![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
different question but on the contact part- i had coaches saying out of bounds and the other saying block
if A1 is dribbling near the sideline toward her frountcourt. B1 gets in her way and it will clearly be a blocking foul but A1 steps out of bounds. There was little or no contact. I called a blocking foul because A1 was forced to go out of bounds. Was this the right call or can there be a blocking foul without contact? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
ok thanks. . There was very little contact but perhaps if their arms hit or light body contact there could be a block call. I'm thinking I might get a player who says "what am I supposed to do, crash into the defender?"
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Take the out of bounds out of the equation. If there was enough contact that you would have called a foul in the middle of the floor, then call a foul here. If not, call the out of bounds.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
So, to answer your last question first - no, you cannot have a blocking foul with no contact. In your play description, if you feel there was just enough contact by the defense to force A1 to step OOB, then it sounds like a foul. If you feel A1 was going to step OOB before the contact, then it's a violation on A1. Judgement call.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity) |
|
|||
|
- from what I saw the defensive player stepped in the path of A1 at the last second and if A1 would have continued forward then it would have been a blocking foul. A1 didn't have time to move out of the way so she stepped out of bounds. There was a little contact but very minor and no one fell down or anything like that. I called a block because in my mind A1 had to go out of bounds or she would have had to run into B1 who got to the spot late. If there was absolutely no contact then I suppose I would have called out of bounds but the contact was very little and I called a block even though it wasn't a typical block call.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
-Defensive playeer steps in at last second and if A continued forward there would have been contact... -B-1 gets to spot late. Remember, There is no time or distance that a defensive player has to give somone who is in player control. So if they got to the spot before contact, and meet the requirements of LGP its not a block.... I |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Ball, ball, ball, ball, ball, ball, ball, ball...: The Cover | rainmaker | Basketball | 3 | Wed Jan 04, 2006 11:12am |
| Screaming "BALL BALL BALL" during girls games | drinkeii | Basketball | 90 | Mon Jul 11, 2005 09:53am |
| Legally putting ball in play, dead ball violations | BJ Moose | Baseball | 20 | Tue Aug 26, 2003 10:09am |
| Foul Ball Call - Does it make the ball dead ??? | cmckenna | Baseball | 2 | Tue Apr 30, 2002 08:53am |