The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 21, 2007, 04:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 20
Over and Back?

Team A has the ball for a throw-in in their front court. A1 throws the ball to A2 who tips/muffs the ball and it goes into team A's backcourt. A2 is the first to touch the ball. Is this over and back?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 21, 2007, 04:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 280
Legal play...no violation
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 21, 2007, 04:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 915
Quote:
Originally Posted by curtstrouth
Team A has the ball for a throw-in in their front court. A1 throws the ball to A2 who tips/muffs the ball and it goes into team A's backcourt. A2 is the first to touch the ball. Is this over and back?
No
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 21, 2007, 05:19pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Here's the skinny. One of the four requirements for a back court violation is team control. There is no team control during a throw-in. During a period of no team control, team control is established by a player establishing player control. Player control is defined as holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds. A2 tipping the ball is not the same as holding or dribbling it, therefore no player control established, therefore no team control established, therefore no violation.

I can get into more detail if you want.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 21, 2007, 05:45pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
NFHS case book play 4.12.6(b)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 21, 2007, 07:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
Here's the skinny. One of the four requirements for a back court violation is team control. There is no team control during a throw-in. During a period of no team control, team control is established by a player establishing player control. Player control is defined as holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds. A2 tipping the ball is not the same as holding or dribbling it, therefore no player control established, therefore no team control established, therefore no violation.

I can get into more detail if you want.

I am well aware that no violation occurred, but that is probably the best explanation I have heard.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 21, 2007, 08:32pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgncjn
I am well aware that no violation occurred, but that is probably the best explanation I have heard.
Just remember the four requirements to have a back court violation. If all four are present, you have a violation. If even one is missing, you don't.

1) there must be team control
2) the ball must have achieved front court status
3) the team in control must be the last team to touch the ball in front court
4) that same team must be the first to touch the ball after it has been in the back court (even if it returned to front court "under it's own power", like a reverse spin or maybe it hit an official who is standing in the back court)
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 22, 2007, 05:11pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
Just remember the four requirements to have a back court violation. If all four are present, you have a violation. If even one is missing, you don't.

1) there must be team control
2) the ball must have achieved front court status
3) the team in control must be the last team to touch the ball in front court
4) that same team must be the first to touch the ball after it has been in the back court (even if it returned to front court "under it's own power", like a reverse spin or maybe it hit an official who is standing in the back court)
Not exactly. #3 is not required based on the interp this year that states it's a violation if B is the last to touch the ball in the FC, but A1 touches the ball while standing in the BC before the ball bounces in the BC. For that interp to be accurate, #3 needs to be amended.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Back or Not? Blue37 Football 6 Fri Sep 15, 2006 02:48pm
I'm BACK!! Oz Referee Basketball 4 Thu Jul 29, 2004 10:19am
over-n-back kld9 Basketball 2 Fri Jan 24, 2003 03:00pm
Over and Back ZEBRA Basketball 2 Sun Jan 19, 2003 04:40am
Over and Back 12dozen Basketball 8 Wed Jan 15, 2003 07:15pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1