![]() |
|
|
|||
I still say that the back-court interp is wrong with A catching the ball that B deflected. The rule about being the last to touch it in the front court is not ambiguous. Whoever's in charge of doing the interp on that one is using something other than the rule book to come up with an answer. Why did we even need an interp on this in the first place?
On another thread, I indicated that this puts A at a competitive disadvantage. B deflects the pass and is the only one that can touch it before it hits the ground in the back court? So if they're both chasing it, B gets first crack at it? There is no violation that A is trying to avoid as there would be if say A releases a pass and tries to recover it before it touches another player. In the backcourt situation, what are we saying, that A should throw a better pass that doesn't get deflected? I don't like it. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
NFHS test #99
According to the new rule, the throw-in ends when the ball is legally touched. (The tip by B) However there is no description from the time the throw-in ends until the time the ball is possessed or controlled by a team.
On pg 73 of the rulebook #1 it says that while a ball remains live, a loose ball is always in control of a team whose player last had control. #2 states there is no player or team control on the throw-in. If the ball is live, it must be in control of a team according to the fundamental rules stated. The new rule about the throw in ending on a legal touch may be good but it created a new problem about control and possession. I don't think #99 should be over and back, but according to the new rules it is |
|
|||
Quote:
An airborne player has the same status as when that player was last in contact with the floor. That's rule 4-35-3. Therefore an airborne player catching the ball after jumping from the front court has front court status. Catching the ball in mid-air then also establishes player and team control in the frontcourt. If the exception in rule 9-9-3 doesn't apply because the throw-in has ended, then it's a violation for that airborne player holding the ball to land in the backcourt, under rule 9-9-1. Follow the bouncing ball. |
|
|||
Quote:
I don't like NF rule (no control during throw-ins), but it is a rule: there are some more live ball periods when it is not in control of any team. What's the problem? |
|
|||
Quote:
I am glad you pointed it out, however, as this "Fundamental" is poorly written considering that "loose balls" after throw-ins, jump balls, and tries/taps still have no team control until some player establishes player control. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Back or Not? | Blue37 | Football | 6 | Fri Sep 15, 2006 02:48pm |
I'm BACK!! | Oz Referee | Basketball | 4 | Thu Jul 29, 2004 10:19am |
over-n-back | kld9 | Basketball | 2 | Fri Jan 24, 2003 03:00pm |
Over and Back | ZEBRA | Basketball | 2 | Sun Jan 19, 2003 04:40am |
Over and Back | 12dozen | Basketball | 8 | Wed Jan 15, 2003 07:15pm |