The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 08, 2007, 11:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 843
Oh My Gosh!

Here are the 2 problem questions.

I have 2007 IAABO Refresher Exam.
Question 74: During an Alternating throw-in, A-1's throw-in is intentionally kicked. Official awards the ball back to Team A and rules this is still alternating possession throw-in. Is the official correct?
The answer sheet says YES. Rule 4-42-5

Question 76: A-1, who has the ball in the frontcourt passes the ball toward A-2. B-2 bats the ball to the floor in A's frontcourt so it bounces toward the backcourt. A-1 runs into A's backcourt and catches the ball before it strikes the floor. The official rules this is a backcourt violation. Is the official correct?
The answer sheet says NO. Rule 9-9-1

My head is spinning

Oh My Gosh!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 09, 2007, 09:53pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,385
2007 IAABO Refresher Exam Question 74 And 76

2007 IAABO Refresher Exam

Question 74: During an Alternating throw-in, A-1's throw-in is intentionally kicked. Official awards the ball back to Team A and rules this is still alternating possession throw-in. Is the official correct?
The answer sheet says YES. Rule 4-42-5

We have been told that the answer key is wrong and that the answer should be NO

Question 76: A-1, who has the ball in the frontcourt passes the ball toward A-2. B-2 bats the ball to the floor in A's frontcourt so it bounces toward the backcourt. A-1 runs into A's backcourt and catches the ball before it strikes the floor. The official rules this is a backcourt violation. Is the official correct?
The answer sheet says NO. Rule 9-9-1

B-2 caused the ball to go into the backcopurt, no violation.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 30, 2007, 07:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy
I have 2007 IAABO Refresher Exam.
Question 74: During an Alternating throw-in, A-1's throw-in is intentionally kicked. Official awards the ball back to Team A and rules this is still alternating possession throw-in. Is the official correct?
The answer sheet says YES. Rule 4-42-5

Question 76: A-1, who has the ball in the frontcourt passes the ball toward A-2. B-2 bats the ball to the floor in A's frontcourt so it bounces toward the backcourt. A-1 runs into A's backcourt and catches the ball before it strikes the floor. The official rules this is a backcourt violation. Is the official correct?
The answer sheet says NO. Rule 9-9-1

My head is spinning
Midmadnees already explained why the answer sheet is CORRECT on Q74.

As for Q76, the answersheet is ALSO correct. The situation described is NOT a backcourt violatoin. The Official ruled that it was. But what the QUESTION asked was, "Is the official correct?" The official is NOT correct, so the answer to the question is NO.
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 30, 2007, 07:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes
Midmadnees already explained why the answer sheet is CORRECT on Q74.
And I explained why it is incorrect.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes
As for Q76, the answersheet is ALSO correct. The situation described is NOT a backcourt violatoin. The Official ruled that it was. But what the QUESTION asked was, "Is the official correct?" The official is NOT correct, so the answer to the question is NO.
The answer should YES. It is a backcourt violation because even though B-2 batted the ball, A-2 was the last to touch the ball with frontcourt status (bounced in the frontcourt; doesn't touch in the backcourt), then is also the first to touch in the backcourt.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 08:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes
Midmadnees already explained why the answer sheet is CORRECT on Q74.

You and s/he should both read 4.42.5 under the "comments on the 2007-08 revisions" section in the case book.

Of course, it's easier if someone just mails you the answers.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 13, 2007, 06:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
Question # 76

Exact question is listed as SITUATION 10 in the Rules Interpretations section of the new NFHS Officials' Quarterly (Winter 2007). The RULING is a backcourt violation on Team A.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 13, 2007, 07:21pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caeser
Exact question is listed as SITUATION 10 in the Rules Interpretations section of the new NFHS Officials' Quarterly (Winter 2007). The RULING is a backcourt violation on Team A.
Yup, and the interpretation disagrees with the rule.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Good gosh! I kicked it FrankHtown Basketball 20 Wed Oct 31, 2007 08:25pm
By Gosh... ace Basketball 6 Fri Jan 02, 2004 06:59pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:24pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1