![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Here's the skinny. One of the four requirements for a back court violation is team control. There is no team control during a throw-in. During a period of no team control, team control is established by a player establishing player control. Player control is defined as holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds. A2 tipping the ball is not the same as holding or dribbling it, therefore no player control established, therefore no team control established, therefore no violation.
I can get into more detail if you want. ![]()
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
Quote:
I am well aware that no violation occurred, but that is probably the best explanation I have heard. |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
1) there must be team control 2) the ball must have achieved front court status 3) the team in control must be the last team to touch the ball in front court 4) that same team must be the first to touch the ball after it has been in the back court (even if it returned to front court "under it's own power", like a reverse spin or maybe it hit an official who is standing in the back court)
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
I'm thinking rather than:
3) the team in control must be the last team to touch the ball in front court we could go with: 3) the team in control must be the last team to touch the ball with front court status. Since in the interp A catches the ball while it still has frontcourt status, and at that time causes it to have backcourt status. |
|
|||
Quote:
The criteria used to be: 3) A is the last to touch before the ball goes to the back court. Now, it seems to be A is the last to touch "as or before" the ball goes to the backcourt |
|
|||
I still say that the back-court interp is wrong with A catching the ball that B deflected. The rule about being the last to touch it in the front court is not ambiguous. Whoever's in charge of doing the interp on that one is using something other than the rule book to come up with an answer. Why did we even need an interp on this in the first place?
On another thread, I indicated that this puts A at a competitive disadvantage. B deflects the pass and is the only one that can touch it before it hits the ground in the back court? So if they're both chasing it, B gets first crack at it? There is no violation that A is trying to avoid as there would be if say A releases a pass and tries to recover it before it touches another player. In the backcourt situation, what are we saying, that A should throw a better pass that doesn't get deflected? I don't like it. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Back or Not? | Blue37 | Football | 6 | Fri Sep 15, 2006 02:48pm |
I'm BACK!! | Oz Referee | Basketball | 4 | Thu Jul 29, 2004 10:19am |
over-n-back | kld9 | Basketball | 2 | Fri Jan 24, 2003 03:00pm |
Over and Back | ZEBRA | Basketball | 2 | Sun Jan 19, 2003 04:40am |
Over and Back | 12dozen | Basketball | 8 | Wed Jan 15, 2003 07:15pm |