![]() |
Clarification regarding the AP arrow
There have been many recent questions regarding the administration of the AP throw-in due to the new rule change. Although strictly speaking the following doesn't come under the purview of the new rule, it demonstrates the proper handling of violations during an AP throw-in. Please note that there are other violations besides kicking the ball which can occur during a throw-in.
Additionally, this ruling is very clear and instructive so I thought that it was worth sharing with people who may not receive the document in which it was published. In reading through the 2007-08 NFHS Basketball Preseason Guide, I found the following on pages 10 & 11: Play 8: B3 is attempting an AP throw-in when (a) B2 fouls, (b) B2 runs out of bounds around a screen, (c) A3 fouls or (d) A3 runs out of bounds around a screen. Ruling 8: In (a), (c), and (d), the arrow is not reversed because of the infraction. Play is restarted as dictated by the penalty. In (b), the violation by the throw-in team reverses the arrow in favor of Team A. In all cases, the subsequent throw-in is not considered an AP throw-in. |
I've thought of the following violations that may occur during a throw-in by the non-throwing team.
1. kicking the ball 2. batting the ball with a closed fist 3. running OOB/leaving the court for an unauthorized reason 4. excessively swinging arms/elbows 5. opponent breaking the throw-in boundary plane If the opponents of the throw-in team are charged with any of these during an AP throw-in, then the throwing team will be issued a new throw-in which is not considered an AP throw-in and will retain the arrow for the next time that it is used. Can anyone else add to the list? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
During the AP throw-in, before legal touch, Opponent . . . "Touches the ball or any part of the basket (including the net) while the ball is on or within either basket.. . . Touches the ball while any part of the ball is within the imaginary cylinder which has the basket ring as its lower base".
|
Quote:
I had only thought about the basket interference being for touching the ball, which would end the throw-in and reverse the arrow despite the touching also being a violation. This would be the same as B2 committing an OOB violation with the first touch. However, the BI certainly could be for contacting the basket while the ball is on or within. In that case since the ball wasn't touched nor did the throwing team violate, the throw-in never ended. It seems to me that this would also have to qualify, and that Team A (throwing team) would get two points and keep the arrow for the next use, but that Team B would be awarded an end line throw-in. |
Nevada,
I would have never thought of BI, either. But, it is the same violation regardless if you touch the ball or the basket. I don't know the answer but I just couldn't see the same violation being treated differently with regards to the AP arrow. Also, the awarding of points for the violation is hardly the same as awarding another throw-in as in any other violation. Your touching the ball verses basket argument may be right but it don't seem right to me when you start awarding points AND preserving the AP/not preserving for the same violation?????? |
Quote:
Hello, coach, nice to see you to. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:58am. |