 11:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 106
Situation described points out that the establishment of front court status depends on the pivot foot being established in the front court and nothing to do with the backside of the player being in the back court. BOTH feet were in the front court so one must surely be the pivot foot; pivot foot in the front court so front court status is established.

Replies were referencing "three points" in determining front/back court status - since the referenced play did not involve a dribble, the point is that "three points" (ball, right foot, left foot) applies only in situations involving a dribble, which the referenced play did not.

In my last post, the point is that it is the pivot foot, and nothing else, which establishes front court/back court status when there is no active dribble.
__________________
Call what you SAW...not what you see!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 24, 2007, 11:32pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
If the player gains possession of the ball while sitting down, this player does NOT have a pivot foot.

And pivot foot in the front court does not necessarily mean front court status. There is an exception that could have the pivot foot in the front court and the player with back court status.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 24, 2007, 11:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
If the player gains possession of the ball while sitting down, this player does NOT have a pivot foot.

And pivot foot in the front court does not necessarily mean front court status. There is an exception that could have the pivot foot in the front court and the player with back court status.
With both feet on the floor, one MUST be considered the pivot foot (that's why the jump stop does not allow a player to initiate a dribble under certain circumstances). With both feet on the floor in the front court, and without a dribble, you have front court status is the point. I know of no exceptions; interesting play situation which I hope I don't encounter; I've got a back court violation and would not want to explain to the coach (or anyone else) that there is no violation due to the fact that even with both feet in the front court the ball was hanging over the back court and/or the backside of the player was still in the back court.
__________________
Call what you SAW...not what you see!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 24, 2007, 11:48pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
And there's no way in hell I'm going to explain to an assigner that I called a backcourt violation when the player caught the ball with backcourt location, never moved, and then proceeded to do nothing before my whistle.

I don't care what the coach thinks.

Let me ask another question.

A1 catches the ball while sitting on the floor. Both feet come off the floor for a brief moment, but the player never moves other than that. You calling a travel?

There is no pivot while on the floor.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 24, 2007, 11:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,225
[QUOTE=ditttoo]With both feet on the floor, one MUST be considered the pivot foot (that's why the jump stop does not allow a player to initiate a dribble under certain circumstances). [/quote[]

Sure -- one of the feet is the pivot foot (for argument's ake). That affects the travelling rule (to travel is to move the pivot in excess of prescribed limits). It has nothing to do with the bc rule.


Quote:
With both feet on the floor in the front court, and without a dribble, you have front court status is the point. I know of no exceptions; .
No you don't, and yes you do -- you've just been reading one.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 24, 2007, 11:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by ditttoo
I've got a back court violation and would not want to explain to the coach...
...the backside of the player was still in the back court.


I don't want to be put in the position to have an upset coach complaining to me about why my partner called a backcourt violation when the backside of his player was clearly in the backcourt.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 24, 2007, 11:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by ditttoo
With both feet on the floor, one MUST be considered the pivot foot (that's why the jump stop does not allow a player to initiate a dribble under certain circumstances).
Nope. The only time that one of two feet on the floor MUST be considered to be the pivot foot prior to one actually being established by movement is when a player jumps into the and then starts a dribble. That's in the case book.

Also, a player can ALWAYS initiate a dribble after a jumpstop, unless the player previously dribbled. The jumpstop and the dribble rules are not connected in any way.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 25, 2007, 12:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,016
It just occurred to me that you might be a FIBA ref and the rules might well be different where you are.

So are you going by NFHS, NCAA, or FIBA rules?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 27, 2007, 08:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 944
Quote:
Originally Posted by ditttoo
With both feet on the floor, one MUST be considered the pivot foot
How about: 4-44-2 . . . A player, who catches the ball while moving or dribbling, may stop,
and establish a pivot foot as follows:
a. If both feet are off the floor and the player lands:
1. Simultaneously on both feet, either foot may be the pivot.
2. On one foot followed by the other, the first foot to touch is the pivot.
3. On one foot, the player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on
both. Neither foot can be a pivot in this case.
b. If one foot is on the floor:
1. It is the pivot when the other foot touches in a step.
2. The player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both.
Neither foot can be a pivot in this case.
__________________
I couldn't afford a cool signature, so I just got this one.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 26, 2007, 06:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
If the player gains possession of the ball while sitting down, this player does NOT have a pivot foot.
Pivot cheek?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 26, 2007, 07:02pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeT
Pivot cheek?
Don't get me started.

This thread says it all.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 26, 2007, 07:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Don't get me started.

This thread says it all.
Wow - and I was kidding. I'd hate to see how that coach describes the related jump stop rule.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 24, 2007, 11:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by ditttoo
Situation described points out that the establishment of front court status depends on the pivot foot being established in the front court and nothing to do with the backside of the player being in the back court. BOTH feet were in the front court so one must surely be the pivot foot; pivot foot in the front court so front court status is established.

Replies were referencing "three points" in determining front/back court status - since the referenced play did not involve a dribble, the point is that "three points" (ball, right foot, left foot) applies only in situations involving a dribble, which the referenced play did not.

In my last post, the point is that it is the pivot foot, and nothing else, which establishes front court/back court status when there is no active dribble.
I don't know where you got that method, but it is not correct. It may work in the vast majority of circumstances, but since it is not the rule, it will not work for all situations.
Two situations for which your "rule of pivot" doesn't work are:
1. the player is not standing
2. a player catches the ball while airborne and while his action is covered by one of the three exceptions, so he is permitted to make a normal landing without respect for which foot comes down first. If the first foot comes down in the frontcourt and the second in the backcourt, the player's pivot foot is the one in the front court, but he has backcourt status per the rules.
If he lifts his foot in the fc, the pivot, and puts it back down in the fc, he has travelled.
Now you can continue to do it your way, if you wish and it is easier for you, but you will be wrong in a few cases and you should know that. Or you can change and call it by the real rule. That's up to you.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Post-game situations (ASA) NCASAUmp Softball 14 Thu Jun 07, 2007 01:37pm
Strange sound in game today DTQ_Blue Baseball 3 Sun Apr 29, 2007 09:11pm
2 situations, same game. psujaye Basketball 6 Mon Feb 12, 2007 05:21pm
"Pre-Game Situations" rainmaker Basketball 12 Tue Dec 23, 2003 01:09pm
strange thinks happen at a middle school game.... scat03 Basketball 17 Sat Dec 14, 2002 02:09pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1