The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   U mayk da cawl (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/39866-u-mayk-da-cawl.html)

Mark Padgett Mon Nov 26, 2007 01:05pm

U mayk da cawl
 
NF rules. A1 shooting a 3 pointer. While in the air but before the release, he is fouled by B1. After the release, but before returning to the floor, A1 is also fouled by B2. While the shot is in the air, A2 fouls B3. The ball, while traveling toward the hoop but not yet in the cylinder, is touched by A3. Also before the ball is in the cylinder, B4 grabs the rim and snaps it. The ball goes in. Immediately, Coach B yells out a profanity at you personally and when you turn your head, you discover A4 and B4 are both wearing illegal jerseys and Coach A is out of the box punching Coach B. What's the call(s)?

OK - it sounds silly and it would never happen (probably) but it's a good exercise in knowing and applying rules. Any takers?

rainmaker Mon Nov 26, 2007 01:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
NF rules. A1 shooting a 3 pointer. While in the air but before the release, he is fouled by B1. After the release, but before returning to the floor, A1 is also fouled by B2. While the shot is in the air, A2 fouls B3. The ball, while traveling toward the hoop but not yet in the cylinder, is touched by A3. Also before the ball is in the cylinder, B4 grabs the rim and snaps it. The ball goes in. Immediately, Coach B yells out a profanity at you personally and when you turn your head, you discover A4 and B4 are both wearing illegal jerseys and Coach A is out of the box punching Coach B. What's the call(s)?

OK - it sounds silly and it would never happen (probably) but it's a good exercise in knowing and applying rules. Any takers?

My call is: Oh, no a clock error!! THere will be a suspended game with both teams going to their locker rooms while we tear the clock down off the wall and fix it. Meantime, some other refs will be called in to finish the game, since I have to hurry off to see my kid get his Nobel Prize.

jdw3018 Mon Nov 26, 2007 01:09pm

Did A3 touch the ball before or after it reached the top of its arc? It's very critical to the discussion...

Dan_ref Mon Nov 26, 2007 01:11pm

Reminds me of the last time I worked with Chuck at camp a couple of years ago. His call then was for the crew to go have lunch and let A & B figure it out for themselves. He must have impressed someone with it...

jdw3018 Mon Nov 26, 2007 01:22pm

I'll give it a go, just for fun:

If A3 inadvertantly touches prior to the top of the arc:

The three-point try is successful.
A1 shoots 2 FTs (lane cleared) - one for each of the multiple fouls.
If B is in the bonus, B3 gets a one-and-one or two shots if the double bonus (lane cleared).
Technical foul on B4 for grabbing the rim. A shoots two free throws.
Direct technical foul on Coach B for the profanity. A shoots two free throws.
Flagrant technical on Coach A, ejected. B shoots two free throws, and gets the ball at the division line.

If A3 touches intentionally or after the ball has reached the top of its arc:

Disallow the 3-point basket
A1 shoots 4 FTs - two for each of the multiple fouls.
The remainder of the infractions are penalized as above.

Oh, and the illegal jerseys cannot be penalized until A4 and/or B4 leave and re-enter the game.

What did I miss?

Indianaref Mon Nov 26, 2007 01:23pm

Tell each coach "Thank you" and play on.

mkiogima Mon Nov 26, 2007 01:31pm

Assess a foul to B1, B2, and A2. Basket does not count because A2's offensive foul immediately ends the try, which also makes A3 and B4's actions null. Technical fouls on Coach B (profanity), A4 and B4 (illegal jerseys), and Coach A (out of the box). Coach A and Coach B are also disqualified from game (fighting). Four free throws to each team with Team B getting the ball for inbounds at half court. While my partner sits in the corner sobbing like a lost school girl.

You may now proceed with correcting me.

rainmaker Mon Nov 26, 2007 01:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mkiogima
Assess a foul to B1, B2, and A2. Basket does not count because A2's offensive foul immediately ends the try, which also makes A3 and B4's actions null. Technical fouls on Coach B (profanity), A4 and B4 (illegal jerseys), and Coach A (out of the box). Coach A and Coach B are also disqualified from game (fighting). Four free throws to each team with Team B getting the ball for inbounds at half court. While my partner sits in the corner sobbing like a lost school girl.

You may now proceed with correcting me.

You've got a couple of small errors in here, but the big one is reading any thread that Padgett starts. That's enough to get you thrown out of your association for life!

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mon Nov 26, 2007 01:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
NF rules. A1 shooting a 3 pointer. While in the air but before the release, he is fouled by B1. After the release, but before returning to the floor, A1 is also fouled by B2. While the shot is in the air, A2 fouls B3. The ball, while traveling toward the hoop but not yet in the cylinder, is touched by A3. Also before the ball is in the cylinder, B4 grabs the rim and snaps it. The ball goes in. Immediately, Coach B yells out a profanity at you personally and when you turn your head, you discover A4 and B4 are both wearing illegal jerseys and Coach A is out of the box punching Coach B. What's the call(s)?

OK - it sounds silly and it would never happen (probably) but it's a good exercise in knowing and applying rules. Any takers?


Mark:

Are you off your meds again? :D

MTD, Sr.

jdw3018 Mon Nov 26, 2007 01:35pm

A2's foul does not end the try. A4 and B4 cannot be penalized for illegal jerseys because the ball became live after they were in the game. I won't disqualify Coach B, if he's just gettin punched on. If he's fighting back, then I'll have to.

At least, that's what I think...

mkiogima Mon Nov 26, 2007 01:59pm

You are right about the jerseys, I missed that one.

I think the same rules apply to a coach that apply to a player. If two players are fighting even if we see only one punch thrown, both players are to be disqualified. It doesn't matter who started it or even if the other player was fighting back, both are disqualified.

I wasn't entirely sure on wether or not an offensive foul immediately ends a try, I had a fifty-fifty shot on that one and I went with the least amount of work. I guess I'll have to go back and study the rule book.

Good review for when the HS season starts.

truerookie Mon Nov 26, 2007 02:01pm

[QUOTE=Mark Padgett]NF rules. A1 shooting a 3 pointer. While in the air but before the release, he is fouled by B1. After the release, but before returning to the floor, A1 is also fouled by B2. While the shot is in the air, A2 fouls B3. The ball, while traveling toward the hoop but not yet in the cylinder, is touched by A3. Also before the ball is in the cylinder, B4 grabs the rim and snaps it. The ball goes in. Immediately, Coach B yells out a profanity at you personally and when you turn your head, Immediately, Coach B yells out a profanity at you personally and when you turn your head and Coach A is out of the box punching Coach B. What's the call(s)?

A1 shooting a 3 pointer. While in the air but before the release, he is fouled by B1. After the release, but before returning to the floor, A1 is also fouled by B2. [B](False Multiple Foul)[/B] penalize accordingly.

While the shot is in the air, A2 fouls B3. Common Foul ball is still live

The ball, while traveling toward the hoop but not yet in the cylinder, is touched by A3. The three attempt turns into a two unless A3 is behind the three point line.
Also before the ball is in the cylinder, B4 grabs the rim and snaps it. The ball goes in. Technical foul; score the basket for BI two points Team A shoots two for grasping of the rim
Immediately, Coach B yells out a profanity at you personally and when you turn your head. Unsporting Technical Two shoots for Team B

you discover A4 and B4 are both wearing illegal jerseys. Team A will shot 2 for the illegal jersey; Team B will shoot 2 for the illegal jersey.
and Coach A is out of the box punching Coach B. Double flagrant technical with both coaches being ejected for fighting. No free throws; Two free throws for team b for coach A being out of the box

So, I have team a shooting 4 free throws for team B be infractions;
I have team B shooting 6 free throws for team A infractions.

I have A-1 shooting 2 free throws for the foul committed by B1 because of the touching of the ball by A3; shooting 2 for the foul by B2 before returning to the floor fouling an airbourne shooter.

B's ball at division line for throw-in.

I have nothing else better to do so this is my call. :eek:

jdw3018 Mon Nov 26, 2007 02:17pm

Since I have nothing better to do, I'll give you my thoughts on your call: :D
Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie
A1 shooting a 3 pointer. While in the air but before the release, he is fouled by B1. After the release, but before returning to the floor, A1 is also fouled by B2. [B](False Multiple Foul)[/B] penalize accordingly.I don't see this as false. Two fouls on an airborne shooter constitute "approximately the same time" in my opinion.

While the shot is in the air, A2 fouls B3. Common Foul ball is still live

The ball, while traveling toward the hoop but not yet in the cylinder, is touched by A3. The three attempt turns into a two unless A3 is behind the three point line.Good catch. I argue it matters a lot whether the touching was intentional and/or while on the way down, as either would end the try and disallow the basket.

Also before the ball is in the cylinder, B4 grabs the rim and snaps it. The ball goes in. Technical foul; score the basket for BI two points

Team A shoots two for grasping of the rim

Immediately, Coach B yells out a profanity at you personally and when you turn your head. Unsporting Technical Two shoots for Team BGuessing you mean Team A here, as the T was on B.

you discover A4 and B4 are both wearing illegal jerseys. Team A will shot 2 for the illegal jersey; Team B will shoot 2 for the illegal jersey. You can't penalize for the illegal jerseys, as you can only penalize when they enter the game (or starters at the beginning of the game).

and Coach A is out of the box punching Coach B. Double flagrant technical with both coaches being ejected for fighting. No free throws; Two free throws for team b for coach A being out of the box I'm only ejecting B if he's actually engaged in the fight.

So, I have team a shooting 4 free throws for team B be infractions;
I have team B shooting 6 free throws for team A infractions.

I have A-1 shooting 2 free throws for the foul committed by B1 because of the touching of the ball by A3; shooting 2 for the foul by B2 before returning to the floor fouling an airbourne shooter. I'm on the multiple foul ruling here, which would give 1, or 2, FTs for each foul based on whether the try was successful or not and whether it was a 3-pointer or not.

B's ball at division line for throw-in.

I have nothing else better to do so this is my call. :eek:

Whew.

JugglingReferee Mon Nov 26, 2007 02:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
NF rules. A1 shooting a 3 pointer. While in the air but before the release, he is fouled by B1. After the release, but before returning to the floor, A1 is also fouled by B2. While the shot is in the air, A2 fouls B3. The ball, while traveling toward the hoop but not yet in the cylinder, is touched by A3. Also before the ball is in the cylinder, B4 grabs the rim and snaps it. The ball goes in. Immediately, Coach B yells out a profanity at you personally and when you turn your head, you discover A4 and B4 are both wearing illegal jerseys and Coach A is out of the box punching Coach B. What's the call(s)?

OK - it sounds silly and it would never happen (probably) but it's a good exercise in knowing and applying rules. Any takers?

It's a DO-OVER! :D

jdw3018 Mon Nov 26, 2007 02:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
It's a DO-OVER! :D

Dang it. That's way better than my attempt.

Sorry for the euphemism.

bigdog5142 Mon Nov 26, 2007 02:48pm

If this happened in one of my games...I think I would just pee my pants, cry and then leave the gym. ;)

Adam Mon Nov 26, 2007 02:52pm

Two words.

Fetal position.

Mark Padgett Mon Nov 26, 2007 03:06pm

Oh yeah - I forgot to mention that three players from each team were dunking during warmups. And - the game is not in Kansas.

To answer an earlier question, the ball was touched on its downward arch.

Another oh yeah - B4 is wearing taped nipple rings, but they're medic alert. :eek:

grunewar Mon Nov 26, 2007 03:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
Another oh yeah - B4 is wearing taped nipple rings, but they're medic alert. :eek:

And I suppose we noticed THIS after B4 shakes the rim and while he was changing his illegal shirt in the confines of the court, correct?

I'm going back to my rec league games!

Adam Mon Nov 26, 2007 04:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by grunewar
And I suppose we noticed THIS after B4 shakes the rim and while he was changing his illegal shirt in the confines of the court, correct?

I'm going back to my rec league games!

Careful, it's more likely to happen there. ;)

Mark Dexter Mon Nov 26, 2007 04:30pm

If this situation ever occurred in one of my games, I'd hand my check back to the site administrator, pick up my bag and go home.

rainmaker Mon Nov 26, 2007 04:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
It's a DO-OVER! :D

Thank you for the best response of the thread.

sfd Mon Nov 26, 2007 05:29pm

why not?
 
OK, I've been reading here a long time, calling games for 2 years, and now posting a reply.

I enjoy looking around here as there is sometimes good information and sometimes good fun poking.

So, taking sections of this and assuming any one of them could happen, here is what I wonder.

How about A1 doesn't get FTs because his shot ended when touched by A4(or was it A3?) Unless in the bonus
Well, not really ended, but became a pass, right?

And why does A4 (or A3)'s touching matter if it was upward or on the way down? If it's not in the cylinder, is it not the same as an 'alley-oop'? I have seen several passes like this that look like an attempt until the teammate catches it.

Other than that, I heard an inadvertant whistle right before all this started. Throw out everybody who's not playing nice and give A the ball at POI.

Camron Rust Mon Nov 26, 2007 05:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by sfd
How about A1 doesn't get FTs because his shot ended when touched by A4(or was it A3?) Unless in the bonus
Well, not really ended, but became a pass, right?


If A1 was in the act of shooting when fouled, it doesn't matter what happens after that. A1 is not even required to release the ball...the foul may prevent the release.
Quote:

Originally Posted by sfd
And why does A4 (or A3)'s touching matter if it was upward or on the way down? If it's not in the cylinder, is it not the same as an 'alley-oop'? I have seen several passes like this that look like an attempt until the teammate catches it.

On the way down and has a chance to go in...GT. Yes, some "alley-oops" are technically GT...but rarely (never) called. Usually, you can tell pass/try as passes usually have a flatter trajectory and are released in a completely different way.

sfd Mon Nov 26, 2007 05:41pm

Ok, I'll go with that. But then the basket shouldn't count at all, regardless of if it went in or where A1s teammate touched it, and A1 gets 3FT. The shot remains live after the foul but should end when touched by a teammate. Only if B touched it (GT) then it would be scored.

Adam Mon Nov 26, 2007 05:41pm

Why not call these, though, since this is a time when the defense is prevented from touching the ball?

Camron Rust Mon Nov 26, 2007 05:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie
A1 shooting a 3 pointer. While in the air but before the release, he is fouled by B1. After the release, but before returning to the floor, A1 is also fouled by B2. [B](False Multiple Foul)[/b] penalize accordingly.

Nope...actual multiple foul (approximatley the same time...don't split timing hairs in multiple/double fouls).
Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie

The ball, while traveling toward the hoop but not yet in the cylinder, is touched by A3. The three attempt turns into a two unless A3 is behind the three point line.

Also before the ball is in the cylinder, B4 grabs the rim and snaps it. The ball goes in. Technical foul; score the basket for BI two points

If A3's prior touch was GT, then there is no BI on B. In fact, there is no BI on B at all if the rim returns to it's normal position before the ball gets there.
Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie
you discover A4 and B4 are both wearing illegal jerseys. Team A will shot 2 for the illegal jersey; Team B will shoot 2 for the illegal jersey.

Not at this time...only penalized when entering/reentering.
Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie
and Coach A is out of the box punching Coach B. Double flagrant technical with both coaches being ejected for fighting. No free throws; Two free throws for team b for coach A being out of the box

Only a T on coach A. There is no rule against being hit. Unless you can tell me what rule coach B violated, there is no T on coach B. Fighting doesn't necessarily take two people....it's an attempt to strike another person.

Edit.... The only other way to be charged with fighting is to do something which provokes a fight...could be words, getures, etc. However, breathing is not a qualifying provocation.

Back In The Saddle Mon Nov 26, 2007 07:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mkiogima
I think the same rules apply to a coach that apply to a player. If two players are fighting even if we see only one punch thrown, both players are to be disqualified. It doesn't matter who started it or even if the other player was fighting back, both are disqualified.

I guess it depends on how you define a fight. From your description it sounds like you're saying that if a single punch is thrown, both players are automatically DQ'd. I really hope that's the case, because I've got a bunch of guys at the end of my bench who are more than willing to throw a punch at your All-Americans to get them DQ'd for fighting. I think I'm on to something here ;)

Mark Padgett Mon Nov 26, 2007 08:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mkiogima
If two players are fighting even if we see only one punch thrown, both players are to be disqualified. It doesn't matter who started it or even if the other player was fighting back, both are disqualified.

So if two guys are walking down the street and one comes up to the other totally unprovoked and punches him in the face, knocks him unconscious and then stands over him until the police arrive, they're both guilty of assault?

Huh? :confused:

26 Year Gap Mon Nov 26, 2007 09:03pm

Hey, it wasn't in my area!

M&M Guy Tue Nov 27, 2007 10:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap
Hey, it wasn't in my area!

Liar.

Adam Tue Nov 27, 2007 10:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mkiogima
I think the same rules apply to a coach that apply to a player. If two players are fighting even if we see only one punch thrown, both players are to be disqualified. It doesn't matter who started it or even if the other player was fighting back, both are disqualified.

Really? I strongly disagree. One player walks up and cold-cocks an opponent, knocking the opponent into the bleachers. The fight is stopped immediately by the instigator's teammates.

You gonna disqualify the player who is now sitting in the 2nd row and hasn't yet realized what happened?

Have fun explaining that to your assigner, state powers, and anyone who cares. That's a fast track to a wreck league career.

Adam Tue Nov 27, 2007 10:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
Liar.

Thank you.

Mark Padgett Tue Nov 27, 2007 01:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigdog5142
I think I would just pee my pants

I think you actually have to take your whistle off for this one. :p

refnrev Tue Nov 27, 2007 05:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
NF rules. A1 shooting a 3 pointer. While in the air but before the release, he is fouled by B1. After the release, but before returning to the floor, A1 is also fouled by B2. While the shot is in the air, A2 fouls B3. The ball, while traveling toward the hoop but not yet in the cylinder, is touched by A3. Also before the ball is in the cylinder, B4 grabs the rim and snaps it. The ball goes in. Immediately, Coach B yells out a profanity at you personally and when you turn your head, you discover A4 and B4 are both wearing illegal jerseys and Coach A is out of the box punching Coach B. What's the call(s)?

OK - it sounds silly and it would never happen (probably) but it's a good exercise in knowing and applying rules. Any takers?

_______________________________________

I'm praying for an inadvertent whistle before the shot and we are going to the AP baby!:D

Adam Tue Nov 27, 2007 05:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by refnrev
_______________________________________

I'm praying for an inadvertent whistle before the shot and we are going to the AP baby!:D

Just have faith, rev, I'm sure there was one. You just need to claim it. ;)

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Nov 27, 2007 11:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
NF rules. A1 shooting a 3 pointer. While in the air but before the release, he is fouled by B1. After the release, but before returning to the floor, A1 is also fouled by B2. While the shot is in the air, A2 fouls B3. The ball, while traveling toward the hoop but not yet in the cylinder, is touched by A3. Also before the ball is in the cylinder, B4 grabs the rim and snaps it. The ball goes in. Immediately, Coach B yells out a profanity at you personally and when you turn your head, you discover A4 and B4 are both wearing illegal jerseys and Coach A is out of the box punching Coach B. What's the call(s)?

OK - it sounds silly and it would never happen (probably) but it's a good exercise in knowing and applying rules. Any takers?


Okay, I have stopped taking my medications for a few days and 'The Preacher' and I had a game together tonight. Therefore, I will attempt to make a ruling on Mark's play. Please bear with me while I break down the situation.


The situation in order:

SITUATION:

Play 1) A1 attempts a 3 pt. FG.

Play 2) A1 is fouled by B1 while in the act of shooting (the ball is still in A1's hands).

Play 3) After A1 has released the ball and while still an airborne shooter, A1 is fouled by B2.

Play 4) While A1's try is in the air, A2 fouls B3.

Play 5) While A1's try is still on its way up, the ball is touched by A3.

Play 6) While A1's try is still in the air but outside the basket cylinder, B4 grabs the ring and snaps. The ball goes throw the basket.

Play 7) Head Coach B addresses you in an unsportsmanlike manner.

Play 8) A4 and B4 are wearing illegal jerserys.

Play 9) Head Coach A has left Team A's bench area to punch Head Coach B.



RULING:

Rulings 1, 2, and 3) The fouls by B1 and B2 constitute a false multiple foul. Each foul in a false multiple foul carries it own penalty. See Ruling (6): A1's 3 pt. attempt is successful. Score three points for A1 (See Ruling (6).) and Team A and A1 will be awarded one free throw for B1's foul and one free throw for B2's foul. B1 and B2's fouls are personal fouls and are counted toward their five PF and TF's for disqualification and is counted toward Team B's seven and ten team fouls for the half.

Ruling 4) A2's foul against B3 is a common foul and coupled with B1 and B2's fouls against A1, makes B1, B2, and A2's fouls part of a false double foul. If Team B is in the bonus, B3 will be awarded free throws per the appropriate bonus situation. A2's foul is a personal foul and is counted toward his five PF and TF's for disqualification and is counted toward Team a's seven and ten team fouls for the half. NOTE: Based upon the information given, I have assumed that A2's foul was not a simultaneous foul with B2's foul in Item (3).

Ruling 5) A3's touching of the ball does not affect the status of the ball.

Ruling 6) Based upon the information, B4's actions are not a violation, but it is a technical foul for grabbing the ring. B4's technical foul and is counted toward his five PF and TF's for disqualification and is counted toward Team a's seven and ten team fouls for the half. Team A is awarded two free throws (attempted by any of the five Team A players in the game or any one or two incoming substitutes). Score the 3 pt. field goal. See Rulings (1, 2, and 3).

Ruling 7) Technical foul by Head Coach B. Team A is awarded two free throws (attempted by any of the five Team A players in the game or any one or two incoming substitutes). Head Coach B also loses his coaching box privileges if the game is being played in a state that uses the coaching box. Head Coach B's TF is a direct TF and is counted toward his two direct TF's or three direct and/or indirect TF's for disqualification and toward Team B's seven and ten team fouls for the half.

Ruling 8) A4 and B4's technical fouls are a false double foul and are simultaneous fouls therefore no free throws are awarded to either team. A4 and B4 fouls are counted toward their five PF and TF's for disqualification and is counted toward their team's seven and ten team fouls for the half.

Ruling 9) Head Coach A has committed a flagrant technical foul for unsportsmanlike conduct. Head Coach A is disqualified from further participation and is ejected from the game. Team B s awarded two free throws (attempted by any of the five Team A players in the game or any one or two incoming substitutes). Head Coach A's replacement loses the coaching box privileges if the game is being played in a state that uses the coaching box. Head Coach A's TF is counted toward Team A's seven and ten team fouls for the half.

Order of penalties.

Penalties 1, 2, and 3) A1 is awarded two free throw from Rulings (1, 2, and 3). No players are lined up on the free throw lane.

Penalty 4) If Team B is in the bonus, B3 is awarded free throw(s) with no players lined up on the free throw lane. If Team B is not in the bonus, go to Penalty (5).

Penalty 5) There is no penalty because there was no infraction of the rules. See Ruling (5).

Penalty 6) B4 is is charged with a technical foul for grabbing the ring. Team A is awarded two free throws (attempted by any of the five Team A players in the game or any one or two incoming substitutes). No players are lined up along the free throw lane. See Ruling (5).

Penalty 7) Team A is awarded two free throws (attempted by any of the five Team A players in the game or any one or two incoming substitutes). No players are lined up along the free throw lane.

Penalty 8) Simultaneous TF's, go to Penalty (9). BUT, B4 is disqualfied because his TF is his second one of the game.

Penalty 9) Team B is awarded two free throws (attempted by any of the five Team B players in the game or any one or two incoming substitutes). No players are lined up along the free throw lane. And then Team B is awarded a throw-in at the divisioin line opposite the Scorer's/Timer's Table.

THE END!!


MTD, Sr.

Adam Wed Nov 28, 2007 10:01am

That's the MTD we've all come to know.

jdw3018 Wed Nov 28, 2007 10:05am

Two questions, Mark. One, why would you construe that a false multiple rather than a multiple? I see two fouls on an airborne shooter being "approximately" at the same time, as the rule says.

Secondly, the touching of the shot by A3 does impact the try if he is inside the 3-point line and/or intentional.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Nov 28, 2007 12:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018
Two questions, Mark. One, why would you construe that a false multiple rather than a multiple? I see two fouls on an airborne shooter being "approximately" at the same time, as the rule says.

Secondly, the touching of the shot by A3 does impact the try if he is inside the 3-point line and/or intentional.



dw3018:

QUESTION 1:

Play 2) A1 is fouled by B1 while in the act of shooting (the ball is still in A1's hands).

Play 3) After A1 has released the ball and while still an airborne shooter, A1 is fouled by B2.

NFHS R4-S19-A11: A mutliple foul is a situation in which two or more teammates commit personal fouls against the same oppoonent at approximately the same time.

NFHS R4-S19-A12: A false multiple foul is a situation in which there are two or more fouls by the same team and the last foul is committed before the clock is started following the first, and at least one of the atributes of a multiple foul is absent.

B1 and B2 personal fouls against A1 are a false multiple foul is because the fouls were not approximately at the same time. B1's foul against A1 occured while A1 still had the ball in his hands, and B2's foul against A1 occured after the ball had left A1's hand. That is a clear indication that the fouls did not occur approximately at the same time.


QUESTION 2:

Play 5) While A1's try is still on its way up, the ball is touched by A3.

NFHS R4-S41-A4: The try ends when the throw is successful, when it is certain the throw is unsuccessful, when the thrown ball touches the floor or when the ball becomes dead.

NFHS Casebook Play 4.41.4 SITUATION A: While the ball is in flight on a try for goal by A1: (a) B1 touches the ball and then time expires; or (b) time expires and then B1 touches the ball. The ball continues in flight and enters Team A's basket. RULING: The goal is scored in both (a) and (b), as B1's touching did not cause the try to end. However if B1's toucing is either goaltending or basketball intereference, the ball becomes dead and two points will be awarded. (See NFHS R6-S7, Exception a, and NFHS R9-S11 & S12.)

Also see Casebook Play SITUATION 5.2.1 C (c).

Per rule it does not matter who touches the ball during the try, the ball remains live as long as the touching is neither basketball interference nor goal tending. And if the try was taken from behind the three point arc and the ball still goes through the basket, then three points are scored.

MTD, Sr.

M&M Guy Wed Nov 28, 2007 12:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Per rule it does not matter who touches the ball during the try, the ball remains live as long as the touching is neither basketball interference nor goal tending. And if the try was taken from behind the three point arc and the ball still goes through the basket, then three points are scored.

MTD, Sr.

Mark - what about 5-2-1?

Mark Padgett Wed Nov 28, 2007 12:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
Mark - what about 5-2-1?

That would be 2.

Oh - you were asking the "other" Mark and wanted a real answer. Sorry.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Nov 28, 2007 12:55pm

I have edited my original post as of 12:29pmEST today. I had to correct Rulings (6) and (8) as well as Penalties (6) and (8).

When I made my original post I was very tired from carrying 'The Preacher' all night in a girls' H.S. jr. varsity game (six minute quarters). The longest 24 minutes of my life. :D

Also it was the most boring game that Daryl and I had had in a very long time. While the game was a blow out. There were no crazy plays that required Daryl to bail me out. And the players, coaches, and fans from both schools were wonderful. These type of games are getting far and few between.

MTD, Sr.

M&M Guy Wed Nov 28, 2007 12:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
That would be 2.

Oh - you were asking the "other" Mark and wanted a real answer. Sorry.

Uh, oh.

Will the <B>real</B> Mark please stand up?

<font size="1">(I'll let the two of you wrestle over that one.)</font size>

M&M Guy Wed Nov 28, 2007 01:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
M&M and Mark:

I stand corrected concerning the scoring of the goal. I will re-edit my post immediately. Please see my post immediatly above this one.

MTD, Sr.

3 corrections in one day?!? :eek:

It must've been a heck've mind-numbing game... :D

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Nov 28, 2007 01:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
3 corrections in one day?!? :eek:

It must've been a heck've mind-numbing game... :D


I just deleted my post regarding yours and Mark's question and am considering a new post to address your concern.

MTD, Sr.


P.S. See New Post below.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Nov 28, 2007 01:11pm

M&M Guy and Mark:

I understand your reasoning for wanting to apply NFHS R5-S2-A1. BUT there is nothing in the original play that tells me what A3's court status is when he touched A1's try. Therefore we can have two possible Rulings regarding this Play.

#1) A3's court status was behind the three point arc when he touched A1's try and therefore three points are scored for the successful try. OR,

#2) A3's court status was inside the three point arc when he touched A1's try and therefore NFHS R5-S2-A1 applies and two points are scored for the sucessful try.

In either case NFHS Casebook Play 5.2.1 SITUATION C (c) and (d) is the play that supports our joint Ruling.

MTD, Sr.

P.S. #1 is my story and I am sticking with it. :D

M&M Guy Wed Nov 28, 2007 01:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
P.S. #1 is my story and I am sticking with it. :D

Ok, we agree. I believe Mark and I were just commenting on your specific statements:
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
<font color = red>Per rule it does not matter who touches the ball during the try</font color>, the ball remains live as long as the touching is neither basketball interference nor goal tending. <font color = red>And if the try was taken from behind the three point arc and the ball still goes through the basket, then three points are scored</font color>.

I was just trying to be a little anal about your specific comment; I actually had a feeling you knew what you were talking about. (I'm not sure what Mark's reasons are. :p)

jdw3018 Wed Nov 28, 2007 01:25pm

Mark, if A3 intentionally touches the ball, can't this be ruled the start of a new try or tap?

That's what I was asking (unclearly) earlier...

Oh, and I guess we'll have to agree to disagree on what constitutes "approximately." Since it isn't defined, I guess it is left up to our judgement, and two fouls in less than 1 second constitute "approximately" to me. :D

Camron Rust Wed Nov 28, 2007 03:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018
Mark, if A3 intentionally touches the ball, can't this be ruled the start of a new try or tap?

That's what I was asking (unclearly) earlier...

Oh, and I guess we'll have to agree to disagree on what constitutes "approximately." Since it isn't defined, I guess it is left up to our judgement, and two fouls in less than 1 second constitute "approximately" to me. :D

There is no way I'm having a false multiple foul commited against the same shooter. If both must be called (unlikley) then it will be a multiple foul. If it is during the same continuous motion/airborne shooter interval, it IS approximately the same time(unless the shooter finds a way to float in the air for 30 seconds.) If you call it a false multiple and the shooter misses the three, there would be 6 FTs awarded (3 for each foul). Not a chance that this makes any sense.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Nov 28, 2007 11:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust
There is no way I'm having a false multiple foul commited against the same shooter. If both must be called (unlikley) then it will be a multiple foul. If it is during the same continuous motion/airborne shooter interval, it IS approximately the same time(unless the shooter finds a way to float in the air for 30 seconds.) If you call it a false multiple and the shooter misses the three, there would be 6 FTs awarded (3 for each foul). Not a chance that this makes any sense.


Camron:

I feel your pain. Mark's intent in posting the play as he wrote it was to make officials think. It got officials to open their rules books and casebooks and breakdown the play. That is a good thing. Plus, if this play was on a test, one must answer it per the rules book and I would stand by my ruling of a false multiple foul.


1) The fact that A1's field goal attempt was successful makes it easy for the official to determine how many free throws are to be awarded to A1. A1 will be awarded only one free throw for each foul by B1 and B2, therefore A1 will be awarded two free throws whether B1 and B2’s fouls are ruled a multiple foul or a false multiple foul.


2) If A1's field goal had not been successful, then the game officials have a wonderful problem in determining how many free throws to award to A1. Let’s look at this situation as if one were answering a test question.

NFHS R5-S2-A1 and NFHS Casebook Play 5.2.1 SITUATION C (c) and (d) are the pertinent rules references. While this rules and casebook play refer to situations where the field goal attempt was successful, they tell us how to determine the number of free throws to be awarded to A1’s field goal attempt was unsuccessful.


2a) Let’s first look at how Casebook Play 5.2.1 SITUATION C (c) applies to our situation.

B1 and B2’s fouls are ruled a multiple foul:

A1 will be awarded two free throw for each foul by B1 and B2, therefore A1 will be awarded four free throws.

B1 and B2’s fouls are ruled a false multiple foul:

A1 will be awarded three free throw for each foul by B1 and B2, therefore A1 will be awarded six free throws.


2b) Now let’s look at how Casebook Play 5.2.1 SITUATION C (d) applies to our situation.

B1 and B2’s fouls are ruled a multiple foul:

A1 will be awarded one free throw for each foul by B1 and B2, therefore A1 will be awarded two free throws.

B1 and B2’s fouls are ruled a false multiple foul:

A1 will be awarded two free throw for each foul by B1 and B2, therefore A1 will be awarded four free throws.

MTD, Sr.

Jimgolf Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Play 5) While A1's try is still on its way up, the ball is touched by A3.
MTD, Sr.

Not quite.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
To answer an earlier question, the ball was touched on its downward arch.


Camron Rust Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Camron:

I feel your pain. Mark's intent in posting the play as he wrote it was to make officials think. It got officials to open their rules books and casebooks and breakdown the play. That is a good thing. Plus, if this play was on a test, one must answer it per the rules book and I would stand by my ruling of a false multiple foul.


1) The fact that A1's field goal attempt was successful makes it easy for the official to determine how many free throws are to be awarded to A1. A1 will be awarded only one free throw for each foul by B1 and B2, therefore A1 will be awarded two free throws whether B1 and B2’s fouls are ruled a multiple foul or a false multiple foul.


2) If A1's field goal had not been successful, then the game officials have a wonderful problem in determining how many free throws to award to A1. Let’s look at this situation as if one were answering a test question.

NFHS R5-S2-A1 and NFHS Casebook Play 5.2.1 SITUATION C (c) and (d) are the pertinent rules references. While this rules and casebook play refer to situations where the field goal attempt was successful, they tell us how to determine the number of free throws to be awarded to A1’s field goal attempt was unsuccessful.


2a) Let’s first look at how Casebook Play 5.2.1 SITUATION C (c) applies to our situation.

B1 and B2’s fouls are ruled a multiple foul:

A1 will be awarded two free throw for each foul by B1 and B2, therefore A1 will be awarded four free throws.

B1 and B2’s fouls are ruled a false multiple foul:

A1 will be awarded three free throw for each foul by B1 and B2, therefore A1 will be awarded six free throws.


2b) Now let’s look at how Casebook Play 5.2.1 SITUATION C (d) applies to our situation.

B1 and B2’s fouls are ruled a multiple foul:

A1 will be awarded one free throw for each foul by B1 and B2, therefore A1 will be awarded two free throws.

B1 and B2’s fouls are ruled a false multiple foul:

A1 will be awarded two free throw for each foul by B1 and B2, therefore A1 will be awarded four free throws.

MTD, Sr.

I don't disagree with the point about whether it is a 2 or a 3 point try based on the touching of the ball by a team mate either inside or outside the arc.

My assertion is that if there are two fouls are called and are commited against the same shooter during the same live ball....it IS approximately the same time and will always be a multiple foul. It doesn't matter that one precedes the other by a small amount of time (even if the release occurs in that interval), it is still "approximately" the same time.

jdw3018 Thu Nov 29, 2007 12:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust
My assertion is that if there are two fouls are called and are commited against the same shooter during the same live ball....it IS approximately the same time and will always be a multiple foul. It doesn't matter that one precedes the other by a small amount of time (even if the release occurs in that interval), it is still "approximately" the same time.

Agreed. "Approximately" is a judgement, but I see no way that two fouls against a shooter can be anything other than "approximately the same time."

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Nov 29, 2007 12:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jimgolf
Not quite.


JimGolf:

I feel your pain. But when I made my first post in this thread I did not know (because I had not read the entire thread) that Mark had given more information in a post on Mon., Nov 26, 2007, 03:06pmEST. Mark never edited his original post (the one that started this mess) and I never read his post of Mon., Nov 26, 2007, 03:06pmEST, until I read your post just now. It is obvious that Mark has been off his medications for quite some time or he would have never concocted just a goofy situation, actually I am quite jealous, I wish I had thought of this Play.

I made my original Ruling based upon the information in Mark's original Play, which never completely described where the ball was when it was touched by A3. A fundamental of reading NFHS Casebook Plays and NCAA Approved Rulings is to read nothing into the play, and that is how I read the play. The Play did not state that A3 had touched the ball while on the downward portion of its arc toward the basket, therefore the correct assumption is that A3's touching was not goaltending. Having said and knowing the type of posts that I am capable of writing, you have to ask yourself: "Do I really want MTD, Sr. to answer my question?" And your answer can be none other than: "Of course I do." :D

But, I have a number of errands this afternoon before I leave for my girls' H.S. game this evening so you will have to wait until tomorrow for me to address your question which is a good question because it does changes a number of Rulings after it.

MTD, Sr.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Nov 29, 2007 12:34pm

Camron and jdw3018:

I have just completed a post (see the last paragraph), but I will address your concerns tomorrow.

Have a great day.

MTD, Sr.

Mark Padgett Thu Nov 29, 2007 01:38pm

I have to admit I never thought a thread I started mostly in jest would elicit this many serious responses.

I'm going to have to change meds. :p

rainmaker Thu Nov 29, 2007 02:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
I have to admit I never thought a thread I started mostly in jest would elicit this many serious responses.

I'm going to have to change meds. :p

... or just start another even more ridiculous thread?:D

Ref Ump Welsch Thu Nov 29, 2007 03:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
... or just start another even more ridiculous thread?:D

You had to encourage him!!!! :eek:

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sat Dec 08, 2007 10:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Camron and jdw3018:

I have just completed a post (see the last paragraph), but I will address your concerns tomorrow.

Have a great day.

MTD, Sr.


Well, next day turned into nine days. Lets review (please bear with me):


From my Post #37:

SITUATION:

Play 1) A1 attempts a 3 pt. FG.

Play 2) A1 is fouled by B1 while in the act of shooting (the ball is still in A1's hands).

Play 3) After A1 has released the ball and while still an airborne shooter, A1 is fouled by B2.


RULING:

Rulings 1, 2, and 3) The fouls by B1 and B2 constitute a false multiple foul. Each foul in a false multiple foul carries it own penalty. See Ruling (6): A1's 3 pt. attempt is successful. Score three points for A1 (See Ruling (6).) and Team A and A1 will be awarded one free throw for B1's foul and one free throw for B2's foul. B1 and B2's fouls are personal fouls and are counted toward their five PF and TF's for disqualification and is counted toward Team B's seven and ten team fouls for the half.



From my Post #51:

1) The fact that A1's field goal attempt was successful makes it easy for the official to determine how many free throws are to be awarded to A1. A1 will be awarded only one free throw for each foul by B1 and B2, therefore A1 will be awarded two free throws whether B1 and B2’s fouls are ruled a multiple foul or a false multiple foul.

2) If A1's field goal had not been successful, then the game officials have a wonderful problem in determining how many free throws to award to A1. Let’s look at this situation as if one were answering a test question.

NFHS R5-S2-A1 and NFHS Casebook Play 5.2.1 SITUATION C (c) and (d) are the pertinent rules references. While this rules and casebook play refer to situations where the field goal attempt was successful, they tell us how to determine the number of free throws to be awarded to A1’s field goal attempt was unsuccessful.

2a) Let’s first look at how Casebook Play 5.2.1 SITUATION C (c) applies to our situation.

B1 and B2’s fouls are ruled a multiple foul:

A1 will be awarded two free throw for each foul by B1 and B2, therefore A1 will be awarded four free throws.

B1 and B2’s fouls are ruled a false multiple foul:

A1 will be awarded three free throw for each foul by B1 and B2, therefore A1 will be awarded six free throws.

2b) Now let’s look at how Casebook Play 5.2.1 SITUATION C (d) applies to our situation.

B1 and B2’s fouls are ruled a multiple foul:

A1 will be awarded one free throw for each foul by B1 and B2, therefore A1 will be awarded two free throws.

B1 and B2’s fouls are ruled a false multiple foul:

A1 will be awarded two free throw for each foul by B1 and B2, therefore A1 will be awarded four free throws.


Then JimGolf made Post #52 and threw a monkey wrench into my brilliant analyse for the situation up until point:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post #37):
Play 5) While A1's try is still on its way up, the ball is touched by A3.
MTD, Sr.

Not quite.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post #18):
To answer an earlier question, the ball was touched on its downward arch.


When I made my interpretation regarding the false multiple foul (see my Post #37) I did so because of my superior knowledge of the rules and my superior ability to interprete the rules. (Now everybody knows why I have brown eyes, I am full of horse manure, :D , but I digress.)

This morning during the Wood Co. Bkb. Off. Assn. RULES/MECHANICS meeting I was bored from listening to The Preacher (Daryl Long, :D ) so I decided to read the 2007-08 NFHS Casebook for 2007-08 and guess what I found on page 31 of said book:

NFHS Casebook Play 4.19.12 SITUATION: B1 fouls airborne A1 who is in the act of shooting. Before airborne shooter A1 returns one foot to the floor, he/she is fouled by B2 who has moved into A1's landing area. The ball: (a) does; or (b) does not, enter the basket. RULING: This is a false multiple foul and each foul carries its own penalty. In (a), the goal is counted and A1 is awarded one free throw for each foul. In (b), A1 is awarded two free throws for each foul. R10-S6, Penalty 6 and 7. (My note: I do not know why Penalty 6 is referenced; it should be Penalty 2 and 5.)

So the correct Ruling is a false multiple foul with A1 shooting either four or six free throws.

MTD, Sr.

just another ref Sat Dec 08, 2007 10:51pm

I think I got it.

Just call one of those thing you named (doesn't matter which one) that was
AGAINST US and ignore all those other things which were AGAINST THEM. Because you always call stuff WHEN WE DO IT, but you never see anything WHEN THEY DO IT, even though THEY'VE BEEN DOING IT ALL NIGHT.


The above philosophy is held mainly, but not exclusively, by followers of the team which is behind, because WE ALWAYS LOSE WHEN THOSE GUYS CALL OUR GAMES.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sat Dec 08, 2007 11:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
I think I got it.

Just call one of those thing you named (doesn't matter which one) that was
AGAINST US and ignore all those other things which were AGAINST THEM. Because you always call stuff WHEN WE DO IT, but you never see anything WHEN THEY DO IT, even though THEY'VE BEEN DOING IT ALL NIGHT.


The above philosophy is held mainly, but not exclusively, by followers of the team which is behind, because WE ALWAYS LOSE WHEN THOSE GUYS CALL OUR GAMES.



:confused:

MTD, Sr.

jdw3018 Sat Dec 08, 2007 11:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
NFHS Casebook Play 4.19.12 SITUATION: B1 fouls airborne A1 who is in the act of shooting. Before airborne shooter A1 returns one foot to the floor, he/she is fouled by B2 who has moved into A1's landing area. The ball: (a) does; or (b) does not, enter the basket. RULING: This is a false multiple foul and each foul carries its own penalty. In (a), the goal is counted and A1 is awarded one free throw for each foul. In (b), A1 is awarded two free throws for each foul. R10-S6, Penalty 6 and 7. (My note: I do not know why Penalty 6 is referenced; it should be Penalty 2 and 5.)

So the correct Ruling is a false multiple foul with A1 shooting either four or six free throws.

Well, harumph. Now I have to admit you were right and also raise my eyebrow at the use of the term "approximately" in the rule book.

I really wish they'd define it, because anything that happens in less than a second's time would constitute approximately to me...though the NFHS is obviously going to disagree with me. :D

just another ref Sat Dec 08, 2007 11:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
:confused:

MTD, Sr.


Been listening to the fans. They tend to have universal solutions for everything.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1