The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NFHS test question # 99 (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/39665-nfhs-test-question-99-a.html)

roadking Sat Nov 17, 2007 08:30am

NFHS test question # 99
 
OK, I know that its a violation on team A on the throw in, but I don't understand the rational. Why is it called different if not touched by Team B?

Jurassic Referee Sat Nov 17, 2007 08:52am

The backcourt exception noted in rule 9-9-3 <b>only</b> applies <b>during</b> a throw-in. Iow, it can only apply to the first person legally touching the ball in-bounds. The throw-in <b>ended</b> when B2 deflected the throw-in pass. Ergo, the exception was no longer applicable when airborne A2 caught the ball.

Make sense now?

Nevadaref Sat Nov 17, 2007 06:14pm

Straight from this year's interps:
2007-08 Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 6: Team A is making a throw-in near the division line in the team's frontcourt. A1's throw-in is deflected by B1, who is applying direct pressure on A1. A2 jumps from the team's frontcourt, catches the ball in the air and lands in the backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. The throw-in ends when it is legally touched by B1. When A2 gains possession/control in the air, he/she has frontcourt status. A backcourt violation has occurred when A2 lands in the backcourt. (9-9-1; 9-9-3)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1