The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   U mayk da cawl (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/39866-u-mayk-da-cawl.html)

M&M Guy Tue Nov 27, 2007 10:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap
Hey, it wasn't in my area!

Liar.

Adam Tue Nov 27, 2007 10:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mkiogima
I think the same rules apply to a coach that apply to a player. If two players are fighting even if we see only one punch thrown, both players are to be disqualified. It doesn't matter who started it or even if the other player was fighting back, both are disqualified.

Really? I strongly disagree. One player walks up and cold-cocks an opponent, knocking the opponent into the bleachers. The fight is stopped immediately by the instigator's teammates.

You gonna disqualify the player who is now sitting in the 2nd row and hasn't yet realized what happened?

Have fun explaining that to your assigner, state powers, and anyone who cares. That's a fast track to a wreck league career.

Adam Tue Nov 27, 2007 10:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
Liar.

Thank you.

Mark Padgett Tue Nov 27, 2007 01:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigdog5142
I think I would just pee my pants

I think you actually have to take your whistle off for this one. :p

refnrev Tue Nov 27, 2007 05:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
NF rules. A1 shooting a 3 pointer. While in the air but before the release, he is fouled by B1. After the release, but before returning to the floor, A1 is also fouled by B2. While the shot is in the air, A2 fouls B3. The ball, while traveling toward the hoop but not yet in the cylinder, is touched by A3. Also before the ball is in the cylinder, B4 grabs the rim and snaps it. The ball goes in. Immediately, Coach B yells out a profanity at you personally and when you turn your head, you discover A4 and B4 are both wearing illegal jerseys and Coach A is out of the box punching Coach B. What's the call(s)?

OK - it sounds silly and it would never happen (probably) but it's a good exercise in knowing and applying rules. Any takers?

_______________________________________

I'm praying for an inadvertent whistle before the shot and we are going to the AP baby!:D

Adam Tue Nov 27, 2007 05:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by refnrev
_______________________________________

I'm praying for an inadvertent whistle before the shot and we are going to the AP baby!:D

Just have faith, rev, I'm sure there was one. You just need to claim it. ;)

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Nov 27, 2007 11:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
NF rules. A1 shooting a 3 pointer. While in the air but before the release, he is fouled by B1. After the release, but before returning to the floor, A1 is also fouled by B2. While the shot is in the air, A2 fouls B3. The ball, while traveling toward the hoop but not yet in the cylinder, is touched by A3. Also before the ball is in the cylinder, B4 grabs the rim and snaps it. The ball goes in. Immediately, Coach B yells out a profanity at you personally and when you turn your head, you discover A4 and B4 are both wearing illegal jerseys and Coach A is out of the box punching Coach B. What's the call(s)?

OK - it sounds silly and it would never happen (probably) but it's a good exercise in knowing and applying rules. Any takers?


Okay, I have stopped taking my medications for a few days and 'The Preacher' and I had a game together tonight. Therefore, I will attempt to make a ruling on Mark's play. Please bear with me while I break down the situation.


The situation in order:

SITUATION:

Play 1) A1 attempts a 3 pt. FG.

Play 2) A1 is fouled by B1 while in the act of shooting (the ball is still in A1's hands).

Play 3) After A1 has released the ball and while still an airborne shooter, A1 is fouled by B2.

Play 4) While A1's try is in the air, A2 fouls B3.

Play 5) While A1's try is still on its way up, the ball is touched by A3.

Play 6) While A1's try is still in the air but outside the basket cylinder, B4 grabs the ring and snaps. The ball goes throw the basket.

Play 7) Head Coach B addresses you in an unsportsmanlike manner.

Play 8) A4 and B4 are wearing illegal jerserys.

Play 9) Head Coach A has left Team A's bench area to punch Head Coach B.



RULING:

Rulings 1, 2, and 3) The fouls by B1 and B2 constitute a false multiple foul. Each foul in a false multiple foul carries it own penalty. See Ruling (6): A1's 3 pt. attempt is successful. Score three points for A1 (See Ruling (6).) and Team A and A1 will be awarded one free throw for B1's foul and one free throw for B2's foul. B1 and B2's fouls are personal fouls and are counted toward their five PF and TF's for disqualification and is counted toward Team B's seven and ten team fouls for the half.

Ruling 4) A2's foul against B3 is a common foul and coupled with B1 and B2's fouls against A1, makes B1, B2, and A2's fouls part of a false double foul. If Team B is in the bonus, B3 will be awarded free throws per the appropriate bonus situation. A2's foul is a personal foul and is counted toward his five PF and TF's for disqualification and is counted toward Team a's seven and ten team fouls for the half. NOTE: Based upon the information given, I have assumed that A2's foul was not a simultaneous foul with B2's foul in Item (3).

Ruling 5) A3's touching of the ball does not affect the status of the ball.

Ruling 6) Based upon the information, B4's actions are not a violation, but it is a technical foul for grabbing the ring. B4's technical foul and is counted toward his five PF and TF's for disqualification and is counted toward Team a's seven and ten team fouls for the half. Team A is awarded two free throws (attempted by any of the five Team A players in the game or any one or two incoming substitutes). Score the 3 pt. field goal. See Rulings (1, 2, and 3).

Ruling 7) Technical foul by Head Coach B. Team A is awarded two free throws (attempted by any of the five Team A players in the game or any one or two incoming substitutes). Head Coach B also loses his coaching box privileges if the game is being played in a state that uses the coaching box. Head Coach B's TF is a direct TF and is counted toward his two direct TF's or three direct and/or indirect TF's for disqualification and toward Team B's seven and ten team fouls for the half.

Ruling 8) A4 and B4's technical fouls are a false double foul and are simultaneous fouls therefore no free throws are awarded to either team. A4 and B4 fouls are counted toward their five PF and TF's for disqualification and is counted toward their team's seven and ten team fouls for the half.

Ruling 9) Head Coach A has committed a flagrant technical foul for unsportsmanlike conduct. Head Coach A is disqualified from further participation and is ejected from the game. Team B s awarded two free throws (attempted by any of the five Team A players in the game or any one or two incoming substitutes). Head Coach A's replacement loses the coaching box privileges if the game is being played in a state that uses the coaching box. Head Coach A's TF is counted toward Team A's seven and ten team fouls for the half.

Order of penalties.

Penalties 1, 2, and 3) A1 is awarded two free throw from Rulings (1, 2, and 3). No players are lined up on the free throw lane.

Penalty 4) If Team B is in the bonus, B3 is awarded free throw(s) with no players lined up on the free throw lane. If Team B is not in the bonus, go to Penalty (5).

Penalty 5) There is no penalty because there was no infraction of the rules. See Ruling (5).

Penalty 6) B4 is is charged with a technical foul for grabbing the ring. Team A is awarded two free throws (attempted by any of the five Team A players in the game or any one or two incoming substitutes). No players are lined up along the free throw lane. See Ruling (5).

Penalty 7) Team A is awarded two free throws (attempted by any of the five Team A players in the game or any one or two incoming substitutes). No players are lined up along the free throw lane.

Penalty 8) Simultaneous TF's, go to Penalty (9). BUT, B4 is disqualfied because his TF is his second one of the game.

Penalty 9) Team B is awarded two free throws (attempted by any of the five Team B players in the game or any one or two incoming substitutes). No players are lined up along the free throw lane. And then Team B is awarded a throw-in at the divisioin line opposite the Scorer's/Timer's Table.

THE END!!


MTD, Sr.

Adam Wed Nov 28, 2007 10:01am

That's the MTD we've all come to know.

jdw3018 Wed Nov 28, 2007 10:05am

Two questions, Mark. One, why would you construe that a false multiple rather than a multiple? I see two fouls on an airborne shooter being "approximately" at the same time, as the rule says.

Secondly, the touching of the shot by A3 does impact the try if he is inside the 3-point line and/or intentional.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Nov 28, 2007 12:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018
Two questions, Mark. One, why would you construe that a false multiple rather than a multiple? I see two fouls on an airborne shooter being "approximately" at the same time, as the rule says.

Secondly, the touching of the shot by A3 does impact the try if he is inside the 3-point line and/or intentional.



dw3018:

QUESTION 1:

Play 2) A1 is fouled by B1 while in the act of shooting (the ball is still in A1's hands).

Play 3) After A1 has released the ball and while still an airborne shooter, A1 is fouled by B2.

NFHS R4-S19-A11: A mutliple foul is a situation in which two or more teammates commit personal fouls against the same oppoonent at approximately the same time.

NFHS R4-S19-A12: A false multiple foul is a situation in which there are two or more fouls by the same team and the last foul is committed before the clock is started following the first, and at least one of the atributes of a multiple foul is absent.

B1 and B2 personal fouls against A1 are a false multiple foul is because the fouls were not approximately at the same time. B1's foul against A1 occured while A1 still had the ball in his hands, and B2's foul against A1 occured after the ball had left A1's hand. That is a clear indication that the fouls did not occur approximately at the same time.


QUESTION 2:

Play 5) While A1's try is still on its way up, the ball is touched by A3.

NFHS R4-S41-A4: The try ends when the throw is successful, when it is certain the throw is unsuccessful, when the thrown ball touches the floor or when the ball becomes dead.

NFHS Casebook Play 4.41.4 SITUATION A: While the ball is in flight on a try for goal by A1: (a) B1 touches the ball and then time expires; or (b) time expires and then B1 touches the ball. The ball continues in flight and enters Team A's basket. RULING: The goal is scored in both (a) and (b), as B1's touching did not cause the try to end. However if B1's toucing is either goaltending or basketball intereference, the ball becomes dead and two points will be awarded. (See NFHS R6-S7, Exception a, and NFHS R9-S11 & S12.)

Also see Casebook Play SITUATION 5.2.1 C (c).

Per rule it does not matter who touches the ball during the try, the ball remains live as long as the touching is neither basketball interference nor goal tending. And if the try was taken from behind the three point arc and the ball still goes through the basket, then three points are scored.

MTD, Sr.

M&M Guy Wed Nov 28, 2007 12:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Per rule it does not matter who touches the ball during the try, the ball remains live as long as the touching is neither basketball interference nor goal tending. And if the try was taken from behind the three point arc and the ball still goes through the basket, then three points are scored.

MTD, Sr.

Mark - what about 5-2-1?

Mark Padgett Wed Nov 28, 2007 12:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
Mark - what about 5-2-1?

That would be 2.

Oh - you were asking the "other" Mark and wanted a real answer. Sorry.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Nov 28, 2007 12:55pm

I have edited my original post as of 12:29pmEST today. I had to correct Rulings (6) and (8) as well as Penalties (6) and (8).

When I made my original post I was very tired from carrying 'The Preacher' all night in a girls' H.S. jr. varsity game (six minute quarters). The longest 24 minutes of my life. :D

Also it was the most boring game that Daryl and I had had in a very long time. While the game was a blow out. There were no crazy plays that required Daryl to bail me out. And the players, coaches, and fans from both schools were wonderful. These type of games are getting far and few between.

MTD, Sr.

M&M Guy Wed Nov 28, 2007 12:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
That would be 2.

Oh - you were asking the "other" Mark and wanted a real answer. Sorry.

Uh, oh.

Will the <B>real</B> Mark please stand up?

<font size="1">(I'll let the two of you wrestle over that one.)</font size>

M&M Guy Wed Nov 28, 2007 01:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
M&M and Mark:

I stand corrected concerning the scoring of the goal. I will re-edit my post immediately. Please see my post immediatly above this one.

MTD, Sr.

3 corrections in one day?!? :eek:

It must've been a heck've mind-numbing game... :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1