![]() |
|
|||
|
The backcourt exception noted in rule 9-9-3 only applies during a throw-in. Iow, it can only apply to the first person legally touching the ball in-bounds. The throw-in ended when B2 deflected the throw-in pass. Ergo, the exception was no longer applicable when airborne A2 caught the ball.
Make sense now? |
|
|||
|
Straight from this year's interps:
2007-08 Basketball Rules Interpretations SITUATION 6: Team A is making a throw-in near the division line in the team's frontcourt. A1's throw-in is deflected by B1, who is applying direct pressure on A1. A2 jumps from the team's frontcourt, catches the ball in the air and lands in the backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. The throw-in ends when it is legally touched by B1. When A2 gains possession/control in the air, he/she has frontcourt status. A backcourt violation has occurred when A2 lands in the backcourt. (9-9-1; 9-9-3) |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| help with a few nfhs test question | roadking | Basketball | 6 | Sun Nov 05, 2006 11:00pm |
| Test ? # 81 (NFHS) | xxssmen | Basketball | 11 | Wed Nov 16, 2005 11:32am |
| NFHS Test 2, #76 | zebracz | Baseball | 4 | Thu Mar 18, 2004 06:42am |
| NFHS Rules Test Question 82 | Jerry Baldwin | Basketball | 5 | Sat Oct 26, 2002 02:28am |
| Is This a For Real Question on NFHS Test | whiskers_ump | Softball | 7 | Thu Jan 31, 2002 05:16pm |