The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 30, 2007, 07:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmckenna
76 is wrong. The ball has not touched in the backcourt yet so B did not cause it to go BC. A did when they touched it in BC.
I disagree. Anytime that a player from Team B is the last to touch the ball in the frontcourt, followed by a player from Team A being the first to touch it in the backcourt, there is no BC violation.
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 30, 2007, 07:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes
I disagree. Anytime that a player from Team B is the last to touch the ball in the frontcourt, followed by a player from Team A being the first to touch it in the backcourt, there is no BC violation.
Go to the NFHS website, and look at the 2007-08 Interpretations:
http://www.nfhs.org/web/2007/10/2007...s_interpr.aspx
This is Situation 10.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 30, 2007, 07:49pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
So I guess if you pass the IAABO test, you can qualify as I Am A Bad Official?

That's a switch.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 30, 2007, 08:52pm
Aleve Titles to Others
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Westchester of the Southern Conference
Posts: 5,381
Send a message via AIM to 26 Year Gap
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes
I disagree. Anytime that a player from Team B is the last to touch the ball in the frontcourt, followed by a player from Team A being the first to touch it in the backcourt, there is no BC violation.
I will agree here. It seems wrong, but the last touch is really the key piece of info here. Although the player on Team A gives the ball backcourt status by virtue of his feet being in backcourt, he did not CAUSE the ball to go into the backcourt, so there should be no violation. Sorta like an ugly jump stop can LOOK like a travel when it isn't.

The other one is definitely wrong. 2nd throw in is for the kick violation, not the AP.
__________________
Never hit a piņata if you see hornets flying out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 30, 2007, 09:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap
I will agree here. It seems wrong, but the last touch is really the key piece of info here. Although the player on Team A gives the ball backcourt status by virtue of his feet being in backcourt, he did not CAUSE the ball to go into the backcourt, so there should be no violation. Sorta like an ugly jump stop can LOOK like a travel when it isn't.
I don't disagree with your logic.

The problem is the logic disagrees with the interp.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 12:00am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy
I don't disagree with your logic.

The problem is the logic disagrees with the interp.
And the interp disagrees with the rule.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 03:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,036
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
And the interp disagrees with the rule.
Ding, ding, ding... we have a winner.

BTW shouldn't W&S bother to read the new rules and interps before he opens his big yap and makes a fool out of himself?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 08, 2007, 11:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 852
Oh My Gosh!

Here are the 2 problem questions.

I have 2007 IAABO Refresher Exam.
Question 74: During an Alternating throw-in, A-1's throw-in is intentionally kicked. Official awards the ball back to Team A and rules this is still alternating possession throw-in. Is the official correct?
The answer sheet says YES. Rule 4-42-5

Question 76: A-1, who has the ball in the frontcourt passes the ball toward A-2. B-2 bats the ball to the floor in A's frontcourt so it bounces toward the backcourt. A-1 runs into A's backcourt and catches the ball before it strikes the floor. The official rules this is a backcourt violation. Is the official correct?
The answer sheet says NO. Rule 9-9-1

My head is spinning

Oh My Gosh!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 09, 2007, 09:53pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,559
2007 IAABO Refresher Exam Question 74 And 76

2007 IAABO Refresher Exam

Question 74: During an Alternating throw-in, A-1's throw-in is intentionally kicked. Official awards the ball back to Team A and rules this is still alternating possession throw-in. Is the official correct?
The answer sheet says YES. Rule 4-42-5

We have been told that the answer key is wrong and that the answer should be NO

Question 76: A-1, who has the ball in the frontcourt passes the ball toward A-2. B-2 bats the ball to the floor in A's frontcourt so it bounces toward the backcourt. A-1 runs into A's backcourt and catches the ball before it strikes the floor. The official rules this is a backcourt violation. Is the official correct?
The answer sheet says NO. Rule 9-9-1

B-2 caused the ball to go into the backcopurt, no violation.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 09, 2007, 10:07pm
Aleve Titles to Others
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Westchester of the Southern Conference
Posts: 5,381
Send a message via AIM to 26 Year Gap
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
2007 IAABO Refresher Exam

Question 74: During an Alternating throw-in, A-1's throw-in is intentionally kicked. Official awards the ball back to Team A and rules this is still alternating possession throw-in. Is the official correct?
The answer sheet says YES. Rule 4-42-5

We have been told that the answer key is wrong and that the answer should be NO

Question 76: A-1, who has the ball in the frontcourt passes the ball toward A-2. B-2 bats the ball to the floor in A's frontcourt so it bounces toward the backcourt. A-1 runs into A's backcourt and catches the ball before it strikes the floor. The official rules this is a backcourt violation. Is the official correct?
The answer sheet says NO. Rule 9-9-1

B-2 caused the ball to go into the backcopurt, no violation.
That is being questioned to Peter Webb & Mary Struckoff. A ball in the air has the status of where it was. A ball that passes over an OOB line but is in the air is not OOB till it touches something. Player A being BC causes the ball to be BC by catching it in the air. I believe this one will be changed. [Yes, I know my reasoning has changed. Also had our refresher exam between posts. Our interpreter is on the rules committee. Will have the ruling once all the refreshers are completed.]
__________________
Never hit a piņata if you see hornets flying out of it.

Last edited by 26 Year Gap; Fri Nov 09, 2007 at 10:09pm.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 10, 2007, 12:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 852
This is straight from the NFHS.org web page on 2007-2008 Basketball interpretations.

"SITUATION 10: A1, in the team's frontcourt, passes to A2, also in the team's frontcourt. B1 deflects the ball toward Team A's backcourt. The ball bounces only in Team A's frontcourt before crossing the division line. While the ball is still in the air over Team A's backcourt, but never having touched in Team A's backcourt, A2 gains possession of the ball while standing in Team A's backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. Team A was still in team control and caused the ball to have backcourt status. Had A2 permitted the ball to bounce in the backcourt after having been deflected by B1, there would have been no backcourt violation. (4-4-1; 4-4-3; 9-9-1)"

http://www.nfhs.org/web/2007/10/2007...s_interpr.aspx

It's the same as question 76 in the IAABO refresher test. This ruling says A2 has caused the violation. So based on the IAABO answer, they disagree with NFHS.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 10, 2007, 03:44pm
Aleve Titles to Others
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Westchester of the Southern Conference
Posts: 5,381
Send a message via AIM to 26 Year Gap
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy
This is straight from the NFHS.org web page on 2007-2008 Basketball interpretations.

"SITUATION 10: A1, in the team's frontcourt, passes to A2, also in the team's frontcourt. B1 deflects the ball toward Team A's backcourt. The ball bounces only in Team A's frontcourt before crossing the division line. While the ball is still in the air over Team A's backcourt, but never having touched in Team A's backcourt, A2 gains possession of the ball while standing in Team A's backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. Team A was still in team control and caused the ball to have backcourt status. Had A2 permitted the ball to bounce in the backcourt after having been deflected by B1, there would have been no backcourt violation. (4-4-1; 4-4-3; 9-9-1)"

http://www.nfhs.org/web/2007/10/2007...s_interpr.aspx

It's the same as question 76 in the IAABO refresher test. This ruling says A2 has caused the violation. So based on the IAABO answer, they disagree with NFHS.
The guy who wrote the test disagrees. It is likely to see IAABO rule an incorrect answer on that question.
__________________
Never hit a piņata if you see hornets flying out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 11, 2007, 10:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy
This is straight from the NFHS.org web page on 2007-2008 Basketball interpretations.

"SITUATION 10: A1, in the team's frontcourt, passes to A2, also in the team's frontcourt. B1 deflects the ball toward Team A's backcourt. The ball bounces only in Team A's frontcourt before crossing the division line. While the ball is still in the air over Team A's backcourt, but never having touched in Team A's backcourt, A2 gains possession of the ball while standing in Team A's backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. Team A was still in team control and caused the ball to have backcourt status. Had A2 permitted the ball to bounce in the backcourt after having been deflected by B1, there would have been no backcourt violation. (4-4-1; 4-4-3; 9-9-1)"

http://www.nfhs.org/web/2007/10/2007...s_interpr.aspx

It's the same as question 76 in the IAABO refresher test. This ruling says A2 has caused the violation. So based on the IAABO answer, they disagree with NFHS.
The situation may say that...but it is wrong. The situation you reference is in direct contradiction with the rule book. It is never a violation to cause the ball to have backcourt status. Its a violation to be the last team to touch the ball before and the first team to touch the ball after the ball gains BC status (while in team control). This rule has been this way for decades and the rule is still that way.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Sun Nov 11, 2007 at 10:09pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Good gosh! I kicked it FrankHtown Basketball 20 Wed Oct 31, 2007 08:25pm
By Gosh... ace Basketball 6 Fri Jan 02, 2004 06:59pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1