The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 07, 2007, 10:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
I once had a game in which a time-out was granted and the coach said, "I didn't call for a time-out", and the official declared an inadvertent whistle. I've asked other officials and told this was ok in college, but (obviously) not in high school. Does anybody have a definitive citation for this situation?
That is my understanding also but I cannot find it in the book either. I'm sure someone will come up with it.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 07, 2007, 10:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
That is my understanding also but I cannot find it in the book either. I'm sure someone will come up with it.
We have had several threads on granting T.O.s, especially regarding if they were "actually" requested or not. Below is the Sit from 06-07. By rule when a T.O. is granted it can not be revoked; however, the discussion lies with whether or not it was actually requested for the Ref to grant it.... thus IW has been used in thoses instances... right? wrong?

5.8.3 Situation E:The official erroneously grants Team B a time-out in a situation when Team B cannot have one. What happens now?
Ruling:Team B is entitled to use the time-out since it was granted. The time-out once granted cannot be revoked and is charged to Team B. All privileges and rights permitted during a charged time-out are available to both teams.



[See corresponding Rule Article for Situation 5.8.3]
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 07, 2007, 10:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splute
We have had several threads on granting T.O.s, especially regarding if they were "actually" requested or not. Below is the Sit from 06-07. By rule when a T.O. is granted it can not be revoked; however, the discussion lies with whether or not it was actually requested for the Ref to grant it.... thus IW has been used in thoses instances... right? wrong?

5.8.3 Situation E:The official erroneously grants Team B a time-out in a situation when Team B cannot have one. What happens now?
Ruling:Team B is entitled to use the time-out since it was granted. The time-out once granted cannot be revoked and is charged to Team B. All privileges and rights permitted during a charged time-out are available to both teams.



[See corresponding Rule Article for Situation 5.8.3]
Yep, good find, but this is the HS rule. Scrappy and I are talking about the ncaa rule.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 07, 2007, 10:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
I thought that was the case. Thought I would post HS in case others were curious too. Sorry.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which is worse LakeErieUmp Baseball 6 Tue Jun 27, 2006 08:57pm
Which is worse... SamIAm Basketball 12 Wed Jan 26, 2005 11:02am
it's getting worse ChrisSportsFan Basketball 2 Tue Jan 11, 2005 03:43pm
Does it get any worse than this? Mark Padgett Basketball 23 Tue Apr 16, 2002 10:51am
Could it get any worse than this? JRutledge Basketball 32 Mon Dec 24, 2001 03:24pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1