The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 10, 2002, 07:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Tweed Heads, NSW, Australia
Posts: 559
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Padgett
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Padgett
By rule, you cannot call this delay on the team about to inbound the ball. You should start your 5 second count because that player had the opportunity to take the ball OOB. However, you can call a T for preventing the ball from being put promptly into play, if you want. There is no legal warning that can be a part of this call, however. (NF rules)
I disagree with the "by rule" portion. Nothing in 4-46 or 10-1-5d says "by the team that just scored."

I do agree that it would be a rare call, and was probably properly handled in the original situation.
Bob - the word "interfering" is the key to me. The team entitled to the ball cannot "interfere" with the ball being put into play because when their player touches it, it is at their disposal. You cannot "interfere" with yourself. The term implies the ball was touched by the team not entitled to it because only they can "interfere" with a team's ability to put the ball promptly into play, which is the rule.
Mark - you can interfere with yourself - but the Pope says that you'll go blind
__________________
Duane Galle
P.s. I'm a FIBA referee - so all my posts are metric

Visit www.geocities.com/oz_referee
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1