The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Is the official correct? - Part II (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/40056-official-correct-part-ii.html)

tjones1 Mon Dec 03, 2007 12:58pm

Is the official correct? - Part II
 
Ok, I tried real hard not to screw this one up as bad.

NFHS Rules

1. Team A has the ball in their front court. Coach B upset with the way his team is playing signals for a time-out. An official grants Team B the time-out. Coach A, unhappy with the call since his team is on an 8-0 run, wants the time-out to be revoked. The official revokes the time-out and gives Team A a throw-in. Is the official correct?


2. In a varsity contest, Team A and Team B are tied at the end of the forth quarter (58-58). At the start of overtime, the timer messes up and puts 6 minutes on the clock. The officials don’t notice the mistake. With 4:55 remaining in overtime and Team A leading Team B 66-58, the referee notices the time is not correct after a violation by Team B. The referee tells the timer to set the clock to 4 minutes and gives the ball to Team A for a throw-in. Team B’s coach is not happy and thinks all points should not count and the overtime should start over with the new time on the clock – the referee disagrees. Is the official correct?


3. Team A has 8 team fouls. A4 fouls B2, which is A4’s fifth foul. A4, upset with the call, shouts and screams at the calling official. A4 is charged with a technical foul. The official reports the foul and the technical to the table. The official also notifies the table that the technical is charged indirectly to the head coach. Is the official correct?


4. Before the opening jump ball, Coach A requests a time-out. The official denies the request. The ball is tossed and is simultaneously controlled by B2 and A5. Coach A requests a time-out. The official denies the request because the jump ball between B2 and A5 has not been completed. Is the official correct?


5. A2 leaps to receive a pass near the end line and while falling out of bounds, throws the ball back into the court. A2 returns inbounds, picks the ball up and starts to dribble. The official calls a violation. Is the official correct?

jdw3018 Mon Dec 03, 2007 01:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1
1. Team A has the ball in their front court. Coach B upset with the way his team is playing signals for a time-out. An official grants Team B the time-out. Coach A, unhappy with the call since his team is on an 8-0 run, wants the time-out to be revoked. The official revokes the time-out and gives Team A a throw-in. Is the official correct?

No

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1
2. In a varsity contest, Team A and Team B are tied at the end of the forth quarter (58-58). At the start of overtime, the timer messes up and puts 6 minutes on the clock. The officials don’t notice the mistake. With 4:55 remaining in overtime and Team A leading Team B 66-58, the referee notices the time is not correct after a violation by Team B. The referee tells the timer to set the clock to 4 minutes and gives the ball to Team A for a throw-in. Team B’s coach is not happy and thinks all points should not count and the overtime should start over with the new time on the clock – the referee disagrees. Is the official correct?

Yes

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1
3. Team A has 8 team fouls. A4 fouls B2, which is A4’s fifth foul. A4, upset with the call, shouts and screams at the calling official. A4 is charged with a technical foul. The official reports the foul and the technical to the table. The official also notifies the table that the technical is charged indirectly to the head coach. Is the official correct?

No

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1
4. Before the opening jump ball, Coach A requests a time-out. The official denies the request. The ball is tossed and is simultaneously controlled by B2 and A5. Coach A requests a time-out. The official denies the request because the jump ball between B2 and A5 has not been completed. Is the official correct?

No

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1
5. A2 leaps to receive a pass near the end line and while falling out of bounds, throws the ball back into the court. A4 returns inbounds, picks the ball up and starts to dribble. The official calls a violation. Is the official correct?

No

Rev.Ref63 Mon Dec 03, 2007 01:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1
2. In a varsity contest, Team A and Team B are tied at the end of the forth quarter (58-58). At the start of overtime, the timer messes up and puts 6 minutes on the clock. The officials don’t notice the mistake. With 4:55 remaining in overtime and Team A leading Team B 66-58, the referee notices the time is not correct after a violation by Team B. The referee tells the timer to set the clock to 4 minutes and gives the ball to Team A for a throw-in. Team B’s coach is not happy and thinks all points should not count and the overtime should start over with the new time on the clock – the referee disagrees. Is the official correct?

Why would the clock be set at 4:00? If 1:05 has run off, wouldn't it be set to 2:55?

PYRef Mon Dec 03, 2007 01:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rev.Ref63
Why would the clock be set at 4:00? If 1:05 has run off, wouldn't it be set to 2:55?

Yes. You have definite knowledge how much time was on the clock and how much ran off. I would reset it to 2:55

Zoochy Mon Dec 03, 2007 01:22pm

5. A2 leaps to receive a pass near the end line and while falling out of bounds, throws the ball back into the court. A4 returns inbounds, picks the ball up and starts to dribble. The official calls a violation. Is the official correct?

A4??? Souldn't it be A2?
If the official has determined that A2 had control of the ball in the air, throws the ball back inbounds and 'A2' returned inbounds then it is a violation. Because A2 had started a dribble by catching and throwing the ball to the ground. A2 returns, Picks up the ball (terminates the dribble). Starts to dribble. Violation! Double Dribble

jdw3018 Mon Dec 03, 2007 01:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rev.Ref63
Why would the clock be set at 4:00? If 1:05 has run off, wouldn't it be set to 2:55?

5.7.3 Sit (a)

tjones1 Mon Dec 03, 2007 01:26pm

Zoo,

Thanks. It was corrected.

As for #3 - See 5.7.3(a)

tjones1 Mon Dec 03, 2007 02:42pm

Missed one (#5) jdw3018.

See 7.1.1 Sit D

jdw3018 Mon Dec 03, 2007 02:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1
Missed one (#5) jdw3018.

See 7.1.1 Sit D

Yeah, I was looking at it strictly from an OOB violation, not even thinking about the illegal dribble. Good question! :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1