
Mon Dec 10, 2007, 12:49pm
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by kblehman
I understand the (sarcastic) comments about a layup. On the run, the players gets those steps. No problem.
I was speaking more along the lines of a player who has used those steps to come to a stop and establish a pivot foot (instead of shooting), but then decides to take a shot. The rule seems to allow him to switch his pivot foot without a dribble, which I understood to be traveling.
Sounds like what you're all saying is that no matter what has already transpired, the player gets his "layup steps."
But then, why only 1? 
|
Do you have a rule book? What is the definition of "pivot"? When is is a violation to move the pivot foot?
|