Clarification regarding the AP arrow
There have been many recent questions regarding the administration of the AP throw-in due to the new rule change. Although strictly speaking the following doesn't come under the purview of the new rule, it demonstrates the proper handling of violations during an AP throw-in. Please note that there are other violations besides kicking the ball which can occur during a throw-in.
Additionally, this ruling is very clear and instructive so I thought that it was worth sharing with people who may not receive the document in which it was published.
In reading through the 2007-08 NFHS Basketball Preseason Guide, I found the following on pages 10 & 11:
Play 8: B3 is attempting an AP throw-in when (a) B2 fouls, (b) B2 runs out of bounds around a screen, (c) A3 fouls or (d) A3 runs out of bounds around a screen.
Ruling 8: In (a), (c), and (d), the arrow is not reversed because of the infraction. Play is restarted as dictated by the penalty. In (b), the violation by the throw-in team reverses the arrow in favor of Team A. In all cases, the subsequent throw-in is not considered an AP throw-in.
|