![]() |
|
|
|||
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Have you ever seen a lay-up? Without the rule, those would be illegal. Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Originally Posted by kblehman
With all due respect, a jump shot does not entail switching the pivot foot. Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Originally Posted by kblehman
Would there be a problem if the jump shooter switched from his left (pivot) foot to his right, and then picked it up to release the shot? Quote:
1. A1 is being pressured heavily in the front court and is forced to pick up his dribble. Left foot becomes pivot. Defense now overplays the passing lanes. A1 starts to pass to A2 but sees it would be picked off so he holds up. However, his momentum has carried him off his left (pivot) and onto his right foot. So now he's balancing on his right foot, left foot in the air. This is not a travel unless his left foot comes back down, correct? 2. The point guard (A1) begins to penetrate, drawing defenders to him. A1 then kicks it out to B1, who is setting up for a three on the right wing. B1 catches the pass, then does a small bunny-hop to square himself for the three. The bunny-hop was with both feet and after he caught the ball. Is this a travel? (IMO yes) If so, how close do you call it? Thank you in advance for your feedback. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
There is a legal way to bunny-hop, and that's by executing a legal jump stop - if the player catches the ball with one foot on the ground, or catches in the air then lands on one foot, he can jump off that foot and onto both feet simultaneously, then jump to shoot or pass, or begin a dribble. This is the one time a player who is standing and holding the ball (edit) may not establish a pivot foot. Last edited by jdw3018; Tue Dec 11, 2007 at 11:57am. |
|
|||
1. A1 is being pressured heavily in the front court and is forced to pick up his dribble. Left foot becomes pivot. Defense now overplays the passing lanes. A1 starts to pass to A2 but sees it would be picked off so he holds up. However, his momentum has carried him off his left (pivot) and onto his right foot. So now he's balancing on his right foot, left foot in the air. This is not a travel unless his left foot comes back down, correct?
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
Quote:
Bob's point and Blindzebra's point was that if you couldn't lift that pivot foot after stepping with the non-pivot foot, the lay-up and jump shot would be illegal -- exactly because both require you to lift your pivot foot. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
NBA Ref Article | Mark Dexter | Basketball | 9 | Sat Aug 04, 2007 05:37pm |
Dr. Z article | AndrewMcCarthy | Football | 3 | Thu Jan 18, 2007 07:06am |
Article | Dan_ref | Basketball | 3 | Fri Feb 25, 2005 12:53pm |
Article | SteveD | Baseball | 9 | Sat Jan 04, 2003 01:06pm |
Read this if you have read "Interesting Article." (Follow up article) | JRutledge | Basketball | 0 | Wed May 09, 2001 08:44pm |