The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 03, 2007, 12:58pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Is the official correct? - Part II

Ok, I tried real hard not to screw this one up as bad.

NFHS Rules

1. Team A has the ball in their front court. Coach B upset with the way his team is playing signals for a time-out. An official grants Team B the time-out. Coach A, unhappy with the call since his team is on an 8-0 run, wants the time-out to be revoked. The official revokes the time-out and gives Team A a throw-in. Is the official correct?


2. In a varsity contest, Team A and Team B are tied at the end of the forth quarter (58-58). At the start of overtime, the timer messes up and puts 6 minutes on the clock. The officials don’t notice the mistake. With 4:55 remaining in overtime and Team A leading Team B 66-58, the referee notices the time is not correct after a violation by Team B. The referee tells the timer to set the clock to 4 minutes and gives the ball to Team A for a throw-in. Team B’s coach is not happy and thinks all points should not count and the overtime should start over with the new time on the clock – the referee disagrees. Is the official correct?


3. Team A has 8 team fouls. A4 fouls B2, which is A4’s fifth foul. A4, upset with the call, shouts and screams at the calling official. A4 is charged with a technical foul. The official reports the foul and the technical to the table. The official also notifies the table that the technical is charged indirectly to the head coach. Is the official correct?


4. Before the opening jump ball, Coach A requests a time-out. The official denies the request. The ball is tossed and is simultaneously controlled by B2 and A5. Coach A requests a time-out. The official denies the request because the jump ball between B2 and A5 has not been completed. Is the official correct?


5. A2 leaps to receive a pass near the end line and while falling out of bounds, throws the ball back into the court. A2 returns inbounds, picks the ball up and starts to dribble. The official calls a violation. Is the official correct?

Last edited by tjones1; Mon Dec 03, 2007 at 01:24pm.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is the official correct? tjones1 Basketball 27 Mon Dec 03, 2007 05:32pm
Official Gear - ASA Official Pants Dakota Softball 10 Wed Apr 12, 2006 11:20am
Part 1 and Part 2 NFHS tests WindyCityBlue Baseball 28 Mon Nov 22, 2004 02:49pm
ncaa exam #4. official rules block!! correct or not jritchie Basketball 4 Fri Oct 29, 2004 04:40pm
High School Official vs NCAA /College Official CLAY Basketball 22 Sat Feb 22, 2003 11:29pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1