The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 12:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 265
My fault...

I had a varsity game a couple of days ago and am frustrated about a certain series of events. Here is the scenerio:
A makes bucket, I am going to become the new lead. I get about 8 feet behind the half court and there is a steal by A. As I am running back to fron court there is a quick pass to a player that is directly infront of my view. The players shoots the ball quickly and there is no way I could tell where her feet were. Since the play was in transition I first look to lead for help. He signals a 2 pointer. So I leave it be. A few plays later the official that was center comes over and says that was a 3. Since this was no longer correctable we leave it be. I am a little upset at this point because we had went over in our pregame that if we have a situation that a 2 needs to be a 3 or vice-versa, blow it dead immediately and give the signal to the table. No need to discuss it. The day after the game I run into the center official. He says he has been thinking about that play. He says it was 50% his fault, 30% mine, 20% the leads. I just don't get it. How in the blue hell am I at fault for this one. His reasoning is I shouldn't have gotten straight lined. This was a transition play and it wouldn't have matter what I did I wasn't going to see the players feet. Am I wrong on this. I have just been frustrated by this situation. Any insight would be great.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 12:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
It's the crew's fault. That's all that matters.

However, according to your pregame, your partner should have blown it dead.

Are you really arguing about "%s of fault?"
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 12:57pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
89.8978074189073078% of all percentages are made up on the spot.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 12:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by PIAA REF
I had a varsity game a couple of days ago and am frustrated about a certain series of events. Here is the scenerio:
A makes bucket, I am going to become the new lead. I get about 8 feet behind the half court and there is a steal by A. As I am running back to fron court there is a quick pass to a player that is directly infront of my view. The players shoots the ball quickly and there is no way I could tell where her feet were. Since the play was in transition I first look to lead for help. He signals a 2 pointer. So I leave it be. A few plays later the official that was center comes over and says that was a 3. Since this was no longer correctable we leave it be. I am a little upset at this point because we had went over in our pregame that if we have a situation that a 2 needs to be a 3 or vice-versa, blow it dead immediately and give the signal to the table. No need to discuss it. The day after the game I run into the center official. He says he has been thinking about that play. He says it was 50% his fault, 30% mine, 20% the leads. I just don't get it. How in the blue hell am I at fault for this one. His reasoning is I shouldn't have gotten straight lined. This was a transition play and it wouldn't have matter what I did I wasn't going to see the players feet. Am I wrong on this. I have just been frustrated by this situation. Any insight would be great.
You are at fault for listening to this guy. He knew it was a 3 and he waited too long to blow the whistle. Just let it go. (...now if that isn't the most hypocritical thing I've ever said...)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 02:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Why did the L signal 2? Was he guessing?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 02:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 572
Just for clarification...why was this not correctible? It was an official's error, the official had knowledge of the event, it wasn't a rule that was inadverently set aside....

It wasn't erroneously counting or cancelling a score. Why wouldn't this be able to be corrected up until the official's approval of the final score?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 03:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankHtown
Just for clarification...why was this not correctible? It was an official's error, the official had knowledge of the event, it wasn't a rule that was inadverently set aside....

It wasn't erroneously counting or cancelling a score. Why wouldn't this be able to be corrected up until the official's approval of the final score?
It falls under that heading. You get until the (start of the) second live ball to correct it.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 04:10pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
It falls under that heading. You get until the (start of the) second live ball to correct it.
Is this specified somewhere, bob, or is it just one of those "everybody knows that" things? 'Cause I didn't.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 04:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankHtown
Just for clarification...why was this not correctible? It was an official's error, the official had knowledge of the event, it wasn't a rule that was inadverently set aside....

It wasn't erroneously counting or cancelling a score. Why wouldn't this be able to be corrected up until the official's approval of the final score?
2-10
ART. 1 . . . Officials may correct an error if a rule is inadvertently set aside and results in:
e. Erroneously counting or canceling a score.

ART. 3 . . . If in Article 1e the error is made while the clock is running and the ball dead, it must be recognized by an official before the second live ball.

So, according to article 3, the crew had until the end of the next dead ball after the thrown-in following the suspect try to make the fix. Once that time has come and gone, the points actually awarded, stick.

However, if a scoring mistake is made by the score keeper, then it could be rectified at any other time before final approval. But that isn’t what happened according the OP.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 04:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 277
BTW, my opinion is it wasn’t your fault at all. Either your lead guessed or your center forgot to blow the whistle to fix it.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 02:15pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by PIAA REF
A few plays later the official that was center comes over and says that was a 3. Since this was no longer correctable we leave it be.
Who said this is no longer correctable? If it was a 3 that you know went into the book as a 2, this is a bookkeeping mistake. So correct it.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 02:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
Who said this is no longer correctable? If it was a 3 that you know went into the book as a 2, this is a bookkeeping mistake. So correct it.
I don't believe this is accurate. If it was signaled a two by the officials (which it apparently was), then it falls under the correctable error rule. If it was signaled a three but recorded as two by the bookkeeper, then it was a bookkeeping mistake.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 02:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 265
Not if

Not if it was rule a 2 on the court, as we did. Also I agree with calls being the crew fault I was just a little confused of how I could ever see that it was a 3 with how the play evolved. Oh well, I guess I just need to let this one go. I work with the same official tonight.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 02:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by PIAA REF
Not if it was rule a 2 on the court, as we did. Also I agree with calls being the crew fault I was just a little confused of how I could ever see that it was a 3 with how the play evolved. Oh well, I guess I just need to let this one go. I work with the same official tonight.
Sometimes, you know, the scorers mistake a signal for a 2 to be a 3... creating a bookkeeping mistake. If you know what I mean.
__________________
Are there rocks ahead? If there are, we all be dead!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 05:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by PIAA REF
As I am running back to fron court there is a quick pass to a player that is directly infront of my view. The players shoots the ball quickly and there is no way I could tell where her feet were.
Quote:
Originally Posted by PIAA REF
How in the blue hell am I at fault for this one. His reasoning is I shouldn't have gotten straight lined.
PIAA REF, I might have to agree with your partner on this one. According to your description, you were in the front court as T, the player who shoots is "directly in front" of you, so isn't this play in your primary? Why would you think it's you partner(s)' fault for not watching and making a call in your primary?

We all get straight-lined from time to time, but I try to make sure it happens as infrequently as possible. In this case, maybe you should've been either off the court, or a little wider off the sideline to see that angle. There's a chance the L might look back to help you out, but the C might also help if the player taking the shot is close to that "gray area" in between coverages. I agree with Dan in that if the L is telling you it's a 2, then they definitely see a foot on the line. If the C was certain it was a 3, they should've blown the whistle right there, counted the 3, give the ball to the other team and away we go. But because he didn't come in and blow the whistle right away, maybe he wasn't 100% sure. However, by the time they give you this information, it's too late to change it.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Was it my fault? Jonohah Basketball 9 Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:12am
It's the SCABS fault, It's the SCABS fault your boss Baseball 27 Mon May 08, 2006 12:00am
It's the Scabs fault, It the Scabs fault II your boss Baseball 7 Mon May 01, 2006 07:45pm
Bad fundamentals coaches fault, refs fault, both? bekays Basketball 15 Sun Feb 19, 2006 05:50pm
Is it always our fault? Luv4Asian8 Basketball 18 Mon Sep 22, 2003 04:15pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1