The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 03:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018
I don't believe the 0.3 required for a shot can be used. What I'm not certain about is if an official had a count of 2 for closely guarded and then the shot went up, obviously taking more time, could they take 2 seconds off?

I've always been under the impression that an official must know the entire duration to have definite knowledge and make any change, but I can't find a citation that the official must have definite knowledge of the entire period of time consumed...
According to a senior official running a training scrimmage this offseason, you can take off whatever time that you have definite knowledge of, even if it's only part of the interval. So if you have a throw-in in A's backcourt and A dribbles up the court, crosses midcourt, and takes a shot and the clock fails to start, you may use the backcourt count to take off fewer than 10 seconds.

I believe that 0.3 can be taken off but I've never faced that situation in a game and am not dogmatic on the point. To me, it constitutes definite knowledge by rule, but others see it differently.
__________________
Are there rocks ahead? If there are, we all be dead!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 03:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lakewood, Ohio
Posts: 718
Quote:
definite knowledge
Thats the important info. It must be definite knowledge. the NFHS does not allow for estimating. It must be definite knowledge.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 03:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ignats75
Thats the important info. It must be definite knowledge. the NFHS does not allow for estimating. It must be definite knowledge.
Yes, but definite knowledge of what? hbioteach makes a good point that if a shot is taken, then we have definite knowledge that at least 0.3 had to elapse.

If I have definite knowledge through a closely guarded count that at least 2 seconds came off, can I take 2 seconds off even if I stopped counting before the ball was dead and in reality more than 2 seconds came off?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 10, 2007, 08:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by inigo montoya
I believe that 0.3 can be taken off but I've never faced that situation in a game and am not dogmatic on the point. To me, it constitutes definite knowledge by rule, but others see it differently.
I disagree.

The rule states that a shot following an inbounds pass/jump ball/FT rebound cannot score with 0.3 or less on the clock. It does NOT state that every shot must run at least 0.3 off of the clock (unless you're playing NBA rules).
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
get me out of this mess boiseball Basketball 36 Tue Jan 16, 2007 05:15pm
How about this mess? Indy_Ref Basketball 8 Thu Jun 15, 2006 01:36pm
Did I mess up? Forest Ump Baseball 17 Fri Jun 09, 2006 12:42am
What a mess... ElPanadero Baseball 14 Fri Mar 24, 2006 04:10am
How about this mess! Buckeye12 Baseball 13 Thu Apr 10, 2003 12:56pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1