The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 28, 2007, 05:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by PYRef
So you have a technical on A1 for slapping the backboard while the try is on the rim, but why wouldn't you count the basket??
Exactly why isn't this basket interference? Count the bucket and penalize the T.....
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 28, 2007, 05:20pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by PYRef
So you have a technical on A1 for slapping the backboard while the try is on the rim, but why wouldn't you count the basket??
Goaltending or Basket Interference has nothing to do slapping the backboard. You must touch the ball to have any GT. And you must touch the ball, net or rim while the ball is in the cylinder area in order to call BI at all. The backboard does not apply (unless the rules change at the NF or NCAA level). The only place this could be seen as a GT call that I am aware of is the NBA level.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 28, 2007, 05:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Slapping the backboard is never BI or goaltending - the only determination is whether the slapping of the backboard was intentional. If it was, T. If not, there is no call.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 28, 2007, 05:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
Goaltending or Basket Interference has nothing to do slapping the backboard. You must touch the ball to have any GT. And you must touch the ball, net or rim while the ball is in the cylinder area in order to call BI at all. The backboard does not apply (unless the rules change at the NF or NCAA level). The only place this could be seen as a GT call that I am aware of is the NBA level.

Peace
So if you jump up and don't slap, but push the backboard and cause it to shake and the ball falls out, you don't have basket interference? I am not saying I'm calling it for the act of slapping itself, but when you slap the backboard, generally it shakes, if the ball comes out how can you not call BI?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 28, 2007, 05:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 600
Actually I'm not completely clear on the original post, did the ball come out or go through?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 28, 2007, 05:51pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbilla
Actually I'm not completely clear on the original post, did the ball come out or go through?
Did not go in.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 28, 2007, 05:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbilla
So if you jump up and don't slap, but push the backboard and cause it to shake and the ball falls out, you don't have basket interference? I am not saying I'm calling it for the act of slapping itself, but when you slap the backboard, generally it shakes, if the ball comes out how can you not call BI?
You can not call BI because there is no provision in the rules for you to call BI.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 28, 2007, 05:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018
You can not call BI because there is no provision in the rules for you to call BI.
I don't have my rulebook with me, what does the BI provision say in regard to causing the basket to move? Again I am not talking about the act of slapping itself, agreed that is not BI.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 28, 2007, 05:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbilla
So if you jump up and don't slap, but push the backboard and cause it to shake and the ball falls out, you don't have basket interference?

The wording from Rule 10-3-5-b says, "Intentionally slapping or striking the backboard or causing the ring to vibrate while a try or tap is in flight or is touching the backboard or is in the basket or in the cylinder above the basket." So I think whether they slap, strike, push, or whatever, it's a T.

There is no provision in the rulebook for you to call BI in this situation.

Look up rule 4-6 for a definition of Basket Interference, and as you read it, keep in mind that the backboard is not considered to be part of the basket.
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 28, 2007, 05:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes
The wording from Rule 10-3-5-b says, "Intentionally slapping or striking the backboard or causing the ring to vibrate while a try or tap is in flight or is touching the backboard or is in the basket or in the cylinder above the basket." So I think whether they slap, strike, push, or whatever, it's a T.

There is no provision in the rulebook for you to call BI in this situation.

Look up rule 4-6 for a definition of Basket Interference, and as you read it, keep in mind that the backboard is not considered to be part of the basket.
There goes my 7-footer example...
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 28, 2007, 05:45pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbilla
So if you jump up and don't slap, but push the backboard and cause it to shake and the ball falls out, you don't have basket interference? I am not saying I'm calling it for the act of slapping itself, but when you slap the backboard, generally it shakes, if the ball comes out how can you not call BI?
Causing the backboard to shake is only a T and is only a T when it is done without trying to purposely block the shot.

You need to refer to the BI and GT rules in Rule 9 and even the Technical Foul provisions in Rule 10. No where will you see this is GT or BI in any way. And as stated after your post, it was unclear if the ball went in. The basket should only count if there was a T called and the ball went in the hoop. You cannot count the basketball because of this.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 28, 2007, 08:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbilla
So if you jump up and don't slap, but push the backboard and cause it to shake and the ball falls out, you don't have basket interference? I am not saying I'm calling it for the act of slapping itself, but when you slap the backboard, generally it shakes, if the ball comes out how can you not call BI?
To add to others' input....it is a T to contact the backboard to gain an advantage....even if it doesn't vibrate. This might be seen by a player grabbing onto the board to hold on if they miss-time their jump for an alley oop....in hopes of still getting the ball....or, in the case of a defender, being near the rim to block an alley opp pass (or shot).
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 28, 2007, 05:41pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by PYRef
So you have a technical on A1 for slapping the backboard while the try is on the rim, but why wouldn't you count the basket??
For all the folks asking this question, I posted the following in another thread, but it may be helpful again:

Goaltending (all 5 must be true to be GT):

1. Must be a try.
2. Must be on the way down.
3. Must be completly outside the cylinder.
4. Must be completely above the rim.
5. Must have a chance to go in.

Basket Interference (if any 1 of these happen, it's BI):

1. Can't touch the ball if it's in the cylinder.
2. Can't touch the basket or ball if it's on or in the basket.
3. Can't touch the ball (even outside the cylinder) after reaching through the basket.
4. If rim is moved, it can't contact the ball before returning to its original position.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 28, 2007, 08:04pm
PYRef
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by PYRef
So you have a technical on A1 for slapping the backboard while the try is on the rim, but why wouldn't you count the basket??

FYI. This question was based on the assumption that the basket was good in the OP. It wasn't clear (or I didn't read it good enough) that the ball never went in.

I knew it wasn't BI or GT. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 28, 2007, 05:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 156
Post

If you were calling a game played under FIBA rules your partner would have been correct to call goal tending.

However, it sounds that you handled the situation correctly and got the play right. I hope you and your partner cracked open the book and went over what the correct application of the rule in your post game.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Again the media sets it straight! LMan Baseball 29 Wed Aug 30, 2006 03:27am
PU/BU Communication on balk call DTQ_Blue Baseball 3 Sat May 20, 2006 12:45pm
straight arm Texoma_LJ Football 4 Mon Jul 04, 2005 09:20am
Straight Up rainmaker Basketball 10 Wed Feb 02, 2005 06:02pm
Straight from the case book bigwes68 Baseball 12 Mon May 31, 2004 03:17am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1