The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   U mayk da cawl (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/39866-u-mayk-da-cawl.html)

just another ref Sat Dec 08, 2007 10:51pm

I think I got it.

Just call one of those thing you named (doesn't matter which one) that was
AGAINST US and ignore all those other things which were AGAINST THEM. Because you always call stuff WHEN WE DO IT, but you never see anything WHEN THEY DO IT, even though THEY'VE BEEN DOING IT ALL NIGHT.


The above philosophy is held mainly, but not exclusively, by followers of the team which is behind, because WE ALWAYS LOSE WHEN THOSE GUYS CALL OUR GAMES.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sat Dec 08, 2007 11:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
I think I got it.

Just call one of those thing you named (doesn't matter which one) that was
AGAINST US and ignore all those other things which were AGAINST THEM. Because you always call stuff WHEN WE DO IT, but you never see anything WHEN THEY DO IT, even though THEY'VE BEEN DOING IT ALL NIGHT.


The above philosophy is held mainly, but not exclusively, by followers of the team which is behind, because WE ALWAYS LOSE WHEN THOSE GUYS CALL OUR GAMES.



:confused:

MTD, Sr.

jdw3018 Sat Dec 08, 2007 11:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
NFHS Casebook Play 4.19.12 SITUATION: B1 fouls airborne A1 who is in the act of shooting. Before airborne shooter A1 returns one foot to the floor, he/she is fouled by B2 who has moved into A1's landing area. The ball: (a) does; or (b) does not, enter the basket. RULING: This is a false multiple foul and each foul carries its own penalty. In (a), the goal is counted and A1 is awarded one free throw for each foul. In (b), A1 is awarded two free throws for each foul. R10-S6, Penalty 6 and 7. (My note: I do not know why Penalty 6 is referenced; it should be Penalty 2 and 5.)

So the correct Ruling is a false multiple foul with A1 shooting either four or six free throws.

Well, harumph. Now I have to admit you were right and also raise my eyebrow at the use of the term "approximately" in the rule book.

I really wish they'd define it, because anything that happens in less than a second's time would constitute approximately to me...though the NFHS is obviously going to disagree with me. :D

just another ref Sat Dec 08, 2007 11:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
:confused:

MTD, Sr.


Been listening to the fans. They tend to have universal solutions for everything.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1